We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Room and lots choice for breakfast”
Review of Melia Purosani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Purosani
Ranked #14 of 202 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
jakarta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Huge Room and lots choice for breakfast”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I was here on a business trip. The room was huge. The interior of the hotel a bit old but clean. The bed is quite soft, i prefer hard, since i have a back ache problem. Near Malioboro, just 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Breakfast was great, lots of choice. But after 4 days, its a bit boring. Nothing change much in the menu.The staff was helpful. Location from the airport about 30-40 minutes by driving. There's no wifi in the room, only in the lobby, but a bit slow and sometimes no connection at all.

Room Tip: Choose the room with the pool view, its quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faldy y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaPurosani, Director of Sales at Melia Purosani, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Faldy,

What can we say apart from “Thank you”.
Your comments are noted, appreciated and are most helpful.
Assuring you of our commitment to raise standards further for the benefit of all our valued guests.

With kindest regards and sincere thanks,
Mimi Nuryanti – Director Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    580
    147
    48
    20
See reviews for
398
360
74
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is recommended by a friend. He loves to stay here since it's very near with the famous Malioboro street and traditional market of Beringharjo, where you can find georgous batik with cheap price.

Since i'm on my business trip, i need wi-fi on my room or, at least, an internet cable. Unfortunately, the wi-fi only provided on the lobby and the internet not included with room price.

When i was going to dry my hair, the hair dryer made an eerie voice and burnt smell. The hair dryer definitely broken. Well, the maintenance staff should check the equipment regularly, i think :p

At today's breakfast, my spoon still has some oily remarks. Quite surprising for me, since the hotel is quite luxurious.

But overall, the hotel is good. The room is big and nice.

If you're on holiday, like to shop traditional souvenir, eat traditional food, walk in Malioboro street, this hotel is still recommended. :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ika_kharisma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaPurosani, Director of Sales at Melia Purosani, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Ms. Ika Kharisma,

Thank you for choosing Melia Purosani as your accommodation during your stay in Yogyakarta. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and we do apologize that some experience did not meet your expectation during your stay in our hotel.
We surely will share your comments with our team.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the nearest future.
Yours faithfully,
Mimi Nuryanti – Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Embrach, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were in this hotel to do coulture sight seeing. we requested Non Smoking, Twin Beds and Quiet room and what we got 3 Rooms to choice (WOW!!):
- 1st Room: Smell to pestizid like baygon
- 2nd Room: Smell to cigarette (event when i noted non smooking room)
- 3rd Room: Just Opposite of Mosque and smell very humid.

Since there are no other choice anymore we choosed the 3rd room, and there the Air Condition is not working properlly, the thermostat is not working at all.
After 1 day all our clothes in the bag smell to the humid room and our books are getting humid too. After 2 days stay in this hotel we are getting sick due to humid room and very cold air conditioning. I already informed the hotel reception regarding the air conditioning which but there are no change at all.
The bed in this room are ok but need to be replace.
In this hotel you have to pay for the wifi/internet connection in the room.
The Breakfast was very good.
If you stay in this hotel, don't get any regular taxi from this hotel, they will charge you 20'000Rp minimum even if you are only using the taxi for 8000Rp. To go to the airport they charge you 90'000Rp and with the regular taxi only 30'000Rp.
You do not need any watch or alarm-clock you will be wake up by the Muazin with huge loud speaker from the mosque opposite from this hotel.
I will not stay anymore in this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaPurosani, Director of Sales at Melia Purosani, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Sir and Madam,

Warmest Greetings from Melia Purosani Yogyakarta.
Thank you for choosing us and for taking your time to write this review.
We do apologize that some experience did not meet your expectation during your stay in our hotel. We have putted it in our attention and discuss with the department concerned for further actions and avoid similar problem in the future. So that we can respond to you in as much detail as possible, please send your email to: dosm@meliajogja.com. We will respond to your email as soon as possible. We believe that this feedback will be used as an encouragement to all of our staff to consistently improve our quality of services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us.
Yours faithfully, Mimi Nuryanti – Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We spent 4 nights in this hotel and felt very comfortably. The service and the employees are very nice and help with any kind of problem or question and they always have a smile on their face.
Our room was very huge and we didn't miss anything although it was a litlle bit old. The included breakfast was fantastic. You could choose betwenn many many differnet local and international foods (hot and cold) and fresh fruits. There were so many you couldn't try everything ;-)
We also used the Spa for fitness and massage what I can recommend totally.
The location is also very good as it is only a 3-minute walk to malioboro street.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joerg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaPurosani, Director of Sales at Melia Purosani, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Mr/s Joerg S,

Thank you for your kind and considerate endorsement.
The team highly appreciates it and commits to raise our standards further everyday.

Looking forward to the pleasure of your company again soon.

With kindest regards,
Mimi Nuryanti – Director Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surabaya
Level Contributor
133 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I arrived by train from Surabaya at 8.30 pm. There are plenty of taxi, most of the web recommend to take the 373737 taxi which is minivan toyota avansa, but people said all the taxi almost the same. I arrived around 10 pm at the hotel. At first I got a deluxe twin bed room, but I insists that I want the king size as noted in my voucher and I have confirmed my request by email. Finally they upgrade me to one of the suite room. The room is spacious, the bed is comfortable and no complaint about the bathroom. The hotel is very closed to Malioboro street, just walked 200 meter. There were still a lot of "lesehan" street food stall during that late of night. The breakfast is good, with variety of foods. I think the earlier is better, since at 8 am it was overcrowded and the service is a little bit abandoned. It is an old 4 star hotel with a reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbysteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaPurosani, Director of Sales at Melia Purosani, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

What can we say apart from “Thank you”.
Your comments are noted, appreciated and are most helpful.
Assuring you of our commitment to raise standards further for the benefit of all our valued guests.

With kindest regards and sincere thanks,
Mimi Nuryanti – Director Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
77 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The hotel is located within walking distance to famous Malioboro Road. This is a very comfortable hotel to stay, The bed was very comfortable and I slept very well. View of the volcano from the room was spectacular. The bathroom was huge and luxurious. Although, i did not receive a welcome drink, the rest of the service was good.The breakfast buffet was awesome. It had lots of variety including vegetarian options. Upon check in I received a free voucher for 10 min massage at the spa. Staff at the spa was very friendly and ended up having a hair cut which was comparatively cheap. The reception was very helpful and answered all the questions i raised with patience and gave detailed answers. I recommend this hotel to anyone to wants stay closer to Malioboro Road.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinithi_Peiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaPurosani, Director of Sales at Melia Purosani, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Sir and Madame,

Thank you for choosing Melia Purosani as your accommodation during your stay in Yogyakarta. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and we surely will share your comments with our team.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the nearest future.
Yours faithfully,
Mimi Nuryanti – Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seremban
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed at Melia for 3 N/4 D recently.
Was a little receptive initially after reading the recent negative reviews.
However, was pleasantly surprised to find my stay very comfortable.
Plus points;
Near to the famous Malioboro street (walking distance0
Great ambiance and super view of Mt Merapi from our room.
Great service from all staff
Spacious room.
Great breakfast spread.
Minus points:
Cannot think of anything.

Room Tip: If you are into nature, ask for the view of Mt Merapi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelvijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaPurosani, Director of Sales at Melia Purosani, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Sir or Madams,

Thank you very much for your positive comments. It is a pleasure to know that you and your family have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We will share your nice comments with our team.
We wait for your return at the Melia Purosani and hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours faithfully,
Mimi Nuryanti – Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
1.0 mi away
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
1.3 mi away
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
#7 of 202 in Yogyakarta
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#4 of 202 in Yogyakarta
939 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
#28 of 202 in Yogyakarta
857 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
#10 of 202 in Yogyakarta
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Purosani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Purosani

Property: Melia Purosani
Address: Jl. Suryotomo 31, Yogyakarta 55122, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
#8 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
#9 Luxury Hotel in Yogyakarta
#9 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
#12 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Purosani 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Yogyakarta, alongside the Jalan Malioboro shopping centre. 1 km. from the Sultan's Palace. 17 kms. from the temple of Prambanan. 27 kms. from the Parangtritis Beach and 42 kms. from the temple of Borobudur, one of the Seven Wonders of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Melia Purosani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Purosani Hotel Yogyakarta
Melia Hotel Yogyakarta
Melia Hotel Purosani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing