We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I guess it was a good stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Yogyakarta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Novotel Yogyakarta
Ranked #18 of 193 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“I guess it was a good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed in Novotel with 2 other family members. We were there for 3 nights. We booked a room that could fit for the 3 of us. The room was clean so was the bathroom. Free wifi was provided by the hotel. The staff were friendly and courteous. To add to another plus was its location which was convenient.
However, there are rooms for improvement on the breakfast buffet which was so-so. Guests were not spoiled for choices and the taste of the foods was rather ordinary. In addition to that, we caught smoky smell along the corridor leading to our room when we walked out of the lift. Nevertheless we enjoyed our stay with this hotel. We might consider to stay back here if we ever return to Yogyakarta.
Thank you Novotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Budt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Yogyakarta, Manager at Novotel Yogyakarta, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Warmest greetings from Novotel Yogyakarta..

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your visit in Yogyakarta and for taking your time to write the review. I am very pleased to learn that you had a good stay with us.
Nevertheless, it is always a pleasure to receive constructive feedback you mentioned.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure it will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Thomas Dananjaya
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    473
    174
    28
    24
See reviews for
315
145
94
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melaka
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stay 4 nite between Nov 2012 with my kids and wife. For quick review, I listed down some pro and cons for this hotel.

Pro
1) It didn't charge me extra as I stay with my 2 kids (4-6 years), 1 infant and wife. Thus if you travel with kids, you can suit into 1 room with KING Size bed, but of course is a but crowded. The hotel have provide 1x baby crib too.

2) Bed room with wooded flooring and WIFI IS FAST ENOUGH.

3) 3 min walk to shopping center, 4-8 min to street hawker, 5-10 min walk to cafe and there is 1 factor outlet shop nearby. 5-10 min to Maliboro with taxi.

4) Bed Room is clean

5) It prepare kid play zone which consist of PS2, sand zone, TV with DVD player and toys.
Swimming pool is middle size and gym room is ok.

Cons
1) Bath room is a bit dirty especially the corner side.

2) I didn't try the food but maybe weekend buffet best to try

3)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueDeepsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Yogyakarta, Manager at Novotel Yogyakarta, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
January 16, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from Novotel Yogyakarta!

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your visit in Yogyakarta and for taking your time to write this review. I am very pleased to learn that you had good stay with us.
Nevertheless, it is always a pleasure to receive constructive feedback in regards of some points you mentioned and we will do immediate corrective actions on it.

As we will continue to improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant on over all stay..

Best regards,
Thomas Dananjaya
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stay in this hotel with my family, 6 adults, 3 children in 3 rooms. Takes a bit too long to check in although we already came at around 4 pm. At that time, we rent a van there to go around the city, so I could comment about the parking area that is not convenience enough, too small and not easy to maneuver .
Rooms were clean and nice, the view also quite nice because we got higher floor. Swimming pool, great for kids but maybe not for adults, because the location is in the ground floor and can be seen from corridor near lobby area.
Location is good, in one of the major street but a pity it is in a one way street, so a bit problem if we drive a car because we have to find different route to go back.
We stayed for 5 nights, and we have to say that breakfast are the most disappointment here. Taste was very standard, and we thought that there was no changing on the menus, same for 5 consecutive days. We stayed in some Novotel in different cities, and as far as we could remember, only in this hotel we found that experience.
We travel to Yogyakarta for some times and that was the first time we stayed there. Usually we have other favorite hotels but at that time they were full booked. Personally I think the most positive thing about this hotel is the location, but as a 4 star hotel especially in Yogyakarta as a warm city, it lacks warmth and hospitality.

Room Tip: Choose higher floors for better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ismoyofx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Yogyakarta, Manager at Novotel Yogyakarta, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
January 16, 2013

Dear valued Guest,

We would like to thank you and appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Novotel Yogyakarta. It is always a pleasure to receive constructive feedback with all of the issues you experienced during your last stay with us.

I am going to share your comments with our team and some points you mentioned we put on our attention for further corrective action to have continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to have another opportunity of providing a better service to you whenever your travels bring you back our way.

Kind regards,
Thomas Dananjaya
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Recently had the opportunity to stay in Jogyakarta for one night on business. The hotel had arranged a transfer form the sirport which went smoothly and saved me a hassle when visiting a new city. The rooms were neat and clean. The room had the basics that were required. The swimming pool on the ground floor was clean and big enough to swim a couple of laps. The change rooms off the swimming pool area were a bit run down and dated but clean enough. The buffet breakfast catered for a variety of tastes. Reception was courteous and efficient. Not sure about the photo used to promote the hotel on Trip Advisor - I never saw that scene.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MOB68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Yogyakarta, Manager at Novotel Yogyakarta, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
January 16, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from Novotel Yogyakarta!

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your visit in Yogyakarta and for taking your time to write this review. I am very pleased to learn that you enjoy your stay with us.
I have the liberty in sharing your kind comments and appreciation to all of our staff members.

We hope to have another opportunity of providing a better service to you whenever your travels bring you back our way.

Kind regards,
Thomas Dananjaya
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semarang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

good hotel and good service as well..but just 1 think i dont like the location..the street is 1 direction from jalan solo and i have to re round to another street to go back to the hotel if i go from malioboro street or any other street

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank de_javu101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Novotel Yogyakarta is the best choice for holiday or business. The room is very clean and confortable to stay. The nice outdoor swimming pool around tropic tree. Location is not far away from the central city or KRATON. You can do by walk or by Becak.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Yogyakarta, Room Division Manager at Novotel Yogyakarta, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing our hotel during your visit in Yogyakarta and for taking your time to write this review. I am very pleased to learn that you had a wonderful stay and were satisfied with our overall service. I have the liberty in sharing your kind comments and appreciation to all of our staff members.
We hope to have another opportunity of providing a better service to you whenever your travels bring you back our way.

Kind regards,
Martheas Mulyawan
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
1.1 mi away
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
#23 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Jogja
Hotel Santika Premiere Jogja
#15 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jogjakarta Plaza Hotel
1.4 mi away
Grand Tjokro Yogyakarta
0.3 mi away
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
#7 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Yogyakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Yogyakarta

Property: Novotel Yogyakarta
Address: Jl. Jenderal Sudirman 89, Yogyakarta 55223, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
#12 Luxury Hotel in Yogyakarta
#14 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Yogyakarta 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Yogyakarta is a 4 star hotel in the centre of Yogyakarta. Ideal for both holidays and business trips, the hotel offers spacious, contemporary rooms, a business centre, free WiFi internet access and meeting facilities. No stay in Yogyakarta would be complete without a visit to the Buddhist Temple of Borobodur, the largest in the world. The hotel features two restaurants, two bars, a fitness centre, swimming pool, spa, a Kids Club, boutiques and a full range of activities. Novotel Yogyakarta also provides a free shuttle to Malioboro for your pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Novotel Yogyakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Yogyakarta Hotel Yogyakarta
Yogyakarta Novotel
Novotel Jogja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing