We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“long idle time”

Warung Spesial Sambal
Ranked #25 of 1,174 Restaurants in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indonesian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kuopio, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“long idle time”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

nice food, hot sambal, cheap juice price, but the service was poor. we need to wait for a long time just to have plain rice and another long waiting time for beverage before the food could be served. need to improve the time management.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stef_Yang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    76
    21
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
“Magnificent chilli lovers”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

My husband and i love eating in this warung ss very much since he likes spicy food.seems we can eat there everyday with lots of choises of food and sambal.and not to forget, best value for money.we'll back soon to dine in ss..

Helpful?
Thank christina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“So good”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Wish it was closer to our hotel - food was so good and plentiful, reasonably priced and the restaurant itself was clean! Polite and attentive staff who were happy to explain to us about the different types of sambal on offer

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank solotraveller1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A must for chilli lovers”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I love SS!! The food is always fresh and they have a great variety of chilli sauces. It is fantastic if you are on a budget as it is very inexpensive (We payed $8 aus for 4 people. I highly recommend getting some Tempe bakar and Nila Bakar. Amazing!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emmaanne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous sambal meal!!”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Do not miss it if you are sambal lover!!! It is one of the beat meals that I have in Yogyakarta. There have wide range of sambal chilis and dishes you can choose from.

However, we face some difficulty on food order because the staff doesn't really understand our Malaysia-Malay slang nor english. Never mind, this doesn't stop us. We just look at the sambal ranking on the board and try-n-error on food ordering. :)

Thumbs up!! The dishes are superb, and the price is affordable! Must try!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cacasoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warung Spesial Sambal also viewed

 

Been to Warung Spesial Sambal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing