We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta
Ranked #82 of 207 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Reviewed May 26, 2013

1) Booked direct with the hotel for IDR288,000 per room per night. Recommend to book direct for better rate.

2) Convenient location with less than 10 mins walk to Malioboro Street

3) You can ask the hotel reception to arrange a cab for you to the airport. We paid IDR40,000 for taxi fare from hotel to airport.

4) Clean room and no cockroach spotted. Room with hot shower and air-cond.

5) Free 2 small bottles of drinking water daily. You may refill drinking water at the cafe.

6) Free snacks for breakfast and also coffee and tea. No ala carte in this hotel. But, you may hunt for food outside considering the prime location. Try ayam pedas in the nearby restaurant. Really good.

7) The hotel is nearby to the mosque. So, if you are a light sleeper, you may hear prayers at 5am.

Overall, it is still worth staying in the hotel considering the price and location unless morning prayers is a disturbance to you.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carmencym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POPHOTELS, Brand Director at POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Carmencym,

Many thanks for your comment. It is a pleasant to know that you enjoy staying in POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta.

POP! Hotel is a Budget Hotel, and we commit to give a comfortable stay with affordable price.

Once again, thank you very much.
Looking forward to welcoming you again at POP! Hotels, we are in Jakarta, Yogyakarta, Bandung, and Bali.

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Brand Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (567)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

242 - 248 of 567 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

The room is basic. that's okay. you get what you paid for. The room looked however a bit run down and I had hoped it would be cleaner. (it irritates me when the toilet is not cleaned or they forget to vacuum / clean the floor). That said, the shower is warm and the bed is comfy, so no complaints there. The staff was friendly and helpful (to a certain extend). Reception area was spacious and open and have fending machines.
The hotel is located near a very busy road and it's miles away from nice restaurants and places of interest. So if you're a tourist, the POP! is perhaps not your best option.
What made my stay negative was the noise all day and night. During the day they play music in the hallways. This lasts until around 2130 hours. Watching a movie in your room is difficult with the music coming from the hall. Also, be prepared to be called for morning prayers at 5 am, even if you're not a believer.
Additionally, during the nights I was there a tour group came in at 3.30 am and made such a noise it look like we were being bombed. The next evening the same or other guests continued making a lot of noise until far past midnight. If you're heading out for a sunrise tour and you need your sleep, invest a bit more money and stay in a place less noisy than POP!
Overall, not a good stay for me.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POPHOTELS, Brand Director at POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment.
By this point, we would like to apologize to any inconvenience happened during your stay in POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta.

We will ensure that the corridor background music stop before the sleeping hour of our guest, which at the moment we put it of at 20.00.

Once again, thank you very much.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in POP! Hotels, Bali, Bandung, Yogyakarta or Jakarta.

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Brand Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

As utilitarian as it gets. Easy access to Malioboro and pretty well everything else that you need in Jogja. No chairs and no way to open the window. That would have been useful since my room smelled vaguely of pee. Still, it's comfortable enough and probably just what I would be looking for if I were on a tight budget.
I'm glad my friend was with me at check-in. Language might be a bit of a problem for some of the staff.
Interesting shower "pod" with hot and cold reversed. Mini safe for valuables; TV; double bed and strong WiFi signal. The colour scheme is....well, garish.
Breakfast is a loud affair. I shared mine with what appeared to be school trips - coffee or tea and complimentary cooked Indonesian meal. Too large for me so early.
Would I recommend it? Yes. Backpackers, this way. Everyone else, there's plenty to be found from US$50 - $80 that would suit you much better.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coalhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POPHOTELS, Brand Director at POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Coalhill,

Thank you very much for your review.
We really appreciate your input toward POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta so we can be better in the future.

We will ensure that the room condition is well maintained and staff is well trained, so we can give our guest and comfortable and satisfied stay experience, with an affordable room rate.

Our free morning bite is packaged with banana leaf following to our green concept and also be part of the local traditional breakfast promotion to our guest, so guest can taste what local people have in the morning while staying in POP! Hotel.

Once again,thank you very much.
Looking forward to see you again in POP! Hotels

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Brand Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Pop is a colorful hotel and is pretty nice for budget travelers! We had pre-booked it through Agoda.com, so our payment was done. After quick formalities at the reception desk we were given cards to the room. Room is also like the exterior - a splash of color! Our room overlooked the road through a small window! Room amenities are basic - you get TV, Air Condition, A couple of bottle of water, a soap and shampoo in name of toiletries. There is an attached translucent shower with no lock from inside, so your got to see what company you are travelling with! Rooms also have no bell so if your partner is our keep your ears for knock on the door. With the room breakfast is complimentary - we got local Indonesian food - don't know it is same everyday. The hotel premises is wifi, take your password from reception. There are also a couple of systems next to reception free for use. The hotel is just a few hundred meters away from Malioboro Street so that is a plus too!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelwithneel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POPHOTELS, Brand Director at POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. It is always great to know that our guest had good staying experience in POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta.

We provide free morning bite every 07.00 to 09.30, which changing the menu on daily basis, from variety of traditional rice for breakfast in Java.

POP! Hotel is located strategically only 50 m walking distance from the famous Tugu Yogyakarta and about 400 m from Malioboro. The easy one is just about take Becak, traditional Yogyakarta vehicle to go to Malioboro, so at same time you can also feel the sensation of riding this famous "Becak"

Hope you enjoyed a lot being in Yogyakarta, as one of the traditional Javanese art center that is rich of Unique souvenir and Javanese tasty culinary.

Hope we will see you again in POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta.
See you ...


Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Brand director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

A nice budget hotel for budget traveler. I went there because all the room in my regular hotel was sold out. The driver of my rental car suggested to check this relatively new hotel not far from Tugu (zero point of Yogyakarta). The color of the hotel is vibrant. Just enough room space to move and small bathroom. Breakfast is so simple, I suggest to eat breakfast outside the hotel. Room price relatively cheap, you can find 3 bed in one room so it is really suitable for budget traveller.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POPHOTELS, Brand Director at POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Elly K,

Thank you for your review. It is nice to know that you had good time in Yogyakarta.

POP! Hotel is a budget hotel, provide good accommodation with affordable price for everyone. We are always put the quality of cleanliness, product consistency and a friendly smile from our staff as the top priority for our guest satisfaction.

As you come from Lampung, we will be there soon by beginning of next year.

Once again, thank you very much.
Looking forward to see you soon in POP! Hotels, Jakarta, Yogyakarta, Bali, Bandung and soon in Lampung.

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Brand Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We arrived & were greeted by an open, bright, airy lobby with pops vibrant colours everywhere. These vibrant colours seem to give the impression of equally vibrant energy. Sadly, the reception staff didn't seem to be as high energy (an off day perhaps?) & checking in wasn't as brisk (as in some of the other places we'd stayed at). No big deal at all - we just took the time to snap some pix & explore the area. There are vending machines for hot & cold drinks, 3 PCs for guests' use, a small convenience store selling food, drinks & souvenirs, a seating area (where breakfast is served & to chill), a hot/cold water dispenser & recycle bins on the ground floor. Outside the building, they have a big parking lot with lots of bay, so, no problem if you drive here. We had booked through Agoda & our rooms were without breakfast but were pleasantly surprised to find out that the management was extending complimentary breakfast to us anyway. I thought that was very nice, thank you!

There are lifts, so, no need to worry about having to lug your bag upstairs. The room was nice, still carrying the pops of colour here & there. The bathroom could've been a little cleaner (for a hotel) & it was odd having the sink in the room but this isn't the only hotel in Indonesia where we've found the sink in the room. Bed & pillow were comfy, there was a flat screen TV with cable, a small safe, complimentary bottles of water, towels & some basic toiletries.
Breakfast Indonesian - simple yet tasty. There was a choice of either Nasi Ijo (green rice) or Nasi Ayam Rica Rica (Rica Rica chicken rice?). I'd opted for the latter & it was yummy. However, there are lots of food stalls nearby if this isn't enough or you could walk to the nearby tradional market to get some snacks or just head to the lively Malioboro Street & be spoilt for choice. The hotel is within walking distance to Malioboro Street but it isn't like it's just round the corner either. It's still a 15-20minute walk away but if you don't fancy walking, you could always just take a bechak (trishaw) for a reasonable price.

Apart from the time we checked & getting some drinks from the convenience store, we didn't really have much interaction with the staff here, plus the place is pretty big. They were generally pleasant. Objectively speaking, overall, this is really quite nice place to stay at & the rates aren't too bad either, but personally, I'd say I'll KIV this place if I were to return to Yogyakarta.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GPenaflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POPHOTELS, Brand Director at POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your nice review, it is a pleasant to know you had a good stay in POP! Hotel Sangaji and enjoyed your trip in Yogyakarta that is famous with its traditional Javanese culture.
Your input is highly appreciated and we will always try to improve our service to be better in the future.

POP! Hotel is located strategically in the heart of Yogyakarta. I belief you had tried some unique and delicious Yogyakarta culinary, with Javanese traditional ambience. Nasi Gudeg is one of famous food here, rice with jack fruit, cooked in traditional Javanese style.

Once again, thank you very much for your review.
We are looking forward welcoming you back to POP! Hotels.

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Brand Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Its a cheap hotel with good service, i spend 3 days there and it was very comfort and clean.
The location is in the city, so it was easy to go anywhere around Yogyakarta from this hotel.
Now iam planning to go to Bandung city, and planning to stay in POP Hotel again...

Room Tip: street view is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vidyaputra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POPHOTELS, Brand Director at POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Vidyaputra,

Many thanks for your review. It is a pleasant to know that you enjoyed staying in POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta.

POP! Hotels are budget hotel, provide a good accommodation to our guest with good value of money.
Hopefully you had a great time in Yogyakarta, enjoyed all the specialty of Javanese culinary and culture.

We are looking forward welcoming you soon in POP! Hotels, Yogyakarta, Bandung, Jakarta and Bali.
See you soon in Bandung ...

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Brand Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.7 mi away
POP! Hotel Malioboro
POP! Hotel Malioboro
#40 of 207 in Yogyakarta
377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Citradream Yogyakarta
Hotel Citradream Yogyakarta
#61 of 207 in Yogyakarta
107 reviews
2.0 mi away
Asana Grove Hotel Yogyakarta
Asana Grove Hotel Yogyakarta
#49 of 207 in Yogyakarta
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
POP! Hotel Timoho
POP! Hotel Timoho
#84 of 207 in Yogyakarta
34 reviews
2.6 mi away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#62 of 207 in Yogyakarta
231 reviews
2.0 mi away
Midtown Xpress Demangan
Midtown Xpress Demangan
#37 of 207 in Yogyakarta
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta

Address: Jl. AM Sangaji, Kav. 16-18 Jetis, Yogyakarta 55000, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 207 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range: $18 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing