We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Clean”
Review of Andrea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Andrea Hotel
Ranked #20 of 554 Yogyakarta B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Found this place by chance when walking around. I was most impressed with the clean sheets and the friendly owner/staff. Gave me a very good map of the city and always had good reliable advice on where to find things.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelLight1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 149 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

This small, simple guesthouse is clean, well located on a quiet street between the train station and Malioboro, and has a nice front porch for breakfast (toast, jam and coffee) and drinks. The owner and staff are all very friendly and the clientele a mixed and interesting bunch. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spacemoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed here for a night. They have limited rooms and always full. Glad i managed to get a room for myself. The room are clean and comfortable. Worth every penny. The wifi connection is good and they even have a cable tv in the room. The owner (Sammy) and staffs are very friendly and helpful. I love this place.

Highly recommended and you wont regret it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xanthus_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayu A, Owner at Andrea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Hi Ahzura
Thank you for your kind words about Andrea Hotel.
We were glad to have here as a guest, and you are welcome anytime you'd like to come back.
PS: I hope you came back on time for your marathon :-).

See you, bye.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

we stayed at the andrea hotel from 26th sept -2nd october , the andrea hotel was a great pleace to stay and sammie the owner was excelent on information . the rooms a little small but more importent they were very clean. close to everything but at night no traffic noise or any noise at all as down a small alleyway . trips are easy to book as many tourist information shops which sell the same trips , prices can vary but not alot . if you do book a 3 day trip by minibus to mount bromo and ijen crater , then make sure the mini bus is a comfortable one as it takes about 7 hours to get to accomodation near mount bromo . we went on this trip but so uncomfortable as the air con was not working correctly !!!! so be specific in maybe if you can look at the minibus before you book this trip . trip worth doing though very tiring but amazing experience , dont forget to take some warm clotrhing as big temperature drops as you get to bromo and ijen .earlyt morning for sun rise . mount merapi also do not far from andrea hotel , take a taxi will take about 1 hour , try to get there for sunrise as walking it is cooler so not so hot as later in the day .
steve fry

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevefry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

There are countless losmen and small hotels in the Sosworijayan travelers haven near Tugu Station and it is hard to go wrong there. But the Swiss-run Andrea is a gem, open, extremely friendly and helpful, impeccably clean, with all the small amenities not always found in Indonesian lodging. The quality is high above the economic price and it is a cinch to find, just steps down Gang II from the station.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

If you are planning a trip to jogja, think no more! Andrea hotel is clearly the best budget hotel around. We have stayed at many budget hotels over the years, but this one stands out. Here are my reasons to vote for Andrea hotel:

1. Best value for money: For rooms ranging from $15 to $25, Andrea provides all the basic amenities - neat & well maintained rooms, clean and comfortable bed, perfectly working a/c, small but adequate en-suite bathroom and a simple breakfast too! Cable TV and WiFi are added bonus!

2. Convenient location: Close to the famous Malioboro street and the Tugu train station. We walked down to both in no time!

3. Impeccable service: The staffs were friendly, polite and professional and made our stay very comfortable. Whether it is a morning wake-up call or providing local information, they really did make a difference.

4. Add-on services: We found it convenient to book all our trips through Andrea. They provide day trips to all the major sights in jogja at an affordable price: http://andreahoteljogja.wordpress.com/services/

5. In-house convenience store: There is small but well equipped convenience store offering beer, soft drink, snacks, etc.

Overall, we had a great stay and will definitely return to enjoy this place when I visit Jogja next time. And finally, a big thank you to Samir (the owner) and the staff for making our stay as pleasant as one could imagine!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shivaji_Itinerantco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The location is great, it's only 5 minutes to Malioboro street and 5 minutes from train station. And there's several restaurants nearby with budget prices and nice place to hang out. The owner (Samir) is very kind and it's a surprise to see him speaking fluent Indonesian. The room is maybe too small for family but it's very clean. The only downside is the room doesn't have hot water, but with Jogja's humid and hot weather you can live without it.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the back side of hotel. It's quieter than the ones near the reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clarissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0 mi away
Hotel 1001 Malam
Hotel 1001 Malam
#34 of 210 in Yogyakarta
683 reviews
2.1 mi away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#63 of 210 in Yogyakarta
240 reviews
0.1 mi away
POP! Hotel Malioboro
POP! Hotel Malioboro
#49 of 210 in Yogyakarta
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Neo Malioboro
Hotel Neo Malioboro
#23 of 210 in Yogyakarta
1,162 reviews
2 mi away
Delta Home Stay
Delta Home Stay
#26 of 554 in Yogyakarta
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bladok Losmen
Bladok Losmen
#9 of 554 in Yogyakarta
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrea Hotel

Address: Sosrowijayan Wetan GT I/140, Yogyakarta 55271, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 554 B&Bs / Inns in Yogyakarta
Price Range: $12 - $21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel in the Sosrowijayan area of Yogyakarta, also known as The International Village. A few steps away from the famous Malioboro Street and a 5 minutes walk to the train station, guests do not need any public transport to get around. We guarantee clean & comfortable rooms. The breakfast is served on our terrace which allows you to get in touch with the local people. Included in our rates: Tax & Service, breakfast, Wi-Fi, toiletries and a private bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Andrea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing