We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A strategic but fantastic hotel.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Novotel Yogyakarta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Yogyakarta
Ranked #17 of 193 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A strategic but fantastic hotel.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

I've been in this hotel with 2 family. This is a good hotel with airy lobby, good kept. The room is nice, the toiletries ok. This hotel is strategically located, with a Galleria mall next door, and there is a Bethesda/ Christian hospital in front, give a peace of mind. The staff are nice, and the room boy is always smiling. Taxis are easy, you can go around Yogya at a relatively cheap fare. I love to stay at Novotel Yogyakarta.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a good view, ask the reception and will give you at no extra cost, as long a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddyss2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Yogyakarta, General Manager at Novotel Yogyakarta, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear valued guest,

it is a pleasure to read that you and your family have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Guest satisfaction is our daily goal. I will share your comments with my team and we hope we will be able to welcome you again one day in our hotel.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year
Jessica Uekermann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    474
    176
    27
    24
See reviews for
319
146
95
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

My children and I stayed @ Novotel Yogyakarta last week. We had a fantastic 4 days trip. The driver who picked us up at the airport explained some places which are highly recommended for us. We arrived a bit too early for check in, it was at 8am and we decided to do a day tour to Taman Pintar which turns out to be a very good choice for my both children. when we returned to the hotel at noon time, room was perfectly ready. Front Office team did an excellent job. Food-everything that we ordered from room service delivered fast. We had the best Margherita pizza and the kids loved it. Well done. Breakfast buffet is also excellent. Very surprisingly that my children's favorite yakult is also served there. Kids Club is very nice and neat. For lunch we decided to tour the city, there are plenty of choices of good food. Room attendant did an excellent job. I hurt myself by accident and rang the reception for a band aid and room attendant arrived at my room in less than 5 minutes. Taxi is also very cheap from Novotel to some favorite destinations to visit. We visited the famous Buddhist temple-Borobudur early for sunrise and it is truly heaven on earth. We also visited the Royal Palace. On our last day, we received a special birthday present and letter from the General Manager. Thank you Novotel Yogyakarta for making our holiday turned out to be a very special one.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgungEka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Yogyakarta, General Manager at Novotel Yogyakarta, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Ibu Agung Eka,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Yogyakarta. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year
Jessica Uekermann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

I am an avid fan of NOVOTEL hotels anywhere in the world ... and Yogyakarta Novotel only re-inforced my confidence. Nice rooms, Friendly staff, great location, good food and efficient service ... all of these make it a great place to stay ... all in line of Novotel tadition ...

Room Tip: Choose a Mountain view instead of city view ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Yogyakarta, Manager at Novotel Yogyakarta, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear valued guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Yogyakarta. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Thomas DANANJAYA
Executive Assistant Manager
Novotel Yogyakarta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed in Novotel for 3 nights. The rooms are pretty big, with all basic amenities similar to other Novotels. There is a small safe in the hotel as well. The service staff is courteous, and you can get cabs easily. There is wireless internet connection, but drops out every 10mins due to inactivity.

The location is good, with a shopping mall next to the hotel (with supermarket, KFC, wendy's & also a good thai massage place! etc). From the hotel, we took a cab to Borobudoh. It's about 1 hour journey, and a round-trip costed about IDR 350,000. The hotel is also a couple of minutes drive away from the tourist sites like Malioboro, Plaza Ambarrukmo)

Would return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Request for non-smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyxLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Yogyakarta, Executive Assistant manager at Novotel Yogyakarta, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from Novotel Yogyakarta!

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your visit in Yogyakarta and for taking your time to write this review. I am very pleased to learn that you enjoy your stay with us.
I have the liberty in sharing your kind comments and appreciation to all of our staff members.

We hope to have another opportunity of providing a better service whenever your travels bring you back our way.

Kind regards,
Thomas Dananjaya
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is my second time returning to this hotel. Loved the location.Room is clean, cosy and comfortable.Good spread for breakfast- a lot of choices of fruits .Loved the 20 minutes free internet availability on the computer located in front of the lobby restaurant. Check in was a breeze. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Security at the hotel is good. Taxis easily available just outside the hotel.There was a spa promotion of 20 percent off but they were unable to take our booking as there was only 1 therapist for the earliest morning slot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eve565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novotel_Yogyakarta, Manager at Novotel Yogyakarta, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from Novotel Yogyakarta!

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your visit in Yogyakarta and for taking your time to write this review. I am very pleased to learn that you enjoy your stay with us.
I have the liberty in sharing your kind comments and appreciation to all of our staff members.

We hope to have another opportunity to provide a better service whenever your travels bring you back our way.

Kind regards,
Thomas Dananjaya
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
1.1 mi away
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
#22 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santika Premiere Jogja
Hotel Santika Premiere Jogja
#19 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Tjokro Yogyakarta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
#7 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jogjakarta Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Yogyakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Yogyakarta

Property: Novotel Yogyakarta
Address: Jl. Jenderal Sudirman 89, Yogyakarta 55223, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
#12 Luxury Hotel in Yogyakarta
#14 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Yogyakarta 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Yogyakarta is a 4 star hotel in the centre of Yogyakarta. Ideal for both holidays and business trips, the hotel offers spacious, contemporary rooms, a business centre, free WiFi internet access and meeting facilities. No stay in Yogyakarta would be complete without a visit to the Buddhist Temple of Borobodur, the largest in the world. The hotel features two restaurants, two bars, a fitness centre, swimming pool, spa, a Kids Club, boutiques and a full range of activities. Novotel Yogyakarta also provides a free shuttle to Malioboro for your pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Yogyakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Yogyakarta Hotel Yogyakarta
Yogyakarta Novotel
Novotel Jogja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing