We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location for Malioboro”
Review of Melia Purosani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Purosani
Ranked #16 of 212 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2010

I have stayed at the Melia 3 times previously. I have also stayed at Grand Hyatt and the Novotel.

The Melia isn't the flashest hotel but it wins for location on Malioboro in the heart of Yogya. You can walk to the shopping street and other attractions without needing to negotiate taxi's or other forms of transport.

The hotel is quite old but is large, has a great internal garden pool area and a couple of restaurants and bar. The Chinese restaurant is pretty good and the buffet/al-a-carte is OK reasonable meals nothing flash but perfectly acceptable.

Rooms are a bit old and showing cigarette burns and stains but clean.

If you want a reasonably priced hotel in good location for heart of town take this hotel. I still use it to show visitors Yogyakarta.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

639 - 645 of 1,400 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2010

You can feel right away that you are in for a treat. The beautiful lobby with grand piano. Beautiful landscape, very clean room, polite and no-nonsense services. Walkable to the night market.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

The Melia is a great hotel. The room I had was of a good size with a kingsize bed. I don't think it was one of the recently renovated ones but it was still very adequate. Also it came complete with a nice city view and as this was my first time in Jogja it gave me a real feel for the place, watching the world go by. The Melia is well located and you can get to Malioboro and the Kraton very easily.

The hotel pool is a real winner. It is a lagoon style outdoor pool and as you relax in the water it is easy to imagine you are miles from anywhere and not in the middle of a large city. There is also a spa, sauna and fitness centre available but I never saw the inside of any of them.

Breakfast is superb. Huge choice to delight both Asian and Western diners and absolutely delicious. I also visited the Ching San Chinese Restaurant in the hotel for dinner. It too did not disappoint. It was really good. Great food and outstanding service.

The pool and culinary options alone make this hotel worth a visit. Add to that the quality of the rooms and the quality of the staff and it is a real winner.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank speedy15_2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

Didn't expect such a roomy room for the price paid. The housekeeping and reception service were excellent. Staff was friendly & helpful in assisting the guests regardless of early in the morning, 4am departure or at night.

I had to leave early in the morning 4am for a flight back and the hotel is very kind to prepare breakfast box for take-away. They also helped to call for taxi service and morning call so that I'll not be late for my flight.

I left something behind and only realized it when I was back home. I sent an e-mail to request them to help to send back the item to me and it was arranged timely. Thank you Melia for the great service especially to the housekeeping.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKid_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel while on a Java overland trip. We always travel and book accommodations privately: no agencies, no group travelling. Ours was a Club room, well
furnished, comfortable and large with a nice bathroom. After the first night we asked to change the room because it overlooked the nearby mosque and we were awakened by the early morning prayers at abt 4 o'clock.So beware of this. Breakfast food was mainly asian with not so much stuff appealing to european taste , besides the fact that what did appeal to european taste was not either fresh (croissants/pastries) or abundant. The staff was very kind and helpful but not very professional or quick witted.The reason why we preferred to stay at this hotel was because of its fantastic location: right in the heart of town, not far the station and the shopping venues. Last time we were in Joja we stayed at the Hyatt but it was not at all comparable to the Melia because far from town and from everything else: in fact you had to take a taxi to go anywhere, they did provide a shuttle... but just one way... no return trip!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tipitina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Our standard room was the size of a suite and the bed was comfortable and spacious. The bathroom was nice but in need of an upgrade. This seems to be a common problem in Indonesia. Its location is very convenient being close to the main strip, Malioboro, and reasonably close to the airport and very close to the train station. The staff was wonderful, another common feature in Indonesia (they sure smile a lot) and the breakfast buffet was really good. All in all a great value and a great location. I'm sure you will enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gospeedracer888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

stayed twice at Melia Purosani. first, during the first year of it's grand opening. splendid service, very responsive staff, good breakfast, very beautiful pool and architecture. room was nice, brand new.

second stay, after more than couple of years (due to high season so i didn't get any room at my favorite hotel) finally decided to chose Melia again. booked by phone, couldn't get suite cause it's fully booked so ended up in deluxe room facing the pool. bad choices. on 3rd floor, still on maintenance so constructions are everywhere, even the floor and windows. room was not what we expected, furniture was out dated, bathroom even worse. so old already and the shower was slow for hot water. bed was so/so and it was not comfortable at all. mattress very hard and could not sleep all night. disturbed with the construction worker again and not even sound proof. check in process was also unbelievable. took me around 40 mins even though arrrived at 3pm. what a waste of time. breakfast was not good at all. coffee was bland, almost like instant coffee. pastries were so/so. pool was still good but not well maintained.

they charged me with high price(high season ofcourse) even for deluxe room. won't return to this hotel ever despite the easy access and everything.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingmadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
1 mi away
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
1.3 mi away
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
#8 of 212 in Yogyakarta
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#4 of 212 in Yogyakarta
1,031 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
#29 of 212 in Yogyakarta
1,015 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
#11 of 212 in Yogyakarta
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Purosani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Purosani

Address: Jl. Suryotomo 31, Yogyakarta 55122, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
#8 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
#11 Luxury Hotel in Yogyakarta
#11 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
#12 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range: $76 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Purosani 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Purosani Hotel, a newly refurbished urban resort located in the heart of Yogyakarta, alongside the Jalan Malioboro shopping centre. 1 km. from the Sultan's Palace. 17 kms. from the temple of Prambanan. 27 kms. from the Parangtritis Beach and 42 kms. from the temple of Borobudur, one of the Seven Wonders of the World. Explore the diversity of Yogyakarta. Indulge in the city’s colourful culture, cuisine experience, rich heritage and magnificent nature wherever you go. Filled with immense Javanese charm, the Meliá Purosani is a five-star hotel with an urban-resort concept that is located right at the heart of the city, allowing you to experience Yogyakarta like never before. Make yourself at home in one of our generously sized and newly renovated rooms and suites, designed to offer comfort and grandeur with gorgeous views of the lush tropical garden or view of Yogyakarta city with the majestic Merapi mountain as the background. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Purosani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Purosani Hotel Yogyakarta
Melia Hotel Yogyakarta
Melia Hotel Purosani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing