We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Venezia Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Venezia Garden
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Value Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

What I read from all the travellers' review were true . Something special to note is that the hotel is located at a pretty quiet street where you could hardly find any other hostels or hotel along the street unlike the typical backpackers' street near Malioboro. It took us quite some time to find the place by public bus and it was kind of scary to walk on this street at night - its all dark and its so quiet.
Tried comparing rooms at the same price with other hostels but I think their room is still the best - there was a room that has its washing basin located right in front of the bed. That was scary.
Breakfast wasnt too great, though. Would rather spend a few more thousands to dine out than eating here.. but yeah, they take ages to prepare food thats true.
Pool was cool, me and my friend took the private room that looks like a holidy villa, facing the pool. I think its really cool place to stay at :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wen2388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    59
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
16
45
60
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in August 2013.

The Venezia garden is located in the more classy area of Jogja, backpackers might prefer the more lively area around the train station but couples and families will have a great time here.

Venezia garden is located in mids of a small street and the first view is like entering a little paradise, a green garden, fishingpool, big stones that form a path and protect the grass. The owners/ staff are friendly and relaxed. Jogja is a relaxed city, but the Venezia Garden is a very relaxed hotel.
Dont expect much of the pool and the rooms are some what smallish and warmish, but cleanand with an open air douch, perfect! Located near the Sultans city and with goog connections for Borobudur and other nice spots. Little number of rooms so book in advance!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Niek1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

We slept in the 8 bed dorm, however my friend who slept in the inner part of the room felt quite hot and uncomfortable due to the air conditioning not being able to cool the big room effectively. The place was not easy to find most of the drivers do not know where is Jalan Surami and the signboard takes some efforts to find. It will be better to tell the cab/becak drivers to go to Parangitis and from there search for Surami. The location was far from the buzzing area which is Jalan Malioboro and many becak drivers were not willing to take us back to Venezia Garden due to the distance.

The staff were however very friendly and u can arrange for tours to various places for reasonable price. They were happy to answer questions about the local culture and attractions too. One particular staff was speaking fine English so it was quite easy to communicate. The place was good for chatting with various other tourists from other countries and getting information from them about where to go etc. Always good to know friends on a trip!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChuaKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

perfect place, strategic place close to entertainment venues , hang out and shopping venues. the staff was give me a service excellent which is makes me feels like home.i recommend to you guys whoever who will come to yogya to visit this hotel.

Room Tip: choose that makes you comfortable one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
224 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

I decided to book this płace as it had so many good reviews. I was not disappointed despite rainy weather.Rooms are rather tiny but the bathroom is extra( mine was private, big with shower).Room was clean. The pool was very small, generally the place is rather small.Breakfast was the only minus, but at least coffeee or tea was available all the time. it is a good place if you want to meet people travelling arround Indonesia , exchange views, opinions, socialize a little or just chat. Can be very noisy nighttime time:) It is not so close to the city main street Malioboro so akind of Tuk-Tuk ride is necessary.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katarzyna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Perfect place to stay in Yogya! Friendly staff who are willing to help you out and can arrange all kinds of tours for you. Nice to hang around with aswel. It's very clean. The garden with its swimmingpool is great to spend some time when it's sunny!
I extended my stay and had a great time. I would recommend this place to travellers who like to meet other travellers and locals!

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank HTJacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

I booked this hostel based on other travellers' good reviews. The most outstanding feature of Venezia Garden is the helpful staff and owner. They helped me with the booking of a Borobudur trip and gave ample advice on places to eat (I highly recommend Milas and House of Ramintan!) and visit. The tours offered by them are reasonably priced and reliable. You'll also get a small discount on the admission tickets to Borobudur and Prambanan temple if you book with them.

I was very impressed by the owner's helpfulness to ensure that my time in Jogya was well spent. I booked a scooter from him as I wanted to travel to Prambanan temple on my own. However the scooter didn't arrive because it was raining that day and no one wanted to deliver the scooter to the hostel. The owner felt bad as he knew I wanted to travel out pretty badly. So he rented his own scooter to me and passed me his raincoat and helmet. I was really touched by his kind gesture, Furthermore, his scooter was well maintained and it has definitely served me well.

Amenities at Venezia Garden was good. The rain shower was good; there's hot water 24/7 with decent water pressure. Breakfast is available everyday; they offer toast with fried egg and banana pancakes. You can make coffee and tea there anytime in the day. There's plenty of space to sit around and chat with other travellers. Swimming pool is available for use as well, though I haven't seen anyone using it during my 3 night stay there, probably because it was raining non-stop. The pool seems clean to me and one of the guest said she saw the staff cleaning the pool every morning.

Location is good as well. It's 5mins walk away from Prawirotaman street, where there's plenty of cafes, bars and money changers. The only qualm I have about this hostel is that it's a little far from the heart of Jogya at Maliboro street. However there's plenty of becaks waiting to pick you up.

It was a great experience altogether. Will definitely return there to stay next time, probably at their private rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HaoJun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.3 mi away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#53 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rengganis
Hotel Rengganis
#55 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Wakeup Homestay
Wakeup Homestay
#10 of 200 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
2.0 mi away
BHUMI Hostel
BHUMI Hostel
#5 of 200 in Yogyakarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adhisthana Hotel Yogyakarta
Adhisthana Hotel Yogyakarta
#4 of 457 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venezia Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venezia Garden

Property: Venezia Garden
Address: Jl. Surami No. 55, Yogyakarta 55143, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 200 Specialty Lodging in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Venezia Garden 1.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Venezia Garden opens its doors to any travelers who want to stay in Yogyakarta. Swimming pool, private bungalow or dormitory, here are the rooms that you can get there. Green atmosphere, quiet location, swimming pool should offer you the very best of accommodation in order to visit this vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Venezia Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing