We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of improvement needed.”
Review of Paprika

Paprika
Ranked #53 of 1,203 Restaurants in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Southwestern, Asian, Indonesian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Fusion dining option : Lunch and Dinner Opening Hours : 11am - 11pm- Cozy ambience, overlooking to the fountain yard- It comprises of two separate areas, in room dining and terrace with outdoor seting-An acoustic piano will accompanied you during dinner time everyday- Wifi is free of charge
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Lots of improvement needed.”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

During my stay at the hotel, I tried once the food here and it was the worst during my stay in Yogya. I order a jackfruit curry and it was very very sweet, Gado Gado is not even tasty at all expecially the peanut sauce is not impressive. Only have my breakfast there.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leslie3663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rozi_Miftah, Manager at Paprika, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Truly appreciate your kind reviews. We are delighted to learn that we can be part of your dining experience. Will improve on food taste and we are more than happy to welcome you back again at anytime. Our warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    53
    15
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lunch”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I ordered the pizza...reasonably priced...very good. The staff was very friendly and service oriented.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jtdarnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rozi_Miftah, Manager at Paprika, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
We are very thankful for your positive feedback. We are committed to providing you with the best services and memorable experiences in Paprika Restaurant, We invite you for a more pleasant dining experience in Jogja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Nice restaurant”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Nice restaurant.... Clasic.... With piano playing.... Nice food n good service
Don't forget to try the Breakfast at the restaurant, a lot of choise... Also they have herbal drink " jamu" and fresh juice .... Nice selection...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richgunawan_sastra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rozi_Miftah, Manager at Paprika, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
We are very thankful for your positive feedback. We are committed to providing you with the best services and memorable experiences in Paprika Restaurant, We invite you for a more pleasant dining experience in Jogja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Luxury lunch”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just go and taste the amazing food and experience the service of the staff. We loved it. Food is really authentic javanese and it is an oasis of quiet in the city.

Helpful?
Thank Mururoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rozi_Miftah, Manager at Paprika, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback, we are honored that our services and facilities can be pleasant and fulfiling to you during your dining. We always welcome you in Paprika Restaurant on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volgograd, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
“The amazing thing was examples of Javanese cuisine cooked in traditional country style”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed in The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta for three wonderful nights (check-in 2013-01-19) and every morning had our breakfast in “Paprika” restaurant. This colonial-style property is an example of early 20th century Indonesian-Dutch architecture, a mixture of European Art Deco with Javanese and Chinese architectural features. “Paprika” restaurant is located next to the swimming pool, in an open-air courtyard with fountain. The food served at buffet-style breakfast was delicious with a wide selection of Indonesian, Chinese and Western cuisine. The amazing thing was examples of Javanese cuisine cooked in traditional country style: “Gudheg”, “Telur dan Ayam Bacem”, “Sambal Krecek”, “Nasi Putih”. Another amusing thing was examples of traditional Javanese medicine … some tinctures of local herbs with puzzled names “Daun Sirih”, “Beras Kencur”, “Brotowali”, “Kunyit Acen”…
From the minute we arrived we were made to feel very welcome and each staff member we encountered from our first contact to our last was wonderful. This is exceptional place and we will definitely stay there again in our next visit to Yogyakarta.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_Igor_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rozi_Miftah, Manager at Paprika, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
We are very thankful for your positive feedback. We are committed to providing you with the best services and memorable experiences in Paprika Restaurant, We invite you for a more pleasant dining experience in Jogja
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paprika also viewed

 

Been to Paprika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing