We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Strange atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa de Raffles

Casa de Raffles
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa de Raffles
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Strange atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Nice room, comfortable bed. We requested an airport transfer, and didn't hear from the hotel so assumed they were not coming - although they did turn up. Communication with staff was difficult. The location was not great, quite a long walk from Malioboro and taxi drivers didn't know the hotel. Many items were missing from our laundry which we had to go and find outside for ourselves. The breakfast wasn't very good as there were ants ALL over the tomatoes and onions which you have to cook for yourself. We only saw two other guests despite staying 4 nights, and when we asked to extend our stay we were told "no sorry", with no further information.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ddraig_fawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    13
    11
    1
    3
See reviews for
7
10
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

I stayed in one of the suites. The room is big, very clean, comfortable. Breakfast was very good. They also have washing machines and even provide the detergent. The common areas are spacious. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The location of the hotel was good for me.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dario5170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

This place is by far the BEST hostel I have stayed in during my time in Indonesia.

Honestly, I do not know how they make money. Stayed in 8 bed female only drom for about 5 Euros a night, for about 4 nights.
If you book ahead and book more than three nights, you get LOADS of stuff for free!
FREE hot and cold water all day, FREE pickup from the airport (which I used, and worked absolutely fine! Guy was there on time, took me to hostel, all good), FREE laundry, FREE bikes!! Used all of this and was very good.

Aircon in room works very well, wifi works well, rooms and bathrooms are clean, hot water works (mostly, sometimes it gets a little cold for a short time, and then goes back to warm, so really no big problem) they have a big lounge area, and in general good place to meet some people.

LOCATION is a little drawback, its about 15 min walk to southern end of Malioboro, but on the other hand, it is a more "real" and indonesian part of the city, so it feels a lot more authentic than the backpacker area! Supermarkets, streetfood and restaurants are also to be found close by, there is a Yogya bus station really close, and the sultan palace is also about 15 mins on foot, so I think location is still quite good.

STAFF was super friendly, two girls also spoke English very well and went out of their way to help everyone. Other staff members did not speak a lot of English, but would always fetch someone who could if they did not understand what you wanted. There was always someone around that would speak English.

It is true that 4bed dorm has 2 double beds, so would not recommend staying there as you might have to share a bed with someone you do not actually know. 8 bed dorm is better, equipped with bunks.

All in all, awesome place! Best value for money! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdynia, Poland
Level Contributor
623 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 436 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I could give better rating. However hotel staff was late for picking us up from train station. Hotel is located 15 minutes walk from the centre. It was not so big problem. We didn't use any taxi or other transport. And this city centre is really nice. You can make some shopping over there and watch how locals live and spend time.
Rooms very really nice. For this price it is good deal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pawel_hbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I did not have a very good experience here. The website stated that you would get a free pickup from the airport or trainstation if you needed one. I requested to be picked up and gve them my flight details. At the airport there was no driver to be found. I tried to call the hotel but both phonenumbers in the confirmation email did not work so i ended up having to pay for my taxi. (Public transport was not an option because the email gave two locations and directions but did not specify at which location i was staying). At the hotel, i was taken to an 8 bed dorm, even though i had booked a 4 bed dorm. I was told that i could stay in this room for a couple of hours because the persom that was in 'my' bed had not checked out yet. I explicitly asked wether i would be sleeping in the 4bed dorm, which i had booked and got confirmed, and the answer was yes. By 17.30 i asked wether i could go into the 4 bed dorm but it was not possible because the person was staying another night. Also, there website said it was a female only dorm, but apparently, there was at least one male sleeping there. So i had to sleep in the 8 bed dorm for one night, but according to the receptionist, this shouldn't be a problem since the rooms were the same price anyway, which is not true. The next day, when i was finally allowed to go to the 4bed dorm, it turned out to be a room with 2 double beds so you could be sharing a bed with a total stranger who might not even be the same sex. When paying my room bill, i expressed my complaints and got a discount in the end. Even though the hotel is clean, centrally located and has good matrasses, i would not go back here or recommend it to anyone, simply because their way of doing business is very fishy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lara98765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

LOCATION:
I almost want to give it five stars; but it just stops short, because of its location; the place is quite far away from anything else. Cabs are not easy to find in Yogya. So, unless you are sure about figuring out a becak or other prearranged transport, you may want to think about some other place. No food places nearby either.
ROOMS:
This was some big bunglow that has been converted to a hotel. So, there are always benefits and disadvantages to something like that. There is a piano in the lobby, the place does look very grand. The rooms themselves are very clean and quite big. They also have nice tv with some dvds for you to relax/unwind if it rains out.
SERVICE:
Very good service. The staff are very helpful. One evening, it rained out: so we could not go to get dinner. The cook was not in either. but the manager offered to make fried rice for us. It was quite nice, and the fact that she went out of her way to help us was touching. Also, we had an early flight out of Yogya. The breakfast would not be ready by then, so we asked her if she could make some toast for us. She did, and got it packed and ready to go when we checked out.
VERDICT:
Value for money. If you don't mind the location, do not hesitate to stay here. We would not mind staying here again as long as we have our transport figured out.

Room Tip: There are very few rooms, so if you arrive early, they may not have a place for you to check in. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saravananmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stay with a friend here for almoust 4 days. The staff its very friendly, the location its perfect, close to town and Malioboro ( to buy all kind of stuff!), plus free wifi!. The room was spacious, but they didnt change the sheets for almoust 5 days before we arrived, so everything was messy. The bathrooms were a little bit dirty, but pretty basic for the price, it was very cheap! 60.000 rupies per nigth!, including fresh water every day, tea and coffe, and a lot of candys jeje!.
Looking for something cheap and basic, this is it!. Has a lot of potential.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loretu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
2.0 mi away
Midtown Xpress Demangan
Midtown Xpress Demangan
#53 of 194 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Grove Express Timoho Hotel
The Grove Express Timoho Hotel
#37 of 194 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hoz Bed & Breakfast
Hoz Bed & Breakfast
#21 of 213 in Yogyakarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Venezia Garden
Venezia Garden
#12 of 213 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Packer Lodge Yogyakarta
The Packer Lodge Yogyakarta
#2 of 213 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nextdoor
Nextdoor
#26 of 213 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Raffles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Raffles

Property: Casa de Raffles
Address: Kpg. Ngampilan, Yogyakarta 55261, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 213 Specialty Lodging in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa de Raffles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Casa de Raffles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing