We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting!”

Ramayana Ballet Purawisata
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ramayana Ballet, performed at Purawisata Yogyakarta, Indonesia is a perfect place to watch Ramayana Ballet. Only 4 minutes from Malioboro Street. It has been staged regularly every night since 1976 and it has received an award from Indonesian Record Museum (MURI). It also has been performed at Open Air Stage (only will moved to Indoor if it rains).
Port Hedland, Western Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Enchanting!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

You cannot visit Jogjakarta without going to the Ramayana Ballet. The cast were wonderful, truly. The plot became rather confusing for me, however, the performances from each and every one of the dancers was breathtaking. The Monkey King athletic and daring - the fire dance and twirling truly amazing. The skill of the male leads, their faces, beautiful, serene, captivating. The gamalan different, so different to balinese style. I was honoured to have witnessed such a different style of dance and music than Bali. I realised I had become rather light on as far as the dances and culture of other Indonesian places.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Marian1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    77
    31
    12
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice service and ok performance”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The Ramayana ballet was held in the city and I paid Rp 200.000 for it. The price already includes food and beverage (buffet), mineral water, and a snack at the exit gate. It's a reasonable price. However, I find that the performance was just ok. It seems that the dancer didn't perform 100%. I only give a credit to the one who played Hanoman. The lighting was good, and the open air theater was nice. They gave a synopsis about the story in different languages. This can be helpful as they performed it in javanese language.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank v_lee_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gresik, Jawa Timur, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a Drama in Typical Javanese Dance”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This dance-drama is a marvelous visualization of legendary epos in Javanese culture, Ramayana. Performed in an open stage, Ramayana ballet invites you to enjoy the story in a set of typical Javanese dance accompanied by gamelan music.It's a good performance for cultural trip, but a little pricey for comfort zone.....

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dian_Palupi21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Great performance - high class and professional. Unnecessary to buy first class ticket. Cheaper one is perfectly fine. Save your money. And bring mozzie repellant.

Helpful?
2 Thank Carerot A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great open air theater, wonderful performance”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Came here with some friends, looking for some entertainment. Since it was not raining, we were able to watch it in the open air theater. The performance was great, players were very determined and focus. Told the story perfectly. This had 2 parts, so we were able to get some refreshments and come back. It's a MUST to every Jogja trip. Only on selected dates, so check beforehand.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Scharringa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ramayana Ballet Purawisata also viewed

 

Been to Ramayana Ballet Purawisata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing