We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little better than average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Ranked #2 of 200 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level Contributor
139 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“a little better than average”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I wish there was a rating category of 'good,' 3.5 stars, because three is too few but four is too many. The people at the front desk were very warm and friendly and we always enjoyed interacting with them, at all hours of the day. The grounds were lovely, the pool inviting, the landscaping was beautiful, and the room was average.

There were cobwebs in the corners of our room and it seemed a little tired; we had a room on the second floor facing the field behind, and our room had a small porch overlooking the pool. There was never too much noise from the pool, though perhaps the hotel wasn't full when we were there. But it was fine, cool enough AC, quiet enough (we were prepared for the morning call to prayers by the sweet girl at the front desk, who gave us earplugs), clean enough bathroom. Nothing really fancy, but just fine.

We only ate breakfast at the hotel and it was more of the same: fine enough, nothing special, but fine enough. The first morning I got the nasi goreng, and the remaining mornings I ate fruit and an omelette. It was fine.

We stayed a couple of nights and then drove to Solo where we'd planned to stay two nights, and then return to this hotel. They kept our luggage for us so we didn't have to haul it along. We were so unhappy with our hotel in Solo we decided to come back a day early, and the staff found us a room, even though they weren't expecting us until the following day.

All in all, we were left with a warm feeling about this little hotel. It's within walking distance from a range of restaurants, from low-key to fancy, and the staff were so kind. If we return to Yogyakarta, we would certainly consider staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc_Lori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusunjvi, Manager at Dusun Jogja Village Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We are truly grateful for your feedback. Review such as yours are critical to the continued improvement of our service offered here at Dusun Jogja Village Inn. We noticed some points that we should address and hopefully we would be able to present you a better service and experience on your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    160
    19
    5
    1
See reviews for
128
285
38
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

What a great place: nice authentic rooms with an outdoors bathroom (with bathtub). Great pool, great surroundings, nice staff. It is quite close to the prawirotan street with other restaurants and touring companies. Also Milas is around the corner. Very good value for money. Would stay here again without a doubt!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kruimel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusunjvi, Manager at Dusun Jogja Village Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Highly appreciate your lovely review. Any suggestion would be great input for us to continue and improve an excellent service to all of our guest. We are happily looking forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, CZ
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Wonderful little oasis from the busy noisy streets.
Decorated with taste, fantastic large pool, and friendly helpful staff: All you need to feel good and enjoy this quiet base to discover the area.
Walking distance from Prawirotaman where you´ll find restaurants, spas, and travel agencies.

Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick-Prague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusunjvi, Manager at Dusun Jogja Village Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Very thankful for your kind words and for recommending Dusun Jogja Village Inn. Hope we can present you a memorable stay that you would like experience again. We are always welcome your return here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Yogyakarta is intense, dense, loud, odorous. Dusun Village Inn is the exact opposite. Quiet, peaceful, and idyllic, it is a welcome respite from the hustle, bustle, and grit of Yogya. We loved our deluxe room overlooking the pool and lush courtyard garden. The service was excellent: personal, warm, and thoughtful. They prepared us a breakfast box to take on our early morning flight, arranged for very early airport transport at a fair price, and welcomed us with the most refreshing ginger tea. It's the intangibles of great service that elevate this place from a decent hotel to a really memorable place to stay. The restaurant is tasty--homemade Nutella and made to order omelettes--and it's also walking distance to some great restaurants. Great place to stay while visiting Prambanan and Borobudur, and also nice to lounge by the pool with a fresh juice. Really good value for money too. Highly recommend!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusunjvi, Manager at Dusun Jogja Village Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
May we extend our thanks to you for your kind words. We are all pleased to know that your stay here at Dusun Jogja Village Inn can be memorable. Also thank you for recommending us. And we look forward to welcome you on your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

It is a the perfect place to recover after a tiring 24 hours plane trip or after a 12 hours indo road trip... imagine that this hotel is along a busy street, next to a big grocery store chain and close to a recycling business.... doesn't sound great... However get through the entrance, you will be welcome warmly... continue.. you will cross a little pound with fishes and get through a kind of gate made with green plants.... continue you can see a great clean salt water pool surrounded by a tropical garden, trees, small waterfall... you can hear birds.... you will forget the noise, the dust... you will feel homey straight away. It is an oasis! It is not the standard tourist hotel, it is different without any luxury.
Try to get the Deluxe Room, upstairs with balcony. Not much more money than standard rooms but big difference in style. In the back are farming fields, it is quite and you feel not in the middle of big busy city.
The rooms and all the hotel are well furnish and decorated. It is a great romantic place... you can spend your time between the restaurant, the room, the massage place, the swimming pool, do your yoga, use wifi, watch movies... and not going out without feeling bored....
The restaurant is a nice traditional javanese joglo. you will be able to get great breakfast/brunch buffet.
Last think, they try to be as green as possible... pool without chlorine, no use of plastic straw at the restaurant, no plastic water bottle (pity they still use plastic to seal the bottles cap) etc.. help them to be greener by avoiding to ask for plastic things and don't use AC. They have big fan and with the garden, the pool, the fresh air coming from outside. no need to use a lot of the AC.
Terimakasih baniak again for the great time there

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bafreux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusunjvi, Manager at Dusun Jogja Village Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
It was always a pleasure when we can present you a relax, distinctive, and unique experience of stay in Dusun Jogja Village Inn. We thank you for taking your time writing this positive review. We will always strive to maintain and improve our services and quality. Wish for your next stay with us in another time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
Level Contributor
220 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

When you walk in from the street, the foyer opens up to a beautiful, tranquil, tropical oasis by the pool.
I cant say enough about this little treasure.
We stayed for 4 days before travelling to Surabaya, and then decided to stay for another 4 days on the way back. The hotel were happy to keep our large bags for the 2 days we were away, and gave us our old room on our return.
We stayed in the Junior suite. Its spacious, clean, and so comfortable. The outdoor bathroom area was huge and very private. There was also a small waterfall and pond outside our sliding bedroom doors.
Our special thanks go to the staff though. From the moment we arrived to the time we left and then left again, they were attentive and friendly without being intrusive.
Dhohri is always so 'happy happy happy' and is a great source of information about the local area, and will recommend some lovely places to eat, and newly married Evi is just adorable in the restaurant.
This is a fabulous example of an owner and staff who take great pride in what they do, and are always wanting to expand on what they do to keep their visitors happy.
The restaurant has the best Nasi Goreng I have ever eaten, and try and stay away from the Satay Ayam.... it is divine!!!!
We would happily travel back to Yogya just to stay here again.
Many thanks to you all.. We miss the place already :-)

Room Tip: Room 101 is lovely!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharlsG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusunjvi, Manager at Dusun Jogja Village Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Warmest thanks for your lovely feedback. It was a pleasure for us to be able to share wonderful moments with you in our humbly abode. We would always be happy to welcome your return in
Dusun Jogja Village Inn as you have become our own extended family. Until then...take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Perfect place to stay!! Nice room, clean and lots of space. The pool was great too.
Never experienced the kindness and attention of personel as in this hotel. Super!!
All kinds of restaurants within walking distance. But you should try to have dinner at the hotel too. The food is very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanPierre158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusunjvi, Manager at Dusun Jogja Village Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We are more than happy that our services can meet your satisfaction. Truly honored for your positive feedback and we invite you for another pleasant stay in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
5.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
2.9 mi away
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
5.6 mi away
Alamanda Villa
Alamanda Villa
#1 of 19 in Sleman
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Eastparc Hotel
Eastparc Hotel
#1 of 20 in Depok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#4 of 200 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
#10 of 200 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusun Jogja Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusun Jogja Village Inn

Property: Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Address: Jln. Menukan 5 | Karangkajen, Yogyakarta 55153, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
#2 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dusun Jogja Village Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusun Jogja Village Inn is the pioneering boutique hotel in Yogyakarta, an intimate hideout inside the pulsing cultural capital of central Java. With a friendly environment, the 24 boutique hotel's rooms in various types are designed in such naturally tranquil compound, adopting the concept of Javanese 'dusun' (or village). The whole complex exudes such an intimate space for you to relax after enjoying Yogyakarta and its eclectic historical and cultural heritage surrounding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dusun Jogja Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusun Jogja Village Hotel Yogyakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing