We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Venezia Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Venezia Garden
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Nice hostel, relaxed place to stay. Stayed in the double room which was comfortable with good size bathroom and nice big rainshower. Professional photos of the pool look much luxurious that in real. Pool was not very appealing, looked like it hadn't been used (water level was low). Staff very helpful and kind. Booking tours through Venezia Garden is good too. Good prices, no hassle.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    59
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
16
45
60
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jimbaran
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

I stayed at the Venezia Garden for one week and had a great time there. It's a good place to meet other travellers and just to hang out in the public area and at the pool. The staff is very friendly and helpful at all times and the dorm was clean. I felt very comfortable there and definitely recommend this place, especailly for single travellers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in October 2013, and had a great time. It's very well situated for Prawirotaman, though perhaps less so if you want to spend a lot of time round Malioboro. Rooms are decent and clean (bolsters provided as well which was great), I was in the smaller, 4 person dorm, so the air-conditioning seemed to work well enough to cool the room. Wireless was good.

I went on the Borobudur tour that they organise, which was great and I felt allowed enough time at all points that I didn't feel rushed. The viewpoint was well situated as well, although it was rather foggy the day we went, unfortunately.

James also took the time to bring a few of us along with him to watch the parade that accompanied the Sultan's daughters wedding, which was above and beyond what I expected, especially since it must have been like herding cats and he'd probably have gotten a better viewpoint on his own. The other staff were also likewise helpful when discussing onward journeys from Jogja.

Only minor quibble is that breakfast can be very slow, and don't expect anyone to necessarily be there at 7am on the dot when it's supposed to start. (I almost ended up starting an 11 hour bus journey without breakfast due to this, hence the warning!)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alynne83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

The place had a home feel to it and it was where we got the best sleep during our whole trip in Indonesia. The pool was small but it was clean when we got there. Considering this is essentially a place for backpackers, the fact that they have a pool is already great. Staff are friendly and went out of their way to make our stay in Yogyakarta the best it can be. We weren't able to try their breakfast though because of our schedules but their WiFi worked fine for us, even inside our rooms.

The tours we booked from them (to Prambanan, Borobudur and Dieng Plateau) were wonderful and the fact that the place provides walking access to Taman Sari and Malioboro Street is a great bonus for our budget. The place is around 30 minutes taxi ride from the train station and airport, considering traffic.

One of the owners of the place was also the one who drove us to Borobudur and Dieng Plateau and he was very friendly and accommodating. Upon request, he took us to a cheap eatery run by a local where food was delicious and gave the best value for our money. Although not part of the tour package we booked, he helped us buy souvenirs after we got back from Dieng Plateau by taking us to a local grocery store where we got local-priced Indonesian tea and coffee. He is also very knowledgeable about Yogyakarta in general and through our conversations with him, we got to learn about and appreciate more the city.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay in Venezia homestay and are grateful to all the people there who pampered us. We highly recommend this place to backpackers and flashpackers out there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dannea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

The guesthouse is conveniently situated, clean and easy going. Nothing to go wild about but it does the job well and we didn't need more. I'd stay there again were I to go back to Yogyakarta. The pool was very welcome after being out and about all day.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

I used my CB to pay this hotel. The machine seems to have an issue so they asked me to pay by cash.
Later I discovered that my CB was charged twice and they keep telling me that they called their bank to solve this issue... it was 4 month ago and still no reimbursement and no answers to my e-mails...

The room was very small but clean and the location great, they just are dishonest....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank EstUS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed in Venezia Garden for two nights on Oct 16-17. Stayed in the dorm for 8 people. Venezia is in a quiet residential street but near the good places to eat. The place has a small pool and a mini-garden in front. I like the common areas of Venezia where you get to meet and chat with a lot of people. The dorm is basic with the aircon not being able to cool the entire room efficiently. When we got there, there is Eid Al Adha festivities and we were able to eat dinner for free. The staff especially Terno? and James are very helpful and good at their job. They offer a lot of tours to nearby areas, we availed of the tour to Borobudur for 120,000/person which already includes breakfast of toast and transport to the hill to see the sunrise and transport to the Borobudur temple itself. The fee does not yet include the entrance to the temple. Although I think they should provide more time for people to explore Borobudur, more than two hours.

Room Tip: Is staying in the dorm, choose the beds closer to the aircon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nikki Lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.3 mi away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#53 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rengganis
Hotel Rengganis
#55 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Wakeup Homestay
Wakeup Homestay
#10 of 200 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
2.0 mi away
BHUMI Hostel
BHUMI Hostel
#5 of 200 in Yogyakarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adhisthana Hotel Yogyakarta
Adhisthana Hotel Yogyakarta
#4 of 457 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venezia Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venezia Garden

Property: Venezia Garden
Address: Jl. Surami No. 55, Yogyakarta 55143, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 200 Specialty Lodging in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Venezia Garden 1.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Venezia Garden opens its doors to any travelers who want to stay in Yogyakarta. Swimming pool, private bungalow or dormitory, here are the rooms that you can get there. Green atmosphere, quiet location, swimming pool should offer you the very best of accommodation in order to visit this vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Venezia Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing