We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel tentrem..fascinating experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Ranked #4 of 204 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“hotel tentrem..fascinating experience”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

i don't usually write a review on hotels that i visited but this time i really should make one cuz this hotel is amazing. the interior design is simply grand, elegant, and give a luxurious feeling to the guests. even inside the elevator will give you a unique experience using touchscreen and they provide a chair inside the elevator :)

the bedroom is very spacious, very comfortable and high-tech also :) they provide ip-tv which you can use not only to watch tv channels but also to order room service, browse the internet, accessing your facebook or twitter.

this hotel is also very children-friendly. there's a kids playground at the lower ground. the food is very delicious and very cheap..hurray to that :) so overall..it's very very recommended to stay here

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank naip132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    251
    47
    15
    8
See reviews for
340
129
35
271
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I came to Jogia to visit Borobudor and Prambanan. I am a world traveler but typically do not stay at large hotels. This was an exception but turned out to be amazing. They still have not had a grand opening as construction has not been completed on the upper flloors The design and quality of the interior is spectacular. The Chinese duck restaurant is wonderful. I particularly want to comment on the outstanding service. I arrived very early in the AM and the night manager spent considerablr time with me so that I could check-in early and obtain a Premier room overlooking the pool. At 9:00 AM ,the head concierge arrived and also spent considerable time arranging for a quality guide for Prambanan and Borubodor (the guide was excellent)
I highly recommend this hotel!!

Room Tip: Premier room overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bbbbangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

The best part of my trip to Jogja ia staying at the hotel tentrem. The moment we arrived we were greeted with a refreshing jamu drink, and a really swift check in to our room. A mixture of modern amenities and a touch of javanese traditional flavours made the experience of staying at tentrem a truly enjoyable one. I highy recommend a night at tentrem.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyhen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel indeed have everything what it takes to be a 5 stars hotel. They put really nice materials on their lobby, nice granite flooring and great marble. Lifts are 'expensive'. They use amazing saniharto creations for the furniture. Again and again, this hotel put really nice appereance, a 5 stars appereance.

but why i didnt get a 5 stars feelings?

i saw beds were stacked on corridor. I didnt drink any cup of tea during my breakfast. Foods were poorly aligned in the restaurant. I smelled kitchen scents when my car was checked at the front gate. Terrible service from the front desk. A 4 stars experience

Tentrem hotel, 5 stars material with a 4 stars experience.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MasMarjana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
381 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Originally booked at the Hyatt, we were appalled by current reviews posted after our booking. Hotel Tentrem wasn't yet available when we originally booked, but fortunately their timing turned out to be perfect. We switched hotels the day of our arrival and even received a very large discount due to the hotel being newly opened, some construction still taking place (though not intrusive) and still working on training.

In any other city we would rate this is a "very good" hotel, but for local standards it really is excellent. The quality of construction is not to world standards and probably in a few years it will not appear very fresh, but being brand new it was easy to overlook the deficiencies. Best of all, by world standards, prices for everything from spa services to dining are very reasonable, even with really great quality.

The hotel restaurants were better than other restaurants we found on TripAdvisor (and tried) with top ratings, so no reason to dine elsewhere. The only small drawback was that the many of the staff are struggling with English, and they couldn't understand several of our special requests, but they are trying very hard and should be in good shape in a few months.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValVil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I was a little worried about all of the great reviews the Hotel Tentrem had received. Because it is such a new hotel, I was worried the reviews might be stacked my staff. I am so glad I ignored that worry and booked a room at the Hotel Tentrem. We spent three nights there and were blown away by the service. We checked in early and were allowed into our room right away. The rooms are very spacious. The beds are big and the chaise lounge was plenty big for our son to sleep on as well. The pool is beautiful, the breakfast buffet was great and the service is outstanding. They have a great indoor play area for the kids complete with climbing structure, trampoline, flying balls, ball pitt, coloring, games, and much more! The play area is free for guests if you stay with your child, but I believe you can also drop your child off for a nominal fee. I was able to try out a couple spa services and loved them. Erwin at the concierge desk went above and beyond helping us plan our sight seeing adventures. He also booked a wonderful car and driver for us (We will be requesting Anwar to drive us again next trip!). We will stay at Hotel Tentrem next time we are in Yogyakarta.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Tentrem is a lovely new luxury hotel in downtown Yogjakarta. The location is not very convenient and there is nowhere to go within walking distance. The shopping areas and main attractions are 20 mins by taxi through the chaotic traffic. There is no nightlife nearby and the hotel bar is extremely quiet. The rooms are large, lovely, clean and comfortable and we had a spectacular view of Mount Merapi, which dominates the city skyline. The staff are extremely helpful, particularly the concierges. I felt the restaurant could cater a little more to the Western palate, as we struggled to identify most things in the breakfast buffet. Our stay at Tentrem was very pleasant, but I think the downtown location is too far from the centre of Yoga.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linshimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.6 mi away
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
2.4 mi away
Royal Ambarrukmo Yogyakarta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Eastparc Hotel
Eastparc Hotel
#1 of 20 in Depok
1,057 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
#8 of 204 in Yogyakarta
1,058 reviews
3.5 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 204 in Yogyakarta
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta

Property: Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Address: Jl. AM Sangaji 72A, Yogyakarta 55233, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 204 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta is strategically located in the heart of the city, a minute stroll from the vibrant well-known district of Malioboro. 20-25 Minute drive will take you to Adi Sutjipto International Airport and the Tugu Train Station is a short drive away. This area is also famous for its wide array of dining and entertainments options with the downtown just around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing