We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service with average facilities”
Review of Venezia Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Venezia Garden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

The first impression of this place is that it feels like home with the beautiful garden view.

The staff were very very friendly and helpful. Having any prob with your room or transport or tour,they r here to help u.

The private dorm is just right for a couple wit the price u pay. The shower is great too,as the shower system is the big head type to ensure u hv a proper shower. The bed is also comfortable n they even provide bolsters =]..The one disadvantage of the room is the aircon,its not cold enuf even u leave it on the whole day. This is bad if u r facin a hot day.

Breakfast is also provided with selection of noodles, english toast n pancakes.Not Bad!! Free coffee n tea is always available at the pantry too.

Location wise is not too bad. Just need to do some walkin to the nearest eatery. But if one would stay at Ministry of Coffee that area than it wud be muchconvenient i wud say...

Overall not too bad experience here that i wud recomend to others..

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stanleyipkiss86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 232 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

Venezia Homestay and Garden is the best choice for backpackers. I went there by myself and met a lot of friendly and really nice people from different countries. The price is more than good for everything they can offer to you: breakfast, airconditioner, hot water (when is possible, but you don't really care about it with the hot yogya's weather) and swimming pool. It's also a quite place and they have a lot of good packages (with good prices) to go to places around - even Bromo, Ijen and Bali.
But for me, the most important things, was that the owners were really helpful, friendly and honest.

I'd like find more places like venezia in others cities.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lenzibleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

At the first glance of this hostel, I decided to choose it staying in Yojakarta. The result was owonderful. The unique problem was it was too busy to book the dormitory. But finally, the host helped me. It is also easy to arrange our trip to Borobudor and Prabaman by the hostel. I hope I can stay there next time.

Room Tip: I only stay in dormitory.It's clean with hot water shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chenye1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed here twice. The first time in the dorm for 6 days and the second time in a private room for 2 days. Both rooms are nice, clean and the staff is very friendly. There's no negative aspect about this hostel. What I liked that it was like a 5 min walk from Jalan Prawiromatan. Prawiromatan is very cool with all the restaurants and hostels to offer, but also very busy. The hole day. So there's a lot of noise. The pool was nice, maybe a little bit small. Anyway, this hostel is small, but charming and there's is a nice vibe hanging around. I liked it!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amigoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Yogyakarta was a nice surprise. I really liked the city and enjoyed the hostel even more. LP tells you to stay in Prawirodirjin for budget hotels but that place was filled with overpriced budget hotels (that were average at best). I moved here on my 2nd night and stayed for the remainder of my time. It's a bit further away from the action but well worth it. The staff are great and will do their best to help you with any trip questions. There was one guy from the other Venezia hostel that was very good (I forget his name). They are owned by the same people so you can just pop over there to ask them if you want.

Other pros include clean beds, air con, excellent shower, access to a pool (I didn't swim), and good lounge area. Wifi is also great. I did both temples but can't really recommend the sunrise if you're in the rainy season (very hit and miss).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clamchowder16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Venezia Garden is close to all the restaurants and hotels on Prawirotaman without being on the busy main strip. The room had AC and a beautiful attached bathroom. It was small but perfectly adequate for a solo traveler or a couple. I didn't use the pool but it looked nice. It was a great place to stay as a solo traveler. I met many others traveling alone and also felt very safe in that area as a single female traveler even at night. I had already seen the local tourist spots on previous trips but others in this hotel said that the tours were very good value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I spent a few nights in Venezia Garden, it is absolutely charming. The place is beautiful and it's perfect for budget travelers with possibility to stay in the dorm.
The fact that there is a swimming pool is so cool to fresh up, mostly when you wanna have a lazy day and it's stinking hot out there !
Hot shower as well, and very good one. The little chilling space of the garden is perfect to have nice chats and a few drinks with the new friends I made over there.
Charming and peaceful, it's nice to get off the busy and noisy streets, and still you're close by the nice spots, reachable by walking, scooter or becak !

Definitely recommended !

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FkomKefran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.3 mi away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#65 of 212 in Yogyakarta
235 reviews
2.9 mi away
Tickle Hotel
Tickle Hotel
#126 of 212 in Yogyakarta
102 reviews
2.7 mi away
Asana Grove Hotel Yogyakarta
Asana Grove Hotel Yogyakarta
#53 of 212 in Yogyakarta
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Grand Tjokro Yogyakarta
2 mi away
Wakeup Homestay
Wakeup Homestay
#9 of 296 in Yogyakarta
111 reviews
2 mi away
BHUMI Hostel
BHUMI Hostel
#1 of 296 in Yogyakarta
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venezia Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venezia Garden

Address: Jl. Surami No. 55, Yogyakarta 55143, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 296 Specialty Lodging in Yogyakarta
Price Range: $15 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Venezia Garden 1.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Venezia Garden opens its doors to any travelers who want to stay in Yogyakarta. Swimming pool, private bungalow or dormitory, here are the rooms that you can get there. Green atmosphere, quiet location, swimming pool should offer you the very best of accommodation in order to visit this vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and Ctrip TA so you can book your Venezia Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing