We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overrated”
Review of Mi Casa Es Tu Casa

Mi Casa Es Tu Casa
Ranked #194 of 1,201 Restaurants in Yogyakarta
Price range: $3 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: MI CASA ES TU CASA is a restaurant located in the beautiful city of Yokyakarta, Indonesia, a city with plenty to see and plenty to learn. Whenever you are ready to kick back and relax, we invite you to come and have a nice home made meal in a quiet ambience, good music and friendly hosts.We serve all kinds of food, from indonesian Sate Ayam to spanish Gazpacho, all made with love and caring!
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“overrated”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We don't quite understand all the positive ratings, especially from Lonely Planet. It will get full, but mainly with folks with the Lonely Planet guide at hand (like us). Paella was poor, as was the beef and risotto. There many better places to go..

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoP1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    58
    37
    22
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mindanao, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Great package, ok restaurant”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

This an ok restaurant in a GREAT location (directly accross from 1001 Malams), and a super manager/owner who can arrange tours of Jogja andall the way to Bali (if oyu have the stamina for a mini van). This restaurant also has specials - peala and two kinds of snake (python, cobra) freshly caught in the rice fields. Surprisingly good. If you are in this area, I'd recommend giving it a try.

Oh, almost forgot, GREAT place to meet other travelers to chat and exchange information.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Cold food long waiting”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

The ambiance is great! But the food just took too long and the sateh (chicken) was cold... My dish came when my friend finished his dish and after that we got the starter. My dish (a vegetarian curry) was ok, spicy and still warm :-) and a good price.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank IkMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food, very slow service!”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Went to mi casa es tu casa for dinner. Had to wait a couple of minutes before we were seated which is a good sign, in terms of popularity of the place.

When seated, we had to write down our order and wait. I don't mind to wait long for my food, especially when I'm on holiday but this took way too long. After 1.5 hour the food finally arrived at our table which tasted good by the way.

Conclusion: if you don't mind to wait over an hour for dinner, go here. If you're in hurry, avoid this place.

Helpful?
Thank Wesley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Tasty food, friendly staff, clean bathrooms, good prices and choices. Good location near Malioboro, and always playing nice music!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Family1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi Casa Es Tu Casa also viewed

 

Been to Mi Casa Es Tu Casa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing