We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exceptional budget hotel !”
Review of Andrea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Andrea Hotel
Ranked #19 of 487 Yogyakarta B&B and Inns
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
“An exceptional budget hotel !”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

If you are planning a trip to jogja, think no more! Andrea hotel is clearly the best budget hotel around. We have stayed at many budget hotels over the years, but this one stands out. Here are my reasons to vote for Andrea hotel:

1. Best value for money: For rooms ranging from $15 to $25, Andrea provides all the basic amenities - neat & well maintained rooms, clean and comfortable bed, perfectly working a/c, small but adequate en-suite bathroom and a simple breakfast too! Cable TV and WiFi are added bonus!

2. Convenient location: Close to the famous Malioboro street and the Tugu train station. We walked down to both in no time!

3. Impeccable service: The staffs were friendly, polite and professional and made our stay very comfortable. Whether it is a morning wake-up call or providing local information, they really did make a difference.

4. Add-on services: We found it convenient to book all our trips through Andrea. They provide day trips to all the major sights in jogja at an affordable price: http://andreahoteljogja.wordpress.com/services/

5. In-house convenience store: There is small but well equipped convenience store offering beer, soft drink, snacks, etc.

Overall, we had a great stay and will definitely return to enjoy this place when I visit Jogja next time. And finally, a big thank you to Samir (the owner) and the staff for making our stay as pleasant as one could imagine!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shivaji_Itinerantco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    59
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
74
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The location is great, it's only 5 minutes to Malioboro street and 5 minutes from train station. And there's several restaurants nearby with budget prices and nice place to hang out. The owner (Samir) is very kind and it's a surprise to see him speaking fluent Indonesian. The room is maybe too small for family but it's very clean. The only downside is the room doesn't have hot water, but with Jogja's humid and hot weather you can live without it.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the back side of hotel. It's quieter than the ones near the reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Andrea Hotel is located near the busy Malioboro Street shopping strip. Set in the centre of gang II, the Andrea Hotel has great terrace that overlooks the lane. I stayed here in October 2012 and found the accomodation to be very clean and comfortable. I also booked a trip to Borobudur temple through the hotel which was cheap and hassle free. The terrace is perfect for breakfast and a great retreat when you have worn yourself out in Malioboro. The hotel does not have a restaurant but is located next to several that had great food at reasonable prices. My room had air conditioning although I think some rooms only have fans which is reflected in the price. Overall the Andrea Hotel was a clean friendly haven in a fantastic and busy city.

Room Tip: Book ahead for an aircon room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I wanted to stay here for about 3 day, but then stayed for 1 week.
The staff is really helpful and speak good english, the veranda is a great place to hang out and the location is just great; it's close to jalan malioboro but still hidden i a small gang without any motorcycles so it's quiet.
There are several restaurants close by, and the train station is reached within 5 min walk.
I booked the 2 temples tour with them, 70'000Rp is a fair price for over 2 hours of driving (exluding entrance fees).
The breakfast is simple, 2 slices of toast. Prices for rooms are small, I stayed in the fan room with attached bathroom (cold water only, but you really don't need hot water in Jogja). It had a big bed, good working fan, desk and enough plugs. Drawback was that it hadn't a window (only small one facing the lobby), so it got quite airless after a while, especially the bathroom was moist and humid. The room was clean, only the bathroom smelled a bit funny and I found hair from the prvious guest. You get decent linen.
Wifi was working fine and was free.

I can recommend this small hotel to everyone, I would go there again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with window or otherwise good air circulation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sali33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaluyong, Rizal, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Originally intended to stay for one night but ended up staying for the whole duration of my visit (3 nights). The staff is friendly and very helpful: making sure that you get the best Yogya experience for your time and budget. Not to mention the quirkiest guest(s)! This is my first solo tour abroad and I couldn't have imagined a better accommodation and a better place to do it... Thanks Sam and hope to see you again!

Room Tip: Get the aircon room if you can book it... the hotel is always full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EiverGelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stumbled upon Andrea's hotel while looking for another one on the same street. It is located on a little quaint alley just down from Malioboro street and is in a great location for any touristy things you might need or do. The room and ensuite we got was very clean and nicely furnished with cable tv and aircon. The owner Andrea and staff are friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Yogyakarta. I also thought it was a fair affordable price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tootsash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel 1001 Malam
Hotel 1001 Malam
#31 of 204 in Yogyakarta
660 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Neo Malioboro
Hotel Neo Malioboro
#19 of 204 in Yogyakarta
1,084 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Yogyakarta
Ibis Styles Yogyakarta
#20 of 204 in Yogyakarta
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
POP! Hotel Malioboro
POP! Hotel Malioboro
#33 of 204 in Yogyakarta
347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro
Hotel Ibis Yogyakarta Malioboro
#35 of 204 in Yogyakarta
725 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
#28 of 204 in Yogyakarta
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrea Hotel

Property: Andrea Hotel
Address: Jln. Sosrowijayan 140 | Gang 2, Yogyakarta 55271, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 487 B&Bs / Inns in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel in the Sosrowijayan area of Yogyakarta, also known as The International Village. A few steps away from the famous Malioboro Street and a 5 minutes walk to the train station, guests do not need any public transport to get around. We guarantee clean & comfortable rooms. The breakfast is served on our terrace which allows you to get in touch with the local people. Included in our rates: Tax & Service, breakfast, Wi-Fi, toiletries and a private bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Andrea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing