We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a lovely stay”
Review of Hotel Arjuna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Arjuna
Ranked #63 of 206 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Such a lovely stay”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I am actually surprised to find so little review for this hotel. I have traveled to many countries and stayed in many hotels but this is the first establishment that made me want to write a review.

When we first arrive, we were greeted by smiling, friendly staff at the door and the reception counter. While waiting for the front desk to arrange for our rooms, I was pleasantly surprised when a female staff appeared at the reception area and offered us refreshments (guava juice, it's really good!).

The internet service in Arjuna was tip-top. In addition to a computer in the reception area for guests, the Wi-fi is well and kicking in our rooms. I have never had such a fast connection while staying in a hotel room! They have different wi-fi for different areas of the hotel, but as a guest you are still allowed access to these wi-fi areas with the same password, so one can be assured of fast connection whether in the room, the cafe, reception area or even the poolside.

The only slight glitch to the service was a mix-up on our hotel rooms on the day we arrived. As I was travelling with my Mum, Aunt and my two young siblings, we requested two adjoining rooms. However, there were no adjoining rooms available to us during that time. As it turns out they had (accidentally or not I am not sure) placed another guest in one of the adjoined rooms meant for us.

Even in this cloud we had seen a silver lining. The young man at the reception counter politely and apologetically informed us of this error, and asked if it was all right if they house my Mum and two siblings in another room and relocate them to the adjoined room the next day when the other guest has checked out. He personally took us up to the rooms he mentioned to see whether we were all right with the arrangements. And because this new room is very close to our original joined arrangements anyway, we decided to spare him the trouble and remain in the allocated rooms throughout the trip.

The rest of the staff was also very friendly, polite and full of smiles. The breakfast buffet were superb and had different varieties every day. Arjuna is also located near the Malioboro streets (some 10 minutes of walking), so it was very convenient when my Aunt decided to go hunt for a more comfortable footwear at 8:00pm at night before our big trip to Borobudur and Merapi the next day.

I would definitely recommend Arjuna for a good stay in Yogyakarta. As a fellow reviewer previously said: it's a 4 star hotel with a 5 star service

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AnneSB2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelArjuna2013, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Arjuna, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear AnneSB2012,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay in Hotel Arjuna Yogyakarta. We are sincerely grateful for hearing all those pleasant things you mentioned. Once again, we would like to apologize for the mix-up with the rooms and thank you for your understanding in the situation. It is delightful to hear the positive feedback about our staff and service because it will give us confidence to maintain the same level or even improve from that. We are hoping to welcome you back to Hotel Arjuna in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    64
    32
    4
    2
See reviews for
38
44
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Terrigal, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here as a stop over as it was close to the train station. The hotel is modern, clean and in a great location.
We cannot speak highly enough about the service here. Also we were able to organise a trip to Borobodour as well as get suggestions for our onward travel.
The breakfast buffet has a good selection. We also had lunch and dinner here and were impressed both times with our meals. Swimming pool is squeezed in beside the restaurant but very enjoyable after a long hot day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelArjuna2013, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Arjuna, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Jackie M,

We would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Arjuna Yogyakarta and for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to read about your enjoyable stay with us and our staff will definitely be delighted for the good feedback concerning their performances. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

First impression => it's very good hotel with lovely staff, located near malioboro street market, tugu rail stations, and 25 minutes from adi sucipto airports.

Access => 10 minutes walks from tugu station, 25 minutes from adi sucipto airport, 10 minutes walk from malioboro street. There is Trans Jogja stop bus near hotel that can make you easy to roam yogya.

Room => very nice, very complete for a suite, with living room an private balcony

Conclusions :

Pros :
1. very nice hotel and staffs are very helpful
2. complete access to hotel, near to railways station, airport, and Trans Jogja bus stop
3. with decent rates, you can have suites room

Cons :
1. avoid peak or school season, it will be hard to booked this hotel
2. there is lack for electric plug for gadget, so if you bring so many gadget you can call helpdesk or, unplug some light room
3. the keys are able to open from outside, eventhough using card key(how come the security so lame here.......)
4. the sound proof is very lacked here, if your neighbour room speak loud. you can here it clearly......

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jambrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelArjuna2013, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Arjuna, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Mr Jambrong,

We are sincerely grateful for your comments concerning your stay in Hotel Arjuna Yogyakarta. Since we are a quite new hotel we are pleased to hear your thoughts. This way we are able to improve the premises of the hotel as well as the services. We have acknowledged the cons mentioned by you and actions will be taken to make sure our guests can get the best experience possible at the Hotel Arjuna. For high season peaks, we truly recommend to book the room early in advance.

On behalf of the whole staff, I would like to thank you again and we are all looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Zuri Malioboro Yogyakarta
Grand Zuri Malioboro Yogyakarta
#17 of 206 in Yogyakarta
540 reviews
0.3 mi away
Horison Ultima Riss Yogyakarta
Horison Ultima Riss Yogyakarta
#56 of 206 in Yogyakarta
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
THE 1O1 Yogyakarta Tugu
THE 1O1 Yogyakarta Tugu
#15 of 206 in Yogyakarta
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Harper Mangkubumi
Harper Mangkubumi
#46 of 206 in Yogyakarta
873 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Neo Malioboro
Hotel Neo Malioboro
#20 of 206 in Yogyakarta
1,095 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel 1001 Malam
Hotel 1001 Malam
#30 of 206 in Yogyakarta
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arjuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arjuna

Property: Hotel Arjuna
Address: Jalan Margo Utomo / P Mangkubumi No. 44, Yogyakarta 55122, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 206 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Arjuna 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Arjuna Yogyakarta is situated in Malioboro area, the tourism and business district of the city, and only a few minutes away from Tugu railway station. Trans Jogja city busses are stopping right in front of the hotel ready to take you to Sultan Palace or to Prambanan, one of the most impressive Hindu temples in the world. The hotel is approximately 25 minutes from the Adisutjipto International Airport.We offer 72 rooms in five different types: Standard, Superior, Superior Pool view, Deluxe and Suite rooms. All the rooms are equipped with AC, hot & cold water, tea/coffee maker, IDD telephone, TV with satellite channels, and free WiFi. Breakfast buffet is included in the prices and served in our Srikandi Coffee Shop. Additionally, outdoor swimming pool, business center, Taman Sari Pool Bar and Dewi Kunthi Spa & Reflexology are available for our customers as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Arjuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing