We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Purosani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melia Purosani
Ranked #13 of 193 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Depok, Indonesia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 days and spent our new year there. We arrived on des 30, 2013 at 2 pm, and because they were full booked we had to wait about half an hour to get to our room. But we didn't mind because all the staffs were really friendly, with welcome drink and comfortable waiting lounge I think it's understandable, considered it was peak season too.

Room was nice, comfortable, with complete amenities. Bathroom was okay, with separate bathtub and shower.

They have really nice pool to relax with your kid. Breakfast was delicious, with really friendly and helpful restaurant staffs.
Their location is very good, right in the heart of yogya with only walking distance to malioboro.

For summary I think their best asset is their staffs, everyone was friendly and helpful. And the only thing I think they should improve is cleanliness, especially bathroom and the room carpet area.

Afterall it's a really nice new year holiday for us. Thank you Melia :-)

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 597anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    558
    138
    44
    16
See reviews for
367
339
70
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ampang, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

From the moment we stepped foot, we were greeted by the staff who were extremely ever-helpful.

Even more interesting is, the bellboy who greeted us, wore some kind of traditional Indonesian costumes which I find weirdly unique. Best part is, they keep changing the costumes every day.

At the lobby, we were given each a cold towel to freshen up after a long journey.

Checking into the room, it was more than I can ask for - definitely value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony facing Mount Merapi
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Akulertu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

On the pre college holiday, my cousins and I stay on this hotel. Love the interior, very classic. And the room so clean, luxurious, OMG so much foods for breakfast and so yummy. The staffs are so kind. The swimming pool so great. The location so perfect. I'll be back soon.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TedzLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, UK
Level Contributor
98 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We got a great rate through the hotel website so decided to give this hotel a go. "How bad can a 5 star hotel be?" I asked - and at every turn it felt like the Melia Purosani set out to answer me!

The problems I had
- the carpet in the room was worn through
- the sofa had some stains that looked like blood
- the sheets were dirty
- the bed was worn and sagging
- the "non-smoking" room stunk of cigarettes
- the price of laundry was extortionate - the "special" was 4 pieces for about £10 - outside the hotel I had a weeks worth cleaned for £2.50
- we ordered a packed breakfast one day, but didn't get one
- the wifi network didn't work, when we queried this the front desk denied it existed
- after a long days sightseeing, we returned to the hotel around 5 for a relaxing swim. 15 minutes later, we had to vacate the pool area for spraying
- dinners were poor but very expensive
- staff generally weren't very helpful, I think this is a reflection of poor training rather than the staff themselves

The only things preventing a "terrible" score from me are the low rate I paid and that the hotel granted my request for an inward facing room to prevent being woken pre-dawn by the mosque across the road.

One other thing I've noticed is the surprising number of "excellent" reviews from users who have never posted another review. Draw your own conclusions!

Room Tip: An inward facing room is a MUST if you want to sleep beyond 5am
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willgo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaPurosani, Director of Sales at Melia Purosani, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Sir or Madame,

Warmest Greetings from Melia Purosani Yogyakarta.

Thank you for choosing us and for taking your time to write this review.
We do apologize that some experience did not meet your expectation during your stay in our hotel. We have putted it in our attention and discuss with the department concerned for further actions and avoid similar problem in the future. So that we can respond to you in as much detail as possible, please send your email to: dosm@meliajogja.com. We will respond to your email as soon as possible. We believe that this feedback will be used as an encouragement to all of our staff to consistently improve our quality of services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us.
Yours faithfully, Mimi Nuryanti – Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights. I was on a family vacation, and this is the first time for me to stay in this hotel. I found this hotel is very good. I stayed in the Deluxe room.

The hotel is quite old, but maintained well. The lobby is quite big and comfortable. The park is behind the lobby, and the park is quite nice. The staffs were friendly and helpful. When I enter the room, for me the room's design is average. The room is quite old, but the room and bathroom were clean. The breakfast was quite good, and the location of the breakfast area is beside the park. There are lots of varieties of food for breakfast, and they also taste quite good. There were becak just outside the hotel, so we don't have to bother looking for becak. Also, the location of the hotel is excellent. 5 minutes walk from the hotel, we were in the middle of Malioboro road. In Malioboro road, there are lots of shops, and restaurants, so it is easy to search for food and gifts.

So, I think the overall stay is very good. The location of the hotel is excellent. I would recommend this hotel to everybody as it is near to the shopping area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janyeremia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaPurosani, Director of Sales at Melia Purosani, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

What can we say apart from “Thank you”.
Your comments are noted, appreciated and are most helpful.
Assuring you of our commitment to raise standards further for the benefit of all our valued guests.

With kindest regards and sincere thanks,

Mimi Nuryanti – Director Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
286 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

We've stayed at the Melia Pruosani several times over the last 6 years, and this time was the best due to the helpful staff. In addition to a quiet location in Chinatown and near Jl. Malioboro (for shopping and sites), the service exceeded our expectations. We arrived on an early morning flight and within 30 minutes had checked in, rented a car and were on our way to Borobudur. Later in the rainy afternoon when taxis were hard to find, the traditionally clad doorman called his friend for a pick up and got me to my appointment on time. Our overnight stay was capped by an extensive buffet that featured Indonesians cuisine including my favorite ginger tea. Even the small gym had been upgraded since our last stay. My only regret is not being able to enjoy the large pool and extensive gardens more due to the rain.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalGypsy_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaPurosani, Director of Sales at Melia Purosani, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Madame,

Thank you for your kind and considerate endorsement.
The team highly appreciates it and commits to raise our standards further everyday.

Looking forward to the pleasure of your company again soon.

With kindest regards,
Mimi Nuryanti – Director Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Was initially considering between the Phoenix and the Melia, and eventually decided on the Melia due to the good deal offered from the Melia website if you stay a minimum of 3 nights.

Staff were friendly and always there to help. I got them to help me with outside restaurant reservations, and it was a breeze. It was also easy to get taxis from the hotel.

Nothing much to complain about the room as it was as expected. Only qualms is that the carpet did not feel too clean but I walked around with bedroom slippers so that was fine. Pillows could be firmer, they were little too soft for me.

Location wise, less than 200 meters to Maliaboro street so very convenient. Walkable to Kraton and Mirota batik so that's very good.

Overall I would recommend Melia. I also do think that Melia should be ranked higher in this ranking.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Travalor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaPurosani, Director of Sales at Melia Purosani, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Sir or Madame,

Thank you very much for your positive comments. It is a pleasure to know that you and your family have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We will share your nice comments with our team.
We wait for your return at the Melia Purosani and hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours faithfully,
Mimi Nuryanti – Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
1.1 mi away
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
4.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
2.5 mi away
Royal Ambarrukmo Yogyakarta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
#9 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
#7 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#4 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Purosani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Purosani

Property: Melia Purosani
Address: Jl. Suryotomo 31, Yogyakarta 55122, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
#8 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
#9 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
#9 Luxury Hotel in Yogyakarta
#12 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Purosani 4.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Yogyakarta, alongside the Jalan Malioboro shopping centre. 1 km. from the Sultan's Palace. 17 kms. from the temple of Prambanan. 27 kms. from the Parangtritis Beach and 42 kms. from the temple of Borobudur, one of the Seven Wonders of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Melia Purosani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Purosani Hotel Yogyakarta
Melia Hotel Yogyakarta
Melia Hotel Purosani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing