We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Hotel Arjuna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Arjuna
Ranked #62 of 204 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Kuala Lumpur
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Heard that this hotel was recently refurbished.
That was obvious when we entered the room.
The room was well kept, and everything was in good working condition.
It easily accomodated the extra bed we requested for the double bed room.
It appears that an extension was added to the hotel building as well.

No complaints on breakfast.
There was a good selection of Indonesian and Western cuisine.
Staffs were friendly and helpful to our needs.
Hotel is not that far from Maliboro street, the shopping haven of Yogjakarta.

Overall i would recommend people to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chandima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelArjuna2013, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Arjuna, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Chandima,

We would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Arjuna Yogyakarta and for taking the time to write a review. It is a pleasure for us to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is lovely to look at the pictures you added and we are hoping that they are useful for our other guests as well. We are grateful for your positive feedback and hope to welcome you back to Hotel Arjuna in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    63
    32
    4
    2
See reviews for
37
44
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

A great value for money, clean and modern place with light, spacious rooms. Saying that the staff were amazing would be a serious understatement. They were 5-star excellent and make this hotel really stand out!
Very good breakfast with wide selection of Indonesian & continental, hot dishes, pastries and cakes, fruit, etc. Again, great service in the dining area.
Good location -- north of Marlioboro street, very convenient if you come or depart by train (station is within 10 min. walking distance). Bus to Prambanan stops outside by the main road.
Free WiFi with very strong signal, you can also use PC available in the hall.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katarzynna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelArjuna2013, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Arjuna, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Katarzynna,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience in the Hotel Arjuna Yogyakarta. We are sincerely delighted to hear such a great feedback and it certainly inspires us to maintain the level of hospitality and services offered at the hotel. We are looking forward to welcome you again in your next visit to Yogyakarta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

DEAR all satff , we would like to thank you from the bottom of our hearts for the wonderful stay and great services we received from each and every one of you ! our stay here felt more like a home, than a hotel ! we would not think of coming back to India without coming back to this fine establishment. we wish you much luck and great success in the days to come at this hotel. if u are ever in the australia,you have a place to stay with us ! on a final note, the quality of the food here was the best we have had thus far ! thanks again for everything and keep smiling !!! all the best.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Happer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelArjuna2013, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Arjuna, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Happer B,

Thank you very much for your kind review – it certainly made us smile even more. We are extremely glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and truly looking forward to seeing you again soon. We will contact you if one of us is traveling to Australia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

It was not just the front desk, at this centrally located hotel in Yogykarta, it was the entire staff who were eager to please; very, very impressed. Everyone was so helpful, friendly and proactive. After informing reception staff that I would have to check out early at 4am, they responded by telling me they would prepare a breakfast box for me to take with me and asked if I would prefer an Indonesian breakfast or Western? Never ever has any hotel offered this kind of service and I must say I was so surprised and totally impressed. I couldn't wait to get to the airport and see what was in my special breakfast box! Sausages, omelette, toast, banana, pastries - it was all there!! Aside of the exceptional service, Hotel Arjuna is well located. The first day I walked down to Beringharjo market at the end of Jalan Malioboro and jumped in a becak for the ride back.
The room I stayed in was on the 5th floor and everything was provided except for a refrigerator.
Internet was fantastic as was the television channel HBO that played a continuous range of good movies. Certainly, would highly recommend Hotel Arjuna to anyone travelling to Yogykarta, an excellent choice.

Room Tip: There was some construction adjacent to my room on the 5th floor, so when checking in, or booking ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinaross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelArjuna2013, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Arjuna, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear tinaross,

We would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay in Hotel Arjuna Yogyakarta. It is delightful to hear that you had an enjoyable experience with us and your comments are only encouraging for us to keep up the good level of service.

Indeed, there is a construction site just next to our hotel and we apologize for the noise it causes. The exterior of the next building should be ready quite soon which would mean fewer disturbances to our valued guests. Once again, the whole staff wants to thank you for your kind words concerning them and we are hoping to welcome you back to Hotel Arjuna soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 572 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Arjuna Hotel is located in Jalan P. Mangkubumi (P.Mangkubumi Road), which is a credit for me to get a Trans Jogja local bus from Airport direct to the hotel. The bus stop (Mangkubumi Halte) is just right in front the hotel. Taxi ride will be 20-30 minutes to the airport depending the traffic.

Location -
Area is quieter compared to Malioboro street, a good night rest is reassure.
Is 10-15minutes good walk to the happening Malioboro Street and Malioboro Mall. One can also take the 'becak' (trishaw) ride from the hotel to Malioboro Street for a few rupiah only, do get the hotel to arrange for you, no additional cost.
Trans Jogja local bus stop is just right infront the hotel, which you can use this transport to get to the place of attractions.

Reception -
Simple and staff is well manner and friendly. We were greeted with a cold welcome drink while they preparing our check in. Receptionist handed us a Jogja map and nicely explain to us how to walk around the city. No forgotten the concierge, very helpful and approachable.

Room (Superior) -
The room has good sunlight and not noisy. Generally is clean and tidy. Tea and coffee facility were provided, however refrigerator was not provided in a superior so it is a little disappointing because with the hot weather in Jogja, you don't have a refrigerator to store cool drink. Air-cond in the room is not cold enough. Bathroom come with toiletries kits and clean towels.

Breakfast -
Varieties of local and western breakfast. I really like the 'Jamu corner', they served herbs tea for the breakfast guests. The restaurant is next to the swimming pool. Lots of nice old photos of Jogja City hanged on the wall. The only disliked of the breakfast restaurant is this place is not a non smoking area.

Note -
Try the massage recommended by the hotel. It is actually behind the hotel or you can arrange them to come to your hotel room. Very reasonable and good skill.
The hotel trishaw is good and reasonable.
Make use the bus stop, Trans Jogja bus is the cheapest and convenience transport in town

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SanHec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelArjuna2013, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Arjuna, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear SanHec,

We are sincerely grateful for the long review you wrote regarding to your stay at the Hotel Arjuna Yogyakarta. The feedback, both positive and constructive, is really much appreciated because we believe that it really helps us to develop and to improve our services. We will note the points you have made and pass them on for management to consider, especially the minibar issue. However, I am glad to inform you that the restaurant is a non-smoking area, except the seats outside next to the pool.

All in all, it sounds you had an enjoyable stay with us and we could not be happier about it. Once again thank you for the comments and we are hoping to see you again in the near future. The same masseurs will be here waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We came across this hotel by chance and were initially quite impressed by the front desk reception staff. We were shown the Deluxe, Standard and Superior rooms and the price was very reasonable at Around AUD52 per night. The duty manager was kind enough to upgrade us to the Superior room which would have otherwise been around AUD80. The rooms itself are extremely well kept and the 24hour room service was excellent. They even provided us with breakfast boxes for our sunrise tour to Borobudur, which was plenty for 2 people. We therefore requested for one breakfast box for our early morning flight departure on the last day. I would strongly recommend staying at this hotel as it is very close to Malioboro Street ( which is the main shopping strip of Yogyakarta). The staff are extremely friendly and the manager Tino is a exceptional host.The hotel also has a swimming pool, restaurant and chemist shop. All in all we had a very memorable stay and would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tondz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelArjuna2013, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Arjuna, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear rfox21,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience at the Hotel Arjuna Yogyakarta. We are glad to hear about your pleasant stay and truly hope to see you back in the hotel very soon. On behalf of the whole staff, I would like to thank you for your kind words about our hotel and services. Certainly this feedback will help us to improve and to ensure that all the guests will get an enjoyable experience as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Harwood, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Value for money hotel in great location. Staff very friendly and efficient. Food excellent and reasonable price. The rooms were clean and had everything you need shampoo soap ect and there was a complementary coffee tray which was nice. I would definitely recommend this hotel as it is also near the train station so great for arriving and leaving. Well done Arjuna.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chinkynorthofengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelArjuna2013, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Arjuna, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear chinkynorthofengland,

Thank you for your review of Hotel Arjuna Yogyakarta. It is pleasant to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would even recommend us to everyone. I am sure that this feedback will be encouraging for our staff as we are trying to ensure that our guests get a memorable experience here in Hotel Arjuna. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.3 mi away
Horison Ultima Riss Yogyakarta
Horison Ultima Riss Yogyakarta
#54 of 204 in Yogyakarta
152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Zuri Malioboro Yogyakarta
Grand Zuri Malioboro Yogyakarta
#15 of 204 in Yogyakarta
534 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Inna Malioboro
Grand Inna Malioboro
#39 of 204 in Yogyakarta
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
THE 1O1 Yogyakarta Tugu
THE 1O1 Yogyakarta Tugu
#16 of 204 in Yogyakarta
418 reviews
0.3 mi away
HOM Platinum
HOM Platinum
#80 of 204 in Yogyakarta
189 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harper Mangkubumi
Harper Mangkubumi
#45 of 204 in Yogyakarta
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arjuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arjuna

Property: Hotel Arjuna
Address: Jalan Margo Utomo / P Mangkubumi No. 44, Yogyakarta 55122, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 204 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Arjuna 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Arjuna Yogyakarta is situated in Malioboro area, the tourism and business district of the city, and only a few minutes away from Tugu railway station. Trans Jogja city busses are stopping right in front of the hotel ready to take you to Sultan Palace or to Prambanan, one of the most impressive Hindu temples in the world. The hotel is approximately 25 minutes from the Adisutjipto International Airport.We offer 72 rooms in five different types: Standard, Superior, Superior Pool view, Deluxe and Suite rooms. All the rooms are equipped with AC, hot & cold water, tea/coffee maker, IDD telephone, TV with satellite channels, and free WiFi. Breakfast buffet is included in the prices and served in our Srikandi Coffee Shop. Additionally, outdoor swimming pool, business center, Taman Sari Pool Bar and Dewi Kunthi Spa & Reflexology are available for our customers as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Arjuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing