We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,623)
Filter reviews
1,623 results
Traveler rating
675
689
175
57
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
675
689
175
57
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews malioboro street chinese restaurant premium room star hotel swimming pool walking distance nice hotel central location an oasis wonderful stay sultan palace breakfast buffet nice pool welcome drink spacious room local food ching
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 1,623 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2018

Well, I book this hotel for my parents since they wanna travel to Yogyakarta. Choose this hotel because it's nearby Malioboro. Problem occurs:- Hard for them to charge me directly through my credit card even though I already contact them via phone (I did it since I'm abroad and I don't wanna charge it to my parents)- After they pay in checkin IDR 1700k complete payment, they charge again on checkout another IDR200k without any info when we check in. they said it's for the room service etc.Well, if you guys don't bother about surprise charge, you can choose this hotel, since it's quite good hotel for the hotels nearby Malioboro

Room Tip: Clean, that's all
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
Thank galihelkom2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliapurosani1, Manajer Hubungan Tamu at Melia Purosani, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2018

"Warmest greeting from Melia Purosani Hotel Yogyakarta"

Dear Mr. Galih,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and for your time to convey your concern with us.

Our glad to hear that you liked our perfect location which strategically situated in the city center of Yogyakarta.

Related to the payment during the check out time that we already mentioned as well in your email, it was additional breakfast for 1 person IDR 140.000 and the rest was the total room charge that should be deducted upon your check in time, because of the different rate on the second day then we charged on your check out time. Please allow us to express our sincere apology for the inconvenience.

Thank you again for your constructive feedback and we appreciate your sharing your concerns. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Sulis
Guest Experience Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2018 via mobile

They did not tell us when we reserved they were going to host a LOUD party by the pool with strobe lights and blaring music that reverberates through the walls in the 5th floor. Staff is unhelpful in response. Terrible experience. I'm a frequent traveler with high hotel and airline status and have never had this happen before. Do not stay here if you want a night of sleep or staff to be helpful to problems.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Suzy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliapurosani1, Manajer Hubungan Tamu at Melia Purosani, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2018

"Warmest greeting from Melia Purosani Hotel Yogyakarta"

Dear Ms. Suzy G,

Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and for taking your time to post review your experience with us.

We regret to hear that you were disappointed with your stay due to the hotel event that made you can not sleep well. During your stay, our hotel was with a very high occupancy and has some event. Therefore, in our regulation we never allow event after 22.00, but it seems unusual practice. On behalf of the hotel team, we would like to express our sincere apologies for the inconvenience. We convey this issue to our team to be more consistent to follow the regulation and to get permanent solution toward this issue.

Again, thank you very much for your constructive feedback and we hope you give us another opportunity to provide you a pleasant stay at Melia Purosani Yogyakarta

Sincerely yours,

Sulis
Guest Experience Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2018

I will not be staying at any other Melia hotels, that’s for sure.

I’m currently in my room trying to get some sleep before I have to get up at 5am for an early flight, and there is, for some reason, a “concert” outside by the pool. There are two singers who are not particularly good, but are extremely loud (neither our closed windows nor ear plugs are enough to prevent it from sounding like they’re performing inside our room). It’s not really clear who this is supposed to benefit, as there are only one or two people watching them. But the front desk said it will last until 10pm (which would make it about two and a half hours long). It literally sounds like standing inside a karaoke room.

My wife is currently downstairs asking for a refund. This is ridiculous. If we wanted to go to a concert, we would have gone to a concert, and not a hotel.

The facilities here are nice enough, but quite honestly, if the management has such awful judgment as to do something like this, I see no reason to trust any Melia hotel anywhere in the world, ever again. This is miserable.

UPDATE: Management told my wife this is a “private event.” I guess someone is paying a lot of money to ruin this hotel for all of its guests. I sure hope the hotel likes that money because they won’t be getting any more of mine.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Seth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliapurosani1, Manajer Hubungan Tamu at Melia Purosani, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2018

"Warmest greeting from Melia Purosani Hotel Yogyakarta"

Dear Mr. Seth S,

First of all, thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and for taking your time to post review your stay.

Our regret to hear that you have such unpleasant experienced due to the hotel event. During your stay, our hotel was with a very high occupancy and has some event. Therefore, in our regulation we never allow event after 21.00-22.00, but it seems unusual practice. On behalf of the hotel team, we would like to express our sincere apologies for the inconvenience. We convey this issue to our team to be more consistent and punctual to follow the event regulation.

Again, thank you very much for your constructive feedback and we hope you give us another opportunity to provide you a pleasant stay at Melia Purosani Yogyakarta

Sincerely yours,

Sulis
Guest Experience Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2018

Everything was superbly organized during our stay at the Melia.

We were warmly welcomed and offered hot towels and refreshments upon arrival by friendly staff.

The hotel organised transport and a tourist guide for our visits to Prambanan and Borobudur temple which made these experiences stress-free and even more interesting. We greatly appreciated that packed lunch boxes and plenty of water were offered for the trip.

After the visits, we took a rickshaw ride to discover Yogyakarta. The Melia is superbly located within the city and all points of interest were never far away from the hotel.

Overall, our stay was made greatly enjoyable thanks to the superb staff.

I would recommend the Melia to anybody who intends to visit Yogyakarta!

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Roman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliapurosani1, Manajer Hubungan Tamu at Melia Purosani, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2018

"Warmest greeting from Melia Purosani Hotel Yogyakarta!!"

Dear Mr. Roman K,

Thank you very much for trusting Melia Purosani Hotel as your preference to stay and for your time to share your wonderful experience with us.

We are very delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the whole experiences and you were impressed with our friendly staff. We also glad to hear that you liked our perfect location which strategically situated in the city center of Yogyakarta

Again, thank you very much for your gratifying feedback and we certainly look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely yours,
Sulis
Guest Experience Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2018 via mobile

Bin here for 3 nights. Because being overbooked they upgraded us to the upoer more luxurious rooms. Some other positive things are it is really a beautiful hotel and the location is also great (quite central, and close to the airpot) That was really nice. There are really a couple of things which made me writing this negativer review. First of all the prices of the food and beer are insane. In between 300.000 and 400.000 idr for 3 large bintang or in between 90.000 and 100.000 for a burger are not fair prices in Yogya. These not worst things. Housekeeping is calling on the door of the room in the early morning even though we had "the not disturb" and when we were away. They left the door open twice (checked the second time when leaving if it was 100 pct locked for sure). We have valuable stuff in our room. It is really not good that they make this mistake twice in a row. When we complaint about this they said they will come back with an explaination, but they did not. We will not come back to this hotel. Your room needs to be a safe place and in this hotel it is definately not the case.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
2  Thank Timoesh_holland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meliapurosani1, Manajer Hubungan Tamu at Melia Purosani, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2018

"Warmest greeting from Melia Purosani Hotel Yogyakarta!!"

Dear Mr. Timoesh_holland,

Thank you so much for your recent stay at Melia Purosani hotel and for taking your time to convey your concern with us.

Our pleasure to hear that you found our hotel as a beautiful hotel and you liked our perfect location which is strategically situated in the city center of Yogyakarta.

On behalf of management, we would like to take this opportunity to express our sincere apology for the inconveniences during your stay. We have take some note of your feedback for our review and future improvement.

Again, thank you very much for your constructive feedback and we hope you give us another opportunity to provide you a pleasant stay at Melia Purosani Yogyakarta.

Sincerely yours,
Sulis
Guest Experience Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews