We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel New Saphir Yogyakarta
Ranked #85 of 202 Hotels in Yogyakarta
surabaya
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Hotel Value for Money”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I got special rate on 21-22 December. Great room a little bit smelly at first but the do it well and response quick on our complain.

Nice swimming pool but we don't have time to swim, it is rain when we come.

Great taste and choices of breakfast. Do try Gudeg ( the serve it in breakfast)

Room Tip: please choose rooms opposite the main street to have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSM-Saphir, Director of Sales at Hotel New Saphir Yogyakarta, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your comment
It is great to know you enjoy your stay in New Saphir Hotel Yogyakarta
We apologize for any inconvenience experience you had during your stay and we ensure that it wont occur again the future

Regret to hear that you can't enjoy the swimming pool because of rainy and hopefully you can enjoy it during your next visit.

For breakfast, we have a lot of variety and completed with Traditional Yogyakarta menu "Gudeg" and others menu served during breakfast time

Once again, Thank you for your comment, we are looking forward welcoming you back to New Saphir Hotel Yogyakarta

Sincerely yours,

Erny Kusmastuti
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    79
    54
    13
    6
See reviews for
54
22
12
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is my second time returning to this hotel. Loved the location.Room is clean, cosy and comfortable.Good spread for breakfast- a lot of choices of fruits and traditional food.

Loved the free internet availability in the room and all public area. it was nice and good facilities.

Check in was a breeze. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Security at the hotel is good. Taxis easily available just outside the hotel.

Room was old design but, comfortable and clean. Another comment is, they give me best rate to stay in best locations in city center of Yogyakarta city with the best rate for 4 stars hotel.

Only 15 minutes by becak going to Malioboro and also 5 minutes by becak to the biggest shopping mall in thies city called Ambarukmo plaza. and huge swimming pool , my kids enjoy very much.

For sure i will be back to stay next trip to Yogyakarta ... good rate and good location

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank banny_geo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSM-Saphir, Director of Sales at Hotel New Saphir Yogyakarta, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your comment
It is great to know you enjoy your stay in New Saphir Hotel Yogyakarta
We are consistently maintain our excellent service to all our guests through the facilities & staff by doing partially renovation & regularly training to all staffs

Close to tourist attraction such as Malioboro, Museum Afandi, Plaza Ambarukmo, Traditional market, Prambanan temple etc and can reach by Becak, Taxi and Trans Jogja (Public Transportation) .

Once again, Thank you for your comment, we are looking forward welcoming you back to New Saphir Hotel Yogyakarta

Sincerely yours,

Erny Kusmastuti
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
151 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I will start by saying our stay was at the end of the Indonesian School Holidays when Yogya is very busy, and this was one of the few available hotels.
That said, it compared poorly to other properties I've used in the past, and to make it wore was at a vrey higher price due to the season.

The lobby is large, and looks like it was quite nice when new- 20 years ago. The tooms are adequate, and good sized, and I will say kept clean.
Breakfast was ok, but nothing that made me want to eat other meals in house.

The location was good, and as mentioned in other posts you could reach the bigger malls or Malioboro Street with a fairly short cab ride. The street in front is the main road from the airport and therfore busy. The security guards were great about watching and offering to help any guests crossing to the convenience store on the other side.
Conclusion is Average and not a place I will probably use on my return if others are available.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSM-Saphir, Director of Sales at Hotel New Saphir Yogyakarta, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.
We apologize for any inconvenience experience you had during your stay. Yes indeed on that period we were busy with school holiday season and now we are doing improvement through renovation to all hotel facilities.

We also improve our service through excellent staff and other benefit such as shuttle service to Malioboro on request.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to New Saphir Hotel Yogyakarta
Sincerely yours,

Erny Kusmastuti
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2012

i like stay in saphir because a comfort place, strategic place between the town and airport,for weekend I have special price and I thought that it's cheaper than other hotel especially weekend.and the warm greeting from the staff made me comfort when I lived in that hotel for 2 days..

Room Tip: room with balcony is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lala s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSM-Saphir, Director of Sales at Hotel New Saphir Yogyakarta, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your comment
It is great to know you enjoy your stay in New Saphir Hotel Yogyakarta
New Saphir Hotel is a Four star Hotel that provide a good accommodation for business and leisure traveler, with facilities: Meeting room, Ballroom, Fitness center, outdoor swimming pool include kids pool, lounge, free shuttle service to malioboro on request & free wi-fi in room & public area

Located at center of Yogyakarta as one of famous tourism spot with a lot of interesting places, such as Keraton Yogya (King palace), Prambanan & Borobudur temples, Merapi volcano, Parang Tritis beach and famous batik area in Malioboro.

Once again, Thank you for your comment, we are looking forward welcoming you back to New Saphir Hotel Yogyakarta

Sincerely yours,

Erny Kusmastuti
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had the opportunity to stay at saphir hotel yogyakarta in Mid of October 2012, im stay with my family 2 kids following my husband meeting. Room was comfortable, breakfast was okay with many choices and staff very friendly. It has to be one of the most fascinating property and strategic locations in town only 10 minutes by BECAK to Malioboro. Im very happy stay here and i will be back very soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heni I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSM-Saphir, Director of Sales at Hotel New Saphir Yogyakarta, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your comment
It is great to know you enjoy your stay in New Saphir Hotel Yogyakarta
We provide free shuttle service to Malioboro on request and you can try experience with Becak or Public Transport "TRANS JOGJA" to Malioboro & other famous tourist attractions

Once again, Thank you for your comment, we are looking forward welcoming you back to New Saphir Hotel Yogyakarta

Sincerely yours,

Erny Kusmastuti
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semarang, Jawa Tengah, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

suitable for a weekend with the family because of the cheap price, good food is varied, to a mall nearby, quiet atmosphere and comfortable to rest. With pool that is good enough and close places marioboro.

Room Tip: family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jonbobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Jawa Barat, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I like this hotel because I can feel the warm greeting from their staffs and also the atmosphere of Java culture that I can feel when we first in to the Lobby and also the instrument of Java especially the Gamelan. I really love the foods especially the Buffet menu. You should try " mie ayam" when you have breakfast at Saphir Hotel. I like the room that have pool view, so when in the morning I wake up the sunlight come in to my room when I open the curtain.

Room Tip: Choose the room with pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Toonzrooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
2.2 mi away
Grand Quality (GQ) Yogyakarta
Grand Quality (GQ) Yogyakarta
#68 of 202 in Yogyakarta
184 reviews
1.5 mi away
Merapi Merbabu Hotel
Merapi Merbabu Hotel
#11 of 20 in Depok
131 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crystal Lotus Hotel
Crystal Lotus Hotel
#8 of 19 in Sleman
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Jayakarta Yogyakarta Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
The Sahid Rich Jogja Hotel
0.4 mi away
Jogjakarta Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New Saphir Yogyakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Saphir Yogyakarta

Property: Hotel New Saphir Yogyakarta
Address: Jl. Laksda Adisucipto no. 38, Yogyakarta 55221, Indonesia (Formerly Hotel Saphir Yogyakarta)
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 202 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel New Saphir Yogyakarta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a conveniently central location in the city center and business district , Hotel New Saphir Yogyakarta is the most comfortable hotel in this exciting city.Hotel New Saphir Yogyakarta is a great place to conduct business, catch up with friends and family, or just relax. Next to the city's most famous shopping center, Ambarrukmo Plaza, our hotel offers a comfortable and an unforgettable experience. Warm , friendly service awaits you from the moment you step through the front door until the last stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel New Saphir Yogyakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing