We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home away from home”
Review of Ndalem Mbak Charly

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ndalem Mbak Charly
Ranked #66 of 520 Yogyakarta B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 15, 2013

was there from 10 - 12 (intend to extended 2 more nights but they were fully booked), location wise was perfect as it's close to the airport and close to main roads which connected to several directions (borobudur, solo, magelang etc).
the stay itself was feel homey and comfortable, me and my spouse are big fan of old colonial architecture, hence staying here is really suit to our mood.
Mbak Titin - the inn keeper was amazing, handling everything by herself - with minor help (from what we can see) from other staff.
she's able to arrange most of our need from rental a scooter to doing laundry and giving direction.
if you're looking for a homey place which (bit) far from malioboro area, this place is definitely one of the place that you should consider.

thanks to Mbak Titin again - me and my spouse miss Rafael so much..hope he's doing fine :)

Paulus - Yuli

Room Tip: depends on your need, they have several type of bedroom with AC or with FAN. they're always bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poly_only
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 48 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

-comfortable beds
-helpful and enthusiastic staff (Teng-Teng helped me book train tickets, call taxi, do laundry, recommend places)
-clean and well-decorated
-powerful showers with hot water
-public lounge area

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisChanMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

During the summer I spent a month at Ndalem Mbak Charly and was very impressed by the excellence in service, cleanliness, and overall comfort provided by the accommodation. While the purpose of my stay was related to school, I could definitely see myself returning on a holiday or exploration with friends and family. The room, common areas, and bathroom were all exceptionally clean and provided utilities (advanced AC, Filtered water machine, Western-style plumbing) that were beyond satisfying. Additionally, the owners and management of the homestay, Charly and Aria, went out of their way to organize trips throughout central Java and ensure that our stay in Jogja was very enjoyable. They were very helpful in pointing us towards the local hot spots and guided us through the culture and food diversity. In my experiences staying at hotels, hostels, and homestays throughout the globe, I have never experienced such amazing hospitality as I did at Mbak Charly. Some additional notes about the stay: great proximity to both traditional/local cuisine and Western cuisine, coffee shops, entertainment and shopping. Perfect location to avoid the hustle/bustle and tourist traps present on Marlioboro Street and get a real sense of Jogja. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I was here for two weeks for holiday. This is a very nice place. It is a strategic place (in the center of the city), cheap, clean, good room, WI-FI, feels like home. I will stay here next time when i go to jogja. Thanks Mr. Arya and Mrs. Charly :)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adikara Satiarosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I stay at ndalem mbak charly 2 nights, it was cheap and good location. Room and bathroom were clean. Friendly staff. I will go there again with friends, because we could rent 1 whole house. The owner, ibu Charly makes you feel at home.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank widyadana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I just spent one month at Ndalem Mbak Charly with a few friends on a school program. It was a great place to stay. I felt really at home while I was here. The room that I stayed in was nice and clean and had good AC. Charly and Aria were so kind and helped us with anything and everything that we needed, from booking tours and flights for us to taking us to great places to eat and karaoke. The rest of the staff was also friendly and helpful. I will definitely stay here the next time that I am in Jogja!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Ndalem Mbak Charly ( The House of Charly ) is a homestay located in the downtown of Yogyakarta, Indonesia. It is near public areas, such as restaurants, universities, malls, station, and airport Adi Sucipto. It offers a clean comfortable neat room ( tv inside ), with good service provided. It has also free high speed internet connectivity ( wifi ) for its guests. On the contrary, the price is affordable, around IDR 90.000 - IDR 125.000 per night. Highly recommended for business trip, or holiday trip, either Indonesian tourist or international tourist ( the owner is able to speak in English, Dutch, and Indonesia as well. ) Really fits to its tagline, "Just Like Home".

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alvin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
2.3 mi away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#65 of 212 in Yogyakarta
235 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ndalem Mantrigawen
Ndalem Mantrigawen
#50 of 520 in Yogyakarta
47 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rumah Zen Homestay Yogyakarta
Rumah Zen Homestay Yogyakarta
#53 of 520 in Yogyakarta
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mercury Guest House
Mercury Guest House
#218 of 520 in Yogyakarta
27 reviews
2.3 mi away
Delta Home Stay
Delta Home Stay
#28 of 520 in Yogyakarta
150 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ndalem Mbak Charly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ndalem Mbak Charly

Address: Jln. Nuri no 6, Yogyakarta 55283, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 520 B&Bs / Inns in Yogyakarta
Price Range: $10 - $14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for a cheap, clean, simple but neat place to stay in Jogjakarta (also not noisy despite the very strategic location in the centre of the city, surrounded by Jogja factory outlets, restaurants, cafes and the university UGM, UNY, Sanata Dharma, Atmajaya, UIN). Then Homestay Ndalem Mbak Charly is the right place to be.Homestay Jogja Ndalem Mbak Charly provide daily lodging in Jogja city, similar to a guest house or inn, with besides only bedrooms also a spacious living room with tv, lounge in the little garden at the back, garage and WIFI Internet. The homestay offers clean, simple but comfortable, safe rooms which are not noisy and cheap. Our homestay will give you a feeling of being home.The homestay is comprised with air-conditioned and fan rooms. All rooms are fresh / simple designed and equipped with 22 inch LED TV, table, chairs and comfortable beds. Each room can be occupied by 1 to 3 people. Free Wifi even till in the rooms. Our terras in the front and at the back give you the opportunity to relax after a day of traveling. NEW FACILITY: FOR AN EXTRA SURCHARGE WE HAVE NOW SWIMMING POOL FACILITY. CHECK THE PICTURES FOR THE SWIMMING POOL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ndalem Mbak Charly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing