We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel, excellent restaurant, standard Novotel quality”
Review of Novotel Yogyakarta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Yogyakarta
Ranked #18 of 202 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel, excellent restaurant, standard Novotel quality”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I stayed at the Novotel Yogyakarta for four nights between Christmas and New Year 2013.

The hotel is easily accessible from the airport by taxi as it's along the main road connecting the city to the airport, the ride takes about 15-20 minutes.

Check-in was a swift standard procedure although my room wasn't ready yet as I arrived early, well before the check-in time. Once I got my room it was a pretty standard Novotel room; functional and comfortable but as is often the case with the international hotel chains, quite generic. The Kedaton restaurant received high marks from me; the food was excellent and the Hainanese chicken rice - one of my all time favorite Asian dishes - was possibly the best I've ever had. Also the breakfast buffet was good, plenty to choose from and they did not run out of any items even later on in the service. The lobby bar was quite busy at times (not due to the amount of people at the bar but they handled the drinks for the restaurant as well) so some orders took a bit of time. Note that smoking is allowed indoors as well in the bar area.

The pool was quite nice and big enough for doing laps, plenty of children around though. The gym was also good, although I would have wished for fan/AC when on the treadmill.

The hotel is about 15-20 minutes (lazy) walk from the Malioboro area and there are becaks outside the hotel at all times waiting for customers. On a Friday evening the traffic was quite packed and I couldn't get a taxi around the hotel but a becak was available. From the hotel to Malioboro the becak ride should be about 20-25k rupiah, expect to pay a bit more during rush hour when traffic is completely packed though.

Overall the hotel was quite nice, the standard/generic rooms were nicely supplemented by the other facilities and I would recommend/stay again. Note though; as the hotel description on the hotels.com website states that "the staff can provide tour/ticket assistance" I did not make my sightseeing arrangements beforehand. At the hotel, when I asked about this service, I was told that only car rental service is available. So do make your own sightseeing plans/arrangements beforehand.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haerski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Yogyakarta, Manager at Novotel Yogyakarta, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear haerski ,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Yogyakarta. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We hope we will be able to welcome you again one day in Novotel Yogyakarta.

Best regards

I Nengah Sudiarta
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    485
    178
    28
    25
See reviews for
328
148
98
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I was impressed by the prompt reply to our email requesting airport transfer, and also by their efficient response when we had to cancel the transfer due to airline delays. Overall the staff were friendly & efficient. They were very willing to assist us even though we arrived many hours late. Check in & check out were trouble free. It was great to have a case stand in the room that accommodated two cases. Located close to city centre. Very good buffet at breakfast, plus wide choise at evening meal.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Yogyakarta, General Manager at Novotel Yogyakarta, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Geoff B.,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Yogyakarta. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We hope we will be able to welcome you again in our hotel.
Best regards

Jessica Uekermann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
141 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The location is convenient and the staffs are friendly and helpful though a a little off the very downtown, Malioboro. I stayed at its King Size Room with King size double bed. It was definitely worth for money. I also tried its spa and the experience was good. Will recommend my freinds to stay here in future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viviensin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Yogyakarta, Manager at Novotel Yogyakarta, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear viviensin,

Thanks a lot for your valuable feedback. My team and I are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us and we hope we will be able to welcome you again in the future in Novotel Yogyakarta.

Best regards,

I Nengah Sudiarta
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
1.1 mi away
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
#28 of 202 in Yogyakarta
857 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
#7 of 202 in Yogyakarta
1,054 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Jogja
Hotel Santika Premiere Jogja
#16 of 202 in Yogyakarta
395 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jogjakarta Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Yogyakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Yogyakarta

Property: Novotel Yogyakarta
Address: Jl. Jenderal Sudirman 89, Yogyakarta 55223, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
#13 Luxury Hotel in Yogyakarta
#14 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Yogyakarta 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Yogyakarta is a 4 star hotel in the centre of Yogyakarta. Ideal for both holidays and business trips, the hotel offers spacious, contemporary rooms, a business centre, free WiFi internet access and meeting facilities. No stay in Yogyakarta would be complete without a visit to the Buddhist Temple of Borobodur, the largest in the world. The hotel features two restaurants, two bars, a fitness centre, swimming pool, spa, a Kids Club, boutiques and a full range of activities. Novotel Yogyakarta also provides a free shuttle to Malioboro for your pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel Yogyakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Yogyakarta Hotel Yogyakarta
Yogyakarta Novotel
Novotel Jogja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing