We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation”
Review of Venezia Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Venezia Garden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2013

One of the best hostels we have stayed at so far. Excellent value for money, a hot power shower (!!!), swimming pool and great location. The staff are very friendly and have helped us to organise our time here. Also has breakfast included of banana pancakes! Have extended stay from 1 night to 4 nights :)

Room Tip: The private rooms are lovely but dorms are also good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 243 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2013

Initially I was going to stay here for a couple of nights but it ended in an 8 night stay. The place is really relaxed, various types of to choose breakfast (served at any time you like!) and the staff is very helpful and experienced. They even took us on various trips by motorbike to the surroundings of Jogja! The location is great, very quiet street but still only one minute away from the main road.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ninonsense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I stayed in a 8 bed dorm. It was very nice, with air con and private bathroom.
There is free internet, and free breakfast, that doesn't have a specific time, so whenever you wake up you have breakfast. Also tea, coffee and water the whole day. There's also a swimming pool for those very hot days.
The staff is very nice and helpful.
Lots of essential things only 5 min away (atm, minimarket, travel agencies, taxis)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fernandadp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Nice hostel, relaxed place to stay. Stayed in the double room which was comfortable with good size bathroom and nice big rainshower. Professional photos of the pool look much luxurious that in real. Pool was not very appealing, looked like it hadn't been used (water level was low). Staff very helpful and kind. Booking tours through Venezia Garden is good too. Good prices, no hassle.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I stayed at the Venezia Garden for one week and had a great time there. It's a good place to meet other travellers and just to hang out in the public area and at the pool. The staff is very friendly and helpful at all times and the dorm was clean. I felt very comfortable there and definitely recommend this place, especailly for single travellers.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in October 2013, and had a great time. It's very well situated for Prawirotaman, though perhaps less so if you want to spend a lot of time round Malioboro. Rooms are decent and clean (bolsters provided as well which was great), I was in the smaller, 4 person dorm, so the air-conditioning seemed to work well enough to cool the room. Wireless was good.

I went on the Borobudur tour that they organise, which was great and I felt allowed enough time at all points that I didn't feel rushed. The viewpoint was well situated as well, although it was rather foggy the day we went, unfortunately.

James also took the time to bring a few of us along with him to watch the parade that accompanied the Sultan's daughters wedding, which was above and beyond what I expected, especially since it must have been like herding cats and he'd probably have gotten a better viewpoint on his own. The other staff were also likewise helpful when discussing onward journeys from Jogja.

Only minor quibble is that breakfast can be very slow, and don't expect anyone to necessarily be there at 7am on the dot when it's supposed to start. (I almost ended up starting an 11 hour bus journey without breakfast due to this, hence the warning!)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alynne83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The place had a home feel to it and it was where we got the best sleep during our whole trip in Indonesia. The pool was small but it was clean when we got there. Considering this is essentially a place for backpackers, the fact that they have a pool is already great. Staff are friendly and went out of their way to make our stay in Yogyakarta the best it can be. We weren't able to try their breakfast though because of our schedules but their WiFi worked fine for us, even inside our rooms.

The tours we booked from them (to Prambanan, Borobudur and Dieng Plateau) were wonderful and the fact that the place provides walking access to Taman Sari and Malioboro Street is a great bonus for our budget. The place is around 30 minutes taxi ride from the train station and airport, considering traffic.

One of the owners of the place was also the one who drove us to Borobudur and Dieng Plateau and he was very friendly and accommodating. Upon request, he took us to a cheap eatery run by a local where food was delicious and gave the best value for our money. Although not part of the tour package we booked, he helped us buy souvenirs after we got back from Dieng Plateau by taking us to a local grocery store where we got local-priced Indonesian tea and coffee. He is also very knowledgeable about Yogyakarta in general and through our conversations with him, we got to learn about and appreciate more the city.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay in Venezia homestay and are grateful to all the people there who pampered us. We highly recommend this place to backpackers and flashpackers out there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dannea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.3 mi away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#63 of 210 in Yogyakarta
240 reviews
3.3 mi away
Puri Artha Hotel
Puri Artha Hotel
#58 of 210 in Yogyakarta
243 reviews
2 mi away
BHUMI Hostel
BHUMI Hostel
#1 of 338 in Yogyakarta
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Good Karma Yogyakarta
Good Karma Yogyakarta
#8 of 338 in Yogyakarta
83 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sae Sae Hostel
Sae Sae Hostel
#2 of 338 in Yogyakarta
148 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Packer Lodge Yogyakarta
The Packer Lodge Yogyakarta
#5 of 338 in Yogyakarta
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venezia Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venezia Garden

Address: Jl. Surami No. 55, Yogyakarta 55143, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 338 Specialty Lodging in Yogyakarta
Price Range: $14 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Venezia Garden 1.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Venezia Garden opens its doors to any travelers who want to stay in Yogyakarta. Swimming pool, private bungalow or dormitory, here are the rooms that you can get there. Green atmosphere, quiet location, swimming pool should offer you the very best of accommodation in order to visit this vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HostelWorld so you can book your Venezia Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing