We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“staff either make a lot of mistakes or they lie”
Review of Casa de Raffles

Casa de Raffles
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa de Raffles
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“staff either make a lot of mistakes or they lie”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I did not have a very good experience here. The website stated that you would get a free pickup from the airport or trainstation if you needed one. I requested to be picked up and gve them my flight details. At the airport there was no driver to be found. I tried to call the hotel but both phonenumbers in the confirmation email did not work so i ended up having to pay for my taxi. (Public transport was not an option because the email gave two locations and directions but did not specify at which location i was staying). At the hotel, i was taken to an 8 bed dorm, even though i had booked a 4 bed dorm. I was told that i could stay in this room for a couple of hours because the persom that was in 'my' bed had not checked out yet. I explicitly asked wether i would be sleeping in the 4bed dorm, which i had booked and got confirmed, and the answer was yes. By 17.30 i asked wether i could go into the 4 bed dorm but it was not possible because the person was staying another night. Also, there website said it was a female only dorm, but apparently, there was at least one male sleeping there. So i had to sleep in the 8 bed dorm for one night, but according to the receptionist, this shouldn't be a problem since the rooms were the same price anyway, which is not true. The next day, when i was finally allowed to go to the 4bed dorm, it turned out to be a room with 2 double beds so you could be sharing a bed with a total stranger who might not even be the same sex. When paying my room bill, i expressed my complaints and got a discount in the end. Even though the hotel is clean, centrally located and has good matrasses, i would not go back here or recommend it to anyone, simply because their way of doing business is very fishy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lara98765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    13
    11
    1
    3
See reviews for
7
10
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

LOCATION:
I almost want to give it five stars; but it just stops short, because of its location; the place is quite far away from anything else. Cabs are not easy to find in Yogya. So, unless you are sure about figuring out a becak or other prearranged transport, you may want to think about some other place. No food places nearby either.
ROOMS:
This was some big bunglow that has been converted to a hotel. So, there are always benefits and disadvantages to something like that. There is a piano in the lobby, the place does look very grand. The rooms themselves are very clean and quite big. They also have nice tv with some dvds for you to relax/unwind if it rains out.
SERVICE:
Very good service. The staff are very helpful. One evening, it rained out: so we could not go to get dinner. The cook was not in either. but the manager offered to make fried rice for us. It was quite nice, and the fact that she went out of her way to help us was touching. Also, we had an early flight out of Yogya. The breakfast would not be ready by then, so we asked her if she could make some toast for us. She did, and got it packed and ready to go when we checked out.
VERDICT:
Value for money. If you don't mind the location, do not hesitate to stay here. We would not mind staying here again as long as we have our transport figured out.

Room Tip: There are very few rooms, so if you arrive early, they may not have a place for you to check in. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saravananmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stay with a friend here for almoust 4 days. The staff its very friendly, the location its perfect, close to town and Malioboro ( to buy all kind of stuff!), plus free wifi!. The room was spacious, but they didnt change the sheets for almoust 5 days before we arrived, so everything was messy. The bathrooms were a little bit dirty, but pretty basic for the price, it was very cheap! 60.000 rupies per nigth!, including fresh water every day, tea and coffe, and a lot of candys jeje!.
Looking for something cheap and basic, this is it!. Has a lot of potential.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loretu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sepang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

hardly to find this hostel as most people were not sure about the place. we kept asking around before finally found it. however, it's a walking distance to Malioboro street.
staffs were great, helpful and speak english well..
bathroom a bit poor, only two and one of it didn't work well.
we stayed in dorm, spacious but the aircond wasn't work well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We got the suite and the room was huge! Plenty of space, clean, same goes with the bathroom. It looks like a previous mansion that was converted into hotel rooms. Internet is weak upstairs but its free. Location is not ideal and the only food walking distance (within 5 minutes) was a bakery and fried chicken place. Hence, I would suggest just brining snacks as the hotel does not serve any food for purchase (or perhaps they could not communicate with us that it was for sale) But, if you will be hiring a driver anyways, I would suggest to asking the driver to drop you off at Malioboro for a couple of hours at the end of your hire and then pick you up to take you home. Malioboro is not walking distance at all. Service was pleasant and we were able to arrange tours to Prambanan and Borobodur with no problem. English is limited but they are patient to understand. The hotel offers a free pickup from the airport, but there was a mixup and there wasn't anyone waiting for us at the airport. We were able to call using a payphone and were picked up 15 minutes later. Not sure if this happens often, while frustrating at first, its a discrepancy I can overlook as it took us a good hour to get out of immigration. Take this anecdote as you like.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaystles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We arrived very late to find a closed hotel, after a 10 minute call with the receptionists (weirdly reception is nowhere near the front door!) we finally got in to be welcomed by a huge, spotlessly clean room. It was far better than I was expecting from first impressions of the hotel (the very grand, but tired lobby is filled with very strange ornaments in cabinets). A very comfortable bed, good A/C and a large clean bathroom.
Locations isn't brilliant, it's a 15 minute walk to the main street, but it's not too far away for it to be too inconvenient.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BertievonSorrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel at good location. Rooms were spacious with airco and nive bath roons. The breakfeast was very good. It started almost all Indonesian but theysaw we did not eat to much of the indonesian food in teh morning. Subsequently they also made very nice fresh chicken sandwiches. The indonesian food is excellent. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. Their English is very basic. Please remember they will not say always that they do not understand.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Emarc61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
2.0 mi away
Midtown Xpress Demangan
Midtown Xpress Demangan
#56 of 200 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Grove Express Timoho Hotel
The Grove Express Timoho Hotel
#37 of 200 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hoz Bed & Breakfast
Hoz Bed & Breakfast
#19 of 229 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Venezia Garden
Venezia Garden
#13 of 229 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Packer Lodge Yogyakarta
The Packer Lodge Yogyakarta
#2 of 229 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nextdoor
Nextdoor
#21 of 229 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Raffles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Raffles

Property: Casa de Raffles
Address: Kpg. Ngampilan, Yogyakarta 55261, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 229 Specialty Lodging in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa de Raffles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Casa de Raffles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing