We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and cheap hotel in Malioboro.”
Review of Andrea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Andrea Hotel
Ranked #20 of 479 Yogyakarta B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and cheap hotel in Malioboro.”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were looking for a place to shower and rest before our flight back to KL. Arrived from Bandung early in the morning, our trishaw guy helped us to find a hotel in Malioboro, which is just opposite the train station.

I read the reviews about this hotel so I asked the guy to send us here. Room was clean with ensuite bathroom but no hot shower. However this is not a problem because Jogja is very hot, so the cool shower was welcomed. Didn't test the Wi-Fi connection. There was a lady selling gudeg, a local food for breakfast outside the hotel and lots of stalls & restaurants around.

Sammy helped us booked a taxi to go to the airport in the evening. Although we stayed for just a few hours, we did enjoy our stay. The hotel is just a few minutes walk to Malioboro Street. And I saw a motorcycle rental place nearby so on my next visit to Jogja, no doubt I will book a room here. Can't wait to get back and continue exploring Jogja.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    59
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
74
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We got off the train with another losmen in mind, it was full but the Andrea was opposite.
Sami the owner showed us a choice of rooms at various prices, we opted for ensuite with Wifi in the room and A.C.Which was clean but basic, satellite tv channels and hot water.There is a relaxing veranda with competitively priced drinks available.
Breakfast is basic but adequate with good coffee.
Sami and his staff are very helpful, speak very good English and have a substantial local knowledge.
The "gang" has several good places to eat, with Malioboro street a short, easy walk away.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanW751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed for four nights in February. Sammy and the other hotel staff are very friendly and go out of their way to help travellers. Easy to book tours at the counter. No daily room cleaning service but upon demand - didn't require it in the end. Very central location, short walk 3 minute walk to Malioboro and other nearby attractions.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Great staff, great location, great hotel. I stayed for 5 nights and enjoyed myself immensely. Run by a lovely Swiss man, any questions you have are not too difficult, no request is made to feel like a waste of time. My room was clean and quiet and comfortable, and amenities near the hotel (cheap internet, laundry, a tailor) are abundant. Most of the town is walking distance, too.

My only suggestion is to not just eat at the restaurant next door--I found places down the gang that, in my opinion, had much better food.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunketing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
142 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Excellent. Stay here. Accepts credit cards. Deluxe rooms have A/C and hot water--the cost is 250,000 rupiah per night. Friendly Swiss owner/manager usually on-site to dispense advice. Hotel is run to Western standards. Located close to the train station...also has an excellent restaurant right next door. Internet cafes close by. Cheap (by the kilo) laundry service. Convenient to tour offices, professional massage service, banks, and minimarts. Walking distance to the kraton. Breakfast of toast and jam and coffee or tea included. A great deal...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBrandt77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayu A, Owner at Andrea Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Hi CBrandt77
It was nice having you here, and thank you for your good review.
Since you mentioned hot water in our rooms, I would like to use this opportunity to clarify, so that readers will not be disappointed if they book rooms in our hotel.
Officially, we do not have hot water in our hotel. That is why I didn't promote hot water in any of the medias/sites where Andrea Hotel is listed. However, some rooms do have that facility, but I cannot guarantee to any booking guest that he/she will get hot water in the room.
If a guest gets a room with hot water, then he can use it, and guests in rooms without that facility can still get hot water, but in large buckets. Hot water is free of charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Java
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2013

A very nice hotel in the main bit of Jogja. The small alleyway also has good travel agents on that provide cheap coach tours to Borobudur and Prambanan (Cecko Trans). The rooms are spacious and of good value. The owner is a very helpful, kind-hearted man that goes out of his way to help travelers.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alexia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. Our room was very comfortable and had a nice ambiance although maybe a bit small. Service was excellent the staff were al very polite and helpfull. Location is very central in a small alley which is very nice at night time.

We would definetly recommend this place. It's very good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maarten K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel 1001 Malam
Hotel 1001 Malam
#30 of 202 in Yogyakarta
651 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Neo Malioboro
Hotel Neo Malioboro
#19 of 202 in Yogyakarta
1,073 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Yogyakarta
Ibis Styles Yogyakarta
#20 of 202 in Yogyakarta
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Melia Purosani
Melia Purosani
#14 of 202 in Yogyakarta
1,270 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
POP! Hotel Malioboro
POP! Hotel Malioboro
#31 of 202 in Yogyakarta
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrea Hotel

Property: Andrea Hotel
Address: Jln. Sosrowijayan 140 | Gang 2, Yogyakarta 55271, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 479 B&Bs / Inns in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel in the Sosrowijayan area of Yogyakarta, also known as The International Village. A few steps away from the famous Malioboro Street and a 5 minutes walk to the train station, guests do not need any public transport to get around. We guarantee clean & comfortable rooms. The breakfast is served on our terrace which allows you to get in touch with the local people. Included in our rates: Tax & Service, breakfast, Wi-Fi, toiletries and a private bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Andrea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing