We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Hotel, Very Delicious Food”
Review of Melia Purosani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Purosani
Ranked #15 of 206 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2012

When you first arrived, you will never imagine there is such a nice hotel in the average neighborhood surrounding, but that makes it very interesting as you can just walk around into the nite market and enjoy the local food, which is very tasty and cheap. The have a nice pool (But I think it is a little bit small and not deep enough, haha). The best part of this hotel is the breakfast, I think I enjoyed it a lot with my friend, spending close to two hours for the breakfast. Rooms is standard, clean and average (nothing fancy). Oh yes, you can go for traditional spa and massage in the hotel, which is quite reasonable. If you intend to go tho the heritage site, Candi Borobudur, then you need to charter for a taxi which will bring you to various places, and also the local trishaw is also available. Batik and Silver are very famous here, hence do not forget to buy some, and please bargain.....:)

Room Tip: Rooms with Pool view
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChoongSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,341)
There are newer reviews for Melia Purosani
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

574 - 580 of 1,341 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

The best thing from this hotel is its location. Easy access to Malioboro road with 5 minutes walk. Its very central The room is spacious enough and were in good condition. Its a 5* standard with affordable rate if u book in advance. The breakfast is also very wide varieties from Asian to Western. It has a nice pool garden also, if u bring children they will really love it. Only cons is we have to pay for the wifi internet ;(

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ipOi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel for 1 month for 7 years now. The staff is great and very friendly. They greeted us with our names, It is located next to Progo supermarket and also very close to malioboro street (the main street in Yogya). The food is good and we always like Ching San restaurant. We feel like at home when we are in this hotel. Overall, we recommend this hotel if you stay in Yogyakarta.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LukitoPujianto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Central location. Nice pool but very few sunchairs. Excellent morning and evening buffets.
Carpet in our room needs replacement soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Helmut E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

At the first step you enter the hotel, you will meet the staff dressed with the Sultan's Guard Uniform (Sultan refer to King). The room is nice, the meal is wow, great, combination of local and western food, both gorgeous.
Only a step from Malioboro, the tourist spot where you can find cheap but nice stuff like batik or wooden stuff for souvenir. Also close enough to the Sultan's palace, Taman Pintar (if you are coming with family, it's like science museum, kids below 10 will be interested) and many more.
For any trip to Jogjakarta, we will for sure booked this hotel.
The staff are welcome and friendly, even when we have to check out very early in the morning. Recommended :D

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

My partner and i have stayed in this hotel for 3D2N, i love the classy style from the exterior design. Further the interior even more excellent with modern and Javanese touch. The staff are great and gives us a real smile coming from the heart. Just wonderful. The room and their facilities are totally complete and we got the room with city view. The breakfast full of choices and i love the traditional corner :). The location really close to Malioboro street, which is only 10 Minutes to walk. Or even you are lazy to walk, around the hotel there are plenty of pedicabs just Rp.10.000 to go around the city. We loved the pool so much! This hotel is a real oasis in the city! We love to come back again next year!

Room Tip: Get a pedicab and explore the city!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank putu_bali_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I always remember that the food given by hotel was so delicious. I like the breakfast and lunch in this hotel.
I get warm service in this hotel and I will stay in this hotel when visited Yogyakarta.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andikawicaksono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
1.0 mi away
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
0.3 mi away
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
#30 of 206 in Yogyakarta
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
#7 of 206 in Yogyakarta
1,080 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#4 of 206 in Yogyakarta
982 reviews
2.6 mi away
Royal Ambarrukmo Yogyakarta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Purosani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Purosani

Address: Jl. Suryotomo 31, Yogyakarta 55122, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
#8 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
#9 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
#10 Luxury Hotel in Yogyakarta
#12 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range: $75 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Purosani 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Purosani Hotel, a newly refurbished urban resort located in the heart of Yogyakarta, alongside the Jalan Malioboro shopping centre. 1 km. from the Sultan's Palace. 17 kms. from the temple of Prambanan. 27 kms. from the Parangtritis Beach and 42 kms. from the temple of Borobudur, one of the Seven Wonders of the World. Explore the diversity of Yogyakarta. Indulge in the city’s colourful culture, cuisine experience, rich heritage and magnificent nature wherever you go. Filled with immense Javanese charm, the Meliá Purosani is a five-star hotel with an urban-resort concept that is located right at the heart of the city, allowing you to experience Yogyakarta like never before. Make yourself at home in one of our generously sized and newly renovated rooms and suites, designed to offer comfort and grandeur with gorgeous views of the lush tropical garden or view of Yogyakarta city with the majestic Merapi mountain as the background. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Melia Purosani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Purosani Hotel Yogyakarta
Melia Hotel Yogyakarta
Melia Hotel Purosani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing