We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
favehotel Kusumanegara
Ranked #58 of 204 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Munich
1 review
“Good value for money”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Simple room with basic amenities for minimum cost. Room and hallway had cigarette smoke smell. Most probably from the smoking area near the swimming pool since the door to the smoking area was always kept open. Unfortunately the swimming pool was closed for maintenance during most of our stay there which was disappointing since we booked the hotel mainly for the pool. Breakfast was okay with a decent amount of choice. Only downside was the bread toaster which was burning the toasts. We had connecting rooms which was fine but the other room had a pungent smell coming from the toilet. Other than that, either the exhaust fan in the bathroom was not working or it was really silent. No bath soap provided. Only shampoo provided. Air-conditioning was fine. Good and friendly service. Overall we enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaviS2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fave K, General Manager at favehotel Kusumanegara, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Value Guest, Thank you very much for your review through TripAdvisor and apologizes during your stay our swimming pool in preventive maintenance service schedule. We really appreciate your input about smoke smell, bathroom smell, and toaster that always be a great encouragement for us to be better in the future. Room at favehotel kusumanegara provided liquid soap and shampoo is two in one.Our guest satisfaction always be a top priority for us, by providing a good room accommodation with a consistent good standard of cleanliness and affordable price. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to favehotels kusumanegara Yogyakarta..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    370
    161
    14
    8
See reviews for
225
116
61
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cilacap, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The first opened the door, the first impression we had was spacious, fitting layout. we stay with family, our daughter instantly delight see a nice bathroom and shower him immediately. with a relatively cheap price, we get more than what we imagine, we are very satisfied with the services that are there. and our children commented "reply to jogja again tomorrow, shall stay at this hotel". thanks fave

correction: less tasty breakfast menu and its menu options need to be repaired

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank S020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fave K, General Manager at favehotel Kusumanegara, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, It is a pleasant for us to know that you had a good staying experience and enjoyed favehotel kusumanegara yogyakarta concept
The favehotel Kusumanegara brings a breath of fresh air to Yogyakarta. It is a uniquely designed, moderately priced hotel with a Fun atmosphere, Fresh attitude and Friendly services. It is refreshingly different and destined to become the favorite choice for smart budget minded travelers to Yogyakarta.
The super clean and functional rooms offer amenities usually associated with more expensive hotels such as LCD TV’s with premium cable channels, Remote Controlled AC, en Suite Bathrooms with Standing Showers, IDD telephones and complimentary High Speed WiFi.
Once again, thank you very much. Looking forward to welcoming you and your children back to favehotel kusumanegara Yogyakarta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for three nights on a recent trip to Yogyakarta. In summary, it does what it says on the tin - it's a budget hotel so the room was simple, clean, airconditioned and pretty much exactly as described on the website/what you see in the pictures. I thought it was weird though that you couldn't open the windows even though I was on second floor - I know it's a budget hotel, but still quite odd! The breakfast was OK but mostly cooked meals such as noodles and fried chicken which seemd to cater more to the local taste with very few alternative options.
The real downside was that I stayed in Yogya during the busiest week in Indonesia (Ramadan holiday) and found it almost impossible to find a taxi in the city and get back to the hotel (and Yogyakarta is really not a place where you can walk, especially such a long distance!) Hence I spent a few nights eating at the hotel out of convenience, but restaurant was decent - they had a buffet option which was a good value for money.
They also had room service - a bit slow but I guess it was due to the fact it was a busy time of the year. The staff were friendy and trying to help but sometimes it was a bit hard to get along as their English wasn't that great. They were kind enough to arrange a free airport pick up and also book some tours on my behalf with a local agent so all in all I found them quite helpful.
Overall, I don't think I'd stay there again simply due to the location - it really wasn't easy to get there from the city centre, at least during my stay, and I would recommend getting something a bit more central.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alXpucu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fave K, General Manager at favehotel Kusumanegara, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Value Guest, Many thanks for your review through TripAdvisor, Your input regarding the staff English communication will be followed up and we will ensure that we will improve it and give a better service to our guest in the future. Fave hotel kusumanegara location is 15 Minutes from Malioboro Street and Train station Tugu by drive , our front desk will assists to contact taxi due to the above subject.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Overall ok, small room n bathroom not very well maintained but the price says it all. Just very dissatisfied tat check in time is strictly 2pm so we have no choice but to pay for additional night in order to check in earlier as we were already at the hotel. I would say charging a 20-50% is more reasonable then full rate since the hotel isnt full anyway

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wenny0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fave K, General Manager at favehotel Kusumanegara, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear value guest , Thank you very much for your review and Favehotel kusumanegara had schedule of maintenance service for rooms and bathroom by daily and if there is any problem with guest room and bathroom our engineering staff will assisting to solving the problem immediately. We really appreciate with your input about check in earlier that always be a great encouragement for us to be better in the future. Looking forward to welcoming you back to favehotel kusumanegara yogykarta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed at this place for 4 nights.
The hotel is only 15 minutes drive from the airport (with no traffic) on the way to Prambanan. To the city centre (Mobioloro road) it's 35 min walk or 15 min on bicycle. We also tried the bus from the centre, very good bus service (clean, air-conditioned, cheap at Rs3k), and it's a 3-5 min walk back from the bus stop to the hotel. There's a 24hr supermarket 5 min walk away, but no eating places nearby.
The room is quite nice, comfy, clean, and simple yet nicely decorated. The only downside is that it's easy to hear the noise from the corridor, door closing, kids running and shouting etc.
The pool is a little small but it's adequete for cooling down after a hot day.
The breakfast is adequte but could have more options. Having more or less the same thing for four days is a bit repetitive. Maybe it's because it's mainly catered for the majority guests who are locals?
The services are generally considerate. From the start of our booking with the hotel to the end of our stay, we felt that we're genuninely welcomed. It's great to have the free airport pick-up using the "book direct" service with the hotel. Also, there's a water dispenser on each floor where you can get hot and iced water any time.
The staff are friendly and helpful at the reception, but could be improved on other fronts. We rented bicyles from the hotel, but it took us nearly half an hour before we could set off. They had to got the bikes from somwhere at the back, and then found they're not pumped up so had to look for a pump. Then they couldn't tell us the combination of the locks for the bikes, and said the previous guests didn't need it so we wouldn't either. We had to ask repeatedly for the combination and waited more than 10 minutes for the staff at reception to ring someone for it.
Overall, we were happy with the stay with Favehotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shuang Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fave K, General Manager at favehotel Kusumanegara, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Sonia valued guest, Thank you very much with your comment through TripAdvisor Your suggestions and feedback already received and will be a valuable consideration to improve our service. We looking forward to welcoming you back and staying more than 4 nights at favehotel kusumanegara Yogyakarta and recommend to using'book direct" as you mentioned .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuningan, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I was happy and enjoy during stay at favehotel kusumanegara,clean,fresh,friendly staff.Check in prosedur is very fast and smile receptionist.The unforgotable place at favehotel is swimming pool in evening until night very cozy and romantic pool terrace with drinks coffee :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fave K, General Manager at favehotel Kusumanegara, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Rhea, Thank you for choosing favehotel Kusumanegara as your accommodation in Yogyakarta and write awesome experience through Tripadvisor . Favehotel Kusumanegara swimming pool designed with open air ,waterfalls, and decorated with color lamps in the evening to get cozy athmospire. We look forward to welcoming you at favehotel Kusumanegara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2013

It was just a short stay in this hotel,but I could say that it's a great and affordable hotel. The staff is friendly. The room is clean and modern. It's also environmentally friendly as it provides shower gel in the bathroom. Unfortunately, the parking lot isn't really spacious especially the lot for motorbikes to park.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eva_sitompul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fave K, General Manager at favehotel Kusumanegara, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Eva Sitompul, We are very happy that know you enjoyed with favehotel kusumanegara Yogyakarta concept and write good comment through TripAdvisor. Once again many thanks for your review and for car parking available at three area is one at front hotel and two areas we provide at back hotel area, our security team and concierge will assist the guest about the subject. We looking forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.7 mi away
The Grove Express Timoho Hotel
The Grove Express Timoho Hotel
#40 of 204 in Yogyakarta
111 reviews
1.7 mi away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#56 of 204 in Yogyakarta
214 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Rengganis
Hotel Rengganis
#64 of 204 in Yogyakarta
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
favehotel Kotabaru
favehotel Kotabaru
#30 of 204 in Yogyakarta
175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Midtown Xpress Demangan
Midtown Xpress Demangan
#43 of 204 in Yogyakarta
98 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Neo+ Awana Yogyakarta
Hotel Neo+ Awana Yogyakarta
#24 of 204 in Yogyakarta
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to favehotel Kusumanegara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about favehotel Kusumanegara

Property: favehotel Kusumanegara
Address: Jln. Kusumanegara no. 91, Yogyakarta 55166, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 204 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — favehotel Kusumanegara 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your favehotel Kusumanegara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing