We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old 4-star hotel in the heart of Yogyakarta”
Review of Melia Purosani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Purosani
Ranked #16 of 212 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I arrived by train from Surabaya at 8.30 pm. There are plenty of taxi, most of the web recommend to take the 373737 taxi which is minivan toyota avansa, but people said all the taxi almost the same. I arrived around 10 pm at the hotel. At first I got a deluxe twin bed room, but I insists that I want the king size as noted in my voucher and I have confirmed my request by email. Finally they upgrade me to one of the suite room. The room is spacious, the bed is comfortable and no complaint about the bathroom. The hotel is very closed to Malioboro street, just walked 200 meter. There were still a lot of "lesehan" street food stall during that late of night. The breakfast is good, with variety of foods. I think the earlier is better, since at 8 am it was overcrowded and the service is a little bit abandoned. It is an old 4 star hotel with a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbysteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaPurosani, Director of Sales at Melia Purosani, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Sir / Madam,

What can we say apart from “Thank you”.
Your comments are noted, appreciated and are most helpful.
Assuring you of our commitment to raise standards further for the benefit of all our valued guests.

With kindest regards and sincere thanks,
Mimi Nuryanti – Director Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

560 - 566 of 1,396 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

The hotel is located within walking distance to famous Malioboro Road. This is a very comfortable hotel to stay, The bed was very comfortable and I slept very well. View of the volcano from the room was spectacular. The bathroom was huge and luxurious. Although, i did not receive a welcome drink, the rest of the service was good.The breakfast buffet was awesome. It had lots of variety including vegetarian options. Upon check in I received a free voucher for 10 min massage at the spa. Staff at the spa was very friendly and ended up having a hair cut which was comparatively cheap. The reception was very helpful and answered all the questions i raised with patience and gave detailed answers. I recommend this hotel to anyone to wants stay closer to Malioboro Road.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinithi_Peiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaPurosani, Director of Sales at Melia Purosani, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Sir and Madame,

Thank you for choosing Melia Purosani as your accommodation during your stay in Yogyakarta. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and we surely will share your comments with our team.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the nearest future.
Yours faithfully,
Mimi Nuryanti – Director of Sales & Marketing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed at Melia for 3 N/4 D recently.
Was a little receptive initially after reading the recent negative reviews.
However, was pleasantly surprised to find my stay very comfortable.
Plus points;
Near to the famous Malioboro street (walking distance0
Great ambiance and super view of Mt Merapi from our room.
Great service from all staff
Spacious room.
Great breakfast spread.
Minus points:
Cannot think of anything.

Room Tip: If you are into nature, ask for the view of Mt Merapi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chelvijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaPurosani, Director of Sales at Melia Purosani, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Sir or Madams,

Thank you very much for your positive comments. It is a pleasure to know that you and your family have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We will share your nice comments with our team.
We wait for your return at the Melia Purosani and hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours faithfully,
Mimi Nuryanti – Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed at the hotel with family melia purosari, yogyakarta of date 20-24 May, 2013, room 547
1. front office did not offer a welcome drink, maybe because I am local so they not offered
2. dirty and smelly water in the shower and bath tube
3. hotel management provides a new room but they did not check the room where the ac was not cold and the tv did not work properly (speckled image)
4. hotel management did not check whether the guest was happy or not with the new room

it is sufficient to make a family vacation is not fun. I think the hotel melia not provide training how to handle customer complaints.

thanks
mohamad ridwan

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ridwan1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaPurosani, Director of Sales at Melia Purosani, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Mr. Muhamad Ridwan,

Warmest Greetings from Melia Purosani Yogyakarta.

Thank you for choosing us and for taking your time to write this review.
We do apologize that some experience did not meet your expectation during your stay in our hotel. We have putted it in our attention and discuss with the department concerned for further actions and avoid similar problem in the future. So that we can respond to you in as much detail as possible, please send your email to: dosm@meliajogja.com. We will respond to your email as soon as possible.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us.
Yours faithfully,

Mimi Nuryanti – Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We recently spent 3 days in this hotel. I'm believe that a property should be judged in context - you don't review a 5 star hotel with the standards of a 3 star property for example.

By this measure while I liked the place for its friendly staff and nice rooms I believe there is certainly room for improvement.

There is a lovely courtyard in the center of the building with the pool, gardens and other water features. However, this space seems to be often polluted with noise from one of the dining areas which share the surrounding area. For example, the Friday night barbecue had a live band which was so loud that it was difficult to have a conversation outside in the pub on the other side of the courtyard. I will never understand restaurants who think that live band is an asset in a confined space, particularly in a hotel. It is almost impossible to hear your dinner mates, nobody knows (or cares) who the band is no matter how good they are and I seriously doubt they have a following that will bring them to the space. Keep them in a bar where they belong. Saturday night had the pub blaring loud music - including some pretty hardcore rap with some eyebrow singeing lyrics - which seemed inappropriate for an establishment such as this.

Secondly the Internet infrastructure at this hotel is an embarrassment for this day and age: a large number of people now consume their Internet through mobile devices (phones, tablets) and yet the hotel only offers this service in the lobby. Very inconvenient. There is wired Internet service in the rooms (very retro but useless for a mobile device) and the charge is a little absurd: US $15 for 24 hours. At the rates this hotel is charging for the room, Internet access, vital for modern communications should be part of the package. Several much lower rated hotels in Yogyakarta offer this.

The sulfurous smell of the water is really just part of being situated in a geologically active area so that didn't bother me, but we did lack hot water for a couple of afternoons though this seemed to be fixed by the morning.

Higher rooms facing Mount Merapi have wonderful views on to this iconic mountain. Unfortunately that's also the side that faces the mosque across the street - be prepared for daily 4:30am wake-ups whether you like it or not - a common issues in Muslim countries, but a little wearying nonetheless.

Breakfast has very few choices for the non-Indonesian traveler - consisting of a traditional Indonesian fare: rice, chicken, fish in a lemon sauce and other quite heavy items. It would be nice to have some eggs or sausages as an alternative.

Room Tip: High rooms facing Mount Merapi (north) have wonderful views on a clear day - including the steam and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nomadale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaPurosani, Director of Sales at Melia Purosani, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Sir or Madame,

Thank you for choosing Melia Purosani as your accommodation during your stay in Yogyakarta.
We are sorry for the inconvenience experience during your stay in our hotel. We have putted it in our attention and discuss with the department concerned. Could you please email to: dosm@meliajogja.com, so that we could give an explanation to you as soon as possible.

Thank you for your attention and cooperation.
Mimi Nuryanti – Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We booked into the Melia after a few days of roughing it expecting a 5 star hotel and got shocked by the poor service. The staff could not speak English and getting any information was difficult. We tried ordering food by the pool and were ignored by the staff. I had to phone the front desk to get a manager to come to the pool. The staff just walked by without even looking in our direction. The business center was always closed and when I asked them what the hours were they couldn't answer my question. I am an ESL teacher and I know how to ask questions in many different ways and to speak simply to non native speakers of English but this was ridiculous. I wrote an email to the General Manager and got a really lame response.

Room Tip: Just don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yankeefan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaPurosani, Director of Sales at Melia Purosani, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Sir or Madame,

Warmest Greetings from Melia Purosani Yogyakarta.
Thank you for choosing us and for taking your time to write this review.
We do apologize that some experience did not meet your expectation during your stay in our hotel. We have putted it in our attention and discuss with the department concerned for further actions and avoid similar problem in the future. So that we can respond to you in as much detail as possible, please send your email to: dosm@meliajogja.com. We will respond to your email as soon as possible. We believe that this feedback will be used as an encouragement to all of our staff to consistently improve our quality of services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us.
Yours faithfully, Mimi Nuryanti – Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Overall I like this hotel environment, it is look nice for me to enjoy this hotel...
But there are some concerns from me to take some improvements by the management team regarding this hotel issues, e.g.:
- The water in bath room smell is not to good (like ground water smelled). I really dont like this one.
- The bath room water seem dirty too. It is not to good too...
- The service of pub med is too slow for order request of snack. It took over than 30minutes for awaiting but the order is not coming yet too. So I request to send it to my room. Very dissapointed service.

Hopefully the management team can keep the standard of services for this 5 star hotel, and minimize the inconvenience issues...
Thanks and Regards.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandyYoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaPurosani, Director of Sales at Melia Purosani, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Sir or Madame,

Thank you for choosing Melia Purosani for your accommodation and taking your time to write this review. We are deeply sorry for the inconvenience caused during your stay in our hotel. Could you please email to: dosm@meliajogja.com, so that we could give an explanation to you as soon as possible.

Thank you for your attention and cooperation.
Mimi Nuryanti – Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
1 mi away
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
1.3 mi away
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
#8 of 212 in Yogyakarta
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#4 of 212 in Yogyakarta
1,031 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
#29 of 212 in Yogyakarta
1,014 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
#11 of 212 in Yogyakarta
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Purosani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Purosani

Address: Jl. Suryotomo 31, Yogyakarta 55122, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
#8 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
#10 Luxury Hotel in Yogyakarta
#10 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
#12 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range: $75 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Purosani 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Purosani Hotel, a newly refurbished urban resort located in the heart of Yogyakarta, alongside the Jalan Malioboro shopping centre. 1 km. from the Sultan's Palace. 17 kms. from the temple of Prambanan. 27 kms. from the Parangtritis Beach and 42 kms. from the temple of Borobudur, one of the Seven Wonders of the World. Explore the diversity of Yogyakarta. Indulge in the city’s colourful culture, cuisine experience, rich heritage and magnificent nature wherever you go. Filled with immense Javanese charm, the Meliá Purosani is a five-star hotel with an urban-resort concept that is located right at the heart of the city, allowing you to experience Yogyakarta like never before. Make yourself at home in one of our generously sized and newly renovated rooms and suites, designed to offer comfort and grandeur with gorgeous views of the lush tropical garden or view of Yogyakarta city with the majestic Merapi mountain as the background. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melia Purosani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Purosani Hotel Yogyakarta
Melia Hotel Yogyakarta
Melia Hotel Purosani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing