We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Relaxing and Well Run” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dusun Jogja Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Ranked #2 of 193 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very Relaxing and Well Run”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

My Wife, Son and I recently stayed for two noghts, this resort definalty deserves the high rating on Trip Advisor. We found the rooms to be great, the restaruant very nice and the whole place to be very relaxing. They organised a tour direct from the airport on our arrival and again for the following day, both drivers spoke good English and were a lot of help during the days activities.
We expected some noise from the morning paryers from previous comments but found it to be very quiet and did not distrub us at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusunjvi, Manager at Dusun Jogja Village Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Warmest thanks for your kind feedback. We are delighted to learn that you enjoy the experiences and services we offer here at Dusun Jogja Village Inn. As you know there is always way to improve quality of service and any suggestions you may have would be greatly appreciated. Looking forward to have you again with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    155
    19
    5
    1
See reviews for
123
275
36
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We booked a deluxe room on the top floor. What a treat! The room was stylish with a seperate bathroom, a lovely balcony with a lounge sofa. We travelled 2 weeks in Sumatra and arriving in this oasis in the midst of the busy hot city was a relief. The staff is fantastic, especially Dhohri and Yuyus from the restaurant and bar we're very helpfull, friendly and always in a cheerfull mood!
A 'must do'is to book a massage: delightful. Thre are (fake ..but who cares.. its very relaxing) birdsounds around the pool and plenty of beds with big towels to have a dive, snooze or just read.
For all the practical people: there's a supermarket practically next to the hotel whit an ATM inside the supermarket. In the area are a lot of small nice local restaurants and also a Via Via restauarant with a lovely local shop next to it with locally made products.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biebieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusunjvi, Manager at Dusun Jogja Village Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We are much obliged for your comment. It is always great to know that we can commit a good service to you and that you had a nice experience during your stay with us. We cannot wait to welcome you and family again in Dusun Jogja Village Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

i first stayed in this hotel some 15/16 years ago and loved its charm. this time around, as a layover from a bali-jakarta overland drive, i just had to come back to this hotel. it has been renovated of course but the theme of the hotel was thoroughly maintained. a traditional joglo was added as the restaurant. it is serene and stunning at the same time. the rooms are beautifully decorated with quaint and coordinated floor tiles, ochre colored walls, four poster beds and traditional wooden doors and chairs. the entire complex is designed to look inwards and remove you from the bustle outside. location couldn't have been better. not too close to the malioboro strip and just one turning onto parangtritis road which leads to the southern ring road just over a km away and the parangtritis beach on the indian ocean about 25km south of the city. it is also about 5 km away from the famous kasongan village which no lover of traditional ceramics should miss. this is arguably the source of javanese ceramics, both the glazed and unglazed kind, which you will find in arts and crafts shops in the main cities all over java and bali, and not a few "galleries" in europe as well.

Travel tip: The "Lesehan" stalls along the Malioboro strip is a must do for first time visitors to Yogya. Almost all of them serve Gudeg which is a specialty dish of Yogya. Its a sort of chicken and young jackfruit stew cooked with spices and palm sugar. Many stalls don't include chicken in the stew but give you a piece of fried chicken instead. Lesehan is a style of eating at low tables where you sit on the floor. Its quite communal since you will most likely be sharing the same long table with other patrons.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kampungtungku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusunjvi, Manager at Dusun Jogja Village Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
May we extend many thanks for your kind words on your return visit. We are always committed to providing you with the best services and memorable experiences in Dusun Jogja Village Inn. We are happy that you still can find that on your recent stay with us. You are always welcomed as our extended family in DUSUN, look forward to your return stay..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed in the Dusun Jogja for a week after a business trip. It was the best decision I could have made! It really is an oasis in the city. The hotel is hidden from the road and when you enter is lush and green and very calming. The pool area is beautiful and it was great to come back after the hustle and bustle of the city to chill in the pool which was really refreshing. The rooms were old colonial style and very clean as was the rest of the hotel. The food was amazing and we ate in the restaurant a lot as it was so good. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend the spa treatments. Great value for money and so relaxing. Would definitely go again and recommend to others. The only downside is that the hotel is situated in the middle of 3 mosques which have the usual call to prayer 5 times a day so don't forget earplugs for early morning prayer!

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsRuddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusunjvi, Manager at Dusun Jogja Village Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Your kind reviews are greatly appreciated. It was a pleasure to have you with us to experience different atmosphere of Jogjakarta as you can find in Dusun Jogja Village Inn. We hope we can be of service to you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Dusun Jogja as part of our honeymoon and the hotel was just perfect. From the staff in the front the desk, to the ladies who carefully massage every inch of our body. They even helped us with our traveling days accommodating a private car to Kertosono when we couldn't get train tickets on the day we where planning to leave.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jfgalavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusunjvi, Manager at Dusun Jogja Village Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We are truly greatful for your nice reviews. We are all in Dusun Jogja Village Inn pleased to be able to contribute some wonderful experiences for your honeymoon. Hope it can be a fond memory to you and wife and we do hope for your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed here for just one night and wished that we could have stayed for more.

Others have called the Dusun an oasis and it's an accurate description. It is calm and quiet with attentive, friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mobileokapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusunjvi, Manager at Dusun Jogja Village Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We extend our thanks to your positive feedback. We do hope that we can be at your service for your longer stay with us. Any suggestion would be greatly appreciated to improve our services and quality for your return in Dusun Jogja Village Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Wow, this hotel is a rare gem in the middle of the city. From the outside it looks ordinary; it's when you walk inside you get a very pleasant surprise. The atmosphere, food, staff, rooms you could not fault a thing - after a day of sightseeing this place is the place to be as you lay around the pool sipping the odd cocktail or two. The staff are superb and nothing is ever too much trouble and the food is brilliant. A good selection of both Indonesian and Western style foods and the quality is excellent.

If you want a little something more than the usual 'cookie-cutter' style hotel, then this is the place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusunjvi, Manager at Dusun Jogja Village Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We are very thankful for your wonderful reviews of Dusun Jogja Village Inn. We are honored for having the chance to give fulfilling service to you and pleasant experience while staying with us. We invite you for another enchanting moments in DUSUN on your next visit to Jogjakarta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
5.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
5.5 mi away
Alamanda Villa
Alamanda Villa
#1 of 18 in Sleman
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Eastparc Hotel
Eastparc Hotel
#1 of 20 in Depok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#4 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
#9 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusun Jogja Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusun Jogja Village Inn

Property: Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Address: Jl. Menukan 5 | Karangkajen, Yogyakarta 55153, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
#1 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
#2 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dusun Jogja Village Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusun Jogja Village Inn is the pioneering boutique hotel in Yogyakarta, an intimate hideout inside the pulsing cultural capital of central Java. With a friendly environment, the 24 boutique hotel's rooms in various types are designed in such naturally tranquil compound, adopting the concept of Javanese 'dusun' (or village). The whole complex exudes such an intimate space for you to relax after enjoying Yogyakarta and its eclectic historical and cultural heritage surrounding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Dusun Jogja Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusun Jogja Village Hotel Yogyakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing