We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good but more choices”
Review of Kemangi Bistro

Kemangi Bistro
Ranked #122 of 1,154 Restaurants in Yogyakarta
Cuisines: Indonesian, Italian
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Good but more choices”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

It was good but I was hoping for more choices. I hope they will have an Intercontinental area and I was hoping they have a lot of bread and pastries choices since this is what I love to eat for breakfast instead of a heavy meal like rice. I was also hoping they will have also an unlimited juice for drinks during lunch since they only provide water.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jscyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    26
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tasty Breakfast and a lot of variety”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The Buffet Breakfast are nice, tasty, freshly cooked and a lot of variety. You may ask the chef to make something outside the buffet menu without any charge, but ask it nicely and you'll get it in your hands... :)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank stanislaus14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta
Level Contributor
155 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“A deeply disappointing downgrade of a former yogya icon.”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

So sad to come back again to the Hyatt bistro today for their once famous Sunday brunch.

When I first arrived in Indonesia 10 years ago the yogya Hyatt Sunday brunch was the talk of every expat forum, famous across the archipelago, a place to be and a place to be seen. Beautiful gardens, a delightful swimming pool impeccable service and a stunning array of authentic Indonesian and Western cuisine.

I remember my first visit well, gorgeous cupachino, a glass of mild red wine, a whole salmon baked in pastry, a roast loin of pork, rare leg of lamb with rosemary and salads and deserts to die for. As a poor student at university gadja mada I tried once a month to fulfil my homesickness and longing with a day of Western luxury, swim spa and food. Amazing

Sadly those days are well and truly gone, poor management has seen the place slowly deteriorate. The infrastructure remains well maintained, pools are beautiful the setting stunning but service and food quality have dropped so dramatically that it saddens the heart of me and the rest of the expat community.

Read an online expat blog these days and it's rare to see a mention of this former place of culinary glory. If you do its almost certain to be a sad reminiscent like this review.

Today's experience brings the Hyatt cafe to a new low, a mediocre standard Indonesian 3.5 star buffet selection a stingy roast beef, cooked to death, so dry and tough that shoe leather would be jealous. The selection in a standard 2star Indonesian bakery looks like an elite French patisserie when compared to the pathetic selection on offer and the salads are better at the pizza hut salad bar. Mayonnaise on a fruit salad is so 3star Indonesia buffet and imagine a brunch without eggs or Coffee.

What was true international service has been swapped to high level Indonesian service. The staff remain friendly professional and well dressed, but the things that differentiated the Hyatt from the rest are now gone. Whilst talking to my friend I was interrupted mid story to be asked if I wished to place an order. When I did wish to place an order it took 10 minutes if trying to catch the eye of the waiting staff before finally giving up and being forced to yell "m'bak" a number of times to get someone's attention. Plates were cleared away while some people were still eating and we oscillated between feeling ignored and feeling intruded upon.

As an expat I am left wondering if the downgrading of the buffet to largely very expensive but very standard Indonesian fair is an appeal to the largely iIndonesian clientele, though I expect it's not a concious decision rather an unchecked decline.

While the standard at luxury spots across Indonesia has risen and risen, the Hyatt Yogya is on a fast track down, rapidly joining the other aging outdated 3 star hotels trying to be 4star for which Indonesia is so famous, Jayakarta, yogya plaza to name a few.

Will someone please send the food and beverage manager and head chef for training at the Shangrila in Jakarta so they can discover what the market is expecting. In the meanwhile welcome to the Hyatt brunch the most disappointing meal in Java. You better off to have brunch elsewhere and come back for a swim as the expat community now largely does.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Big_Yob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“fantastic place for breakfast by the pool”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

This place offers one hugr off breakfast buffet and tremendous choices with International flavor and the local foods! The wait staff is very attentive and cooking staff is here to please you to tweak the product to your taste. It's like having your own chefs in your own kitchen, its just amazed me and my family.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Puren1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The food was great and the variety was wide as well.
I was at Hyatt for 3 days and this was the source of my meals. But, I later found out it was rather expensive as a single meal option.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tdevinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kemangi Bistro also viewed

 
Yogyakarta, Java
 

Been to Kemangi Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing