We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good budget hotel close to Malioboro and Railway Station!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta
Ranked #50 of 204 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A good budget hotel close to Malioboro and Railway Station!”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Pop is a colorful hotel and is pretty nice for budget travelers! We had pre-booked it through Agoda.com, so our payment was done. After quick formalities at the reception desk we were given cards to the room. Room is also like the exterior - a splash of color! Our room overlooked the road through a small window! Room amenities are basic - you get TV, Air Condition, A couple of bottle of water, a soap and shampoo in name of toiletries. There is an attached translucent shower with no lock from inside, so your got to see what company you are travelling with! Rooms also have no bell so if your partner is our keep your ears for knock on the door. With the room breakfast is complimentary - we got local Indonesian food - don't know it is same everyday. The hotel premises is wifi, take your password from reception. There are also a couple of systems next to reception free for use. The hotel is just a few hundred meters away from Malioboro Street so that is a plus too!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ithrahim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POPHOTELS, Brand Director at POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. It is always great to know that our guest had good staying experience in POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta.

We provide free morning bite every 07.00 to 09.30, which changing the menu on daily basis, from variety of traditional rice for breakfast in Java.

POP! Hotel is located strategically only 50 m walking distance from the famous Tugu Yogyakarta and about 400 m from Malioboro. The easy one is just about take Becak, traditional Yogyakarta vehicle to go to Malioboro, so at same time you can also feel the sensation of riding this famous "Becak"

Hope you enjoyed a lot being in Yogyakarta, as one of the traditional Javanese art center that is rich of Unique souvenir and Javanese tasty culinary.

Hope we will see you again in POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta.
See you ...


Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Brand director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    232
    154
    29
    16
See reviews for
140
117
59
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Goslar, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

A nice budget hotel for budget traveler. I went there because all the room in my regular hotel was sold out. The driver of my rental car suggested to check this relatively new hotel not far from Tugu (zero point of Yogyakarta). The color of the hotel is vibrant. Just enough room space to move and small bathroom. Breakfast is so simple, I suggest to eat breakfast outside the hotel. Room price relatively cheap, you can find 3 bed in one room so it is really suitable for budget traveller.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POPHOTELS, Brand Director at POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Elly K,

Thank you for your review. It is nice to know that you had good time in Yogyakarta.

POP! Hotel is a budget hotel, provide good accommodation with affordable price for everyone. We are always put the quality of cleanliness, product consistency and a friendly smile from our staff as the top priority for our guest satisfaction.

As you come from Lampung, we will be there soon by beginning of next year.

Once again, thank you very much.
Looking forward to see you soon in POP! Hotels, Jakarta, Yogyakarta, Bali, Bandung and soon in Lampung.

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Brand Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We arrived & were greeted by an open, bright, airy lobby with pops vibrant colours everywhere. These vibrant colours seem to give the impression of equally vibrant energy. Sadly, the reception staff didn't seem to be as high energy (an off day perhaps?) & checking in wasn't as brisk (as in some of the other places we'd stayed at). No big deal at all - we just took the time to snap some pix & explore the area. There are vending machines for hot & cold drinks, 3 PCs for guests' use, a small convenience store selling food, drinks & souvenirs, a seating area (where breakfast is served & to chill), a hot/cold water dispenser & recycle bins on the ground floor. Outside the building, they have a big parking lot with lots of bay, so, no problem if you drive here. We had booked through Agoda & our rooms were without breakfast but were pleasantly surprised to find out that the management was extending complimentary breakfast to us anyway. I thought that was very nice, thank you!

There are lifts, so, no need to worry about having to lug your bag upstairs. The room was nice, still carrying the pops of colour here & there. The bathroom could've been a little cleaner (for a hotel) & it was odd having the sink in the room but this isn't the only hotel in Indonesia where we've found the sink in the room. Bed & pillow were comfy, there was a flat screen TV with cable, a small safe, complimentary bottles of water, towels & some basic toiletries.
Breakfast Indonesian - simple yet tasty. There was a choice of either Nasi Ijo (green rice) or Nasi Ayam Rica Rica (Rica Rica chicken rice?). I'd opted for the latter & it was yummy. However, there are lots of food stalls nearby if this isn't enough or you could walk to the nearby tradional market to get some snacks or just head to the lively Malioboro Street & be spoilt for choice. The hotel is within walking distance to Malioboro Street but it isn't like it's just round the corner either. It's still a 15-20minute walk away but if you don't fancy walking, you could always just take a bechak (trishaw) for a reasonable price.

Apart from the time we checked & getting some drinks from the convenience store, we didn't really have much interaction with the staff here, plus the place is pretty big. They were generally pleasant. Objectively speaking, overall, this is really quite nice place to stay at & the rates aren't too bad either, but personally, I'd say I'll KIV this place if I were to return to Yogyakarta.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GPenaflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POPHOTELS, Brand Director at POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your nice review, it is a pleasant to know you had a good stay in POP! Hotel Sangaji and enjoyed your trip in Yogyakarta that is famous with its traditional Javanese culture.
Your input is highly appreciated and we will always try to improve our service to be better in the future.

POP! Hotel is located strategically in the heart of Yogyakarta. I belief you had tried some unique and delicious Yogyakarta culinary, with Javanese traditional ambience. Nasi Gudeg is one of famous food here, rice with jack fruit, cooked in traditional Javanese style.

Once again, thank you very much for your review.
We are looking forward welcoming you back to POP! Hotels.

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Brand Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denpasar
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Its a cheap hotel with good service, i spend 3 days there and it was very comfort and clean.
The location is in the city, so it was easy to go anywhere around Yogyakarta from this hotel.
Now iam planning to go to Bandung city, and planning to stay in POP Hotel again...

Room Tip: street view is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vidyaputra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POPHOTELS, Brand Director at POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Vidyaputra,

Many thanks for your review. It is a pleasant to know that you enjoyed staying in POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta.

POP! Hotels are budget hotel, provide a good accommodation to our guest with good value of money.
Hopefully you had a great time in Yogyakarta, enjoyed all the specialty of Javanese culinary and culture.

We are looking forward welcoming you soon in POP! Hotels, Yogyakarta, Bandung, Jakarta and Bali.
See you soon in Bandung ...

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Brand Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

In general it is a very good hotel for the price.

Rooms are small but relatively clean. The bathroom was not super-clean and possibly did not have proper ventilation. I found that I need to keep its door close or the smell and gas fills into the small room.

Hotel Staff are helpful and polite. The free breakfast provided is not good (low quality rice and small chicken bits + coffee) but it's free anyway.

The hotel is near to city center and it is easy to move around. However it is in a noisy and old part of the city (the noise did not come into the room though).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macdermat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POPHOTELS, Brand Director at POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Macdermat,

Thank you for your time to share your experience staying in POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta.
We apologize for any inconvenience happened during your stay. We will follow up the issue regarding the bath room ventilation to ensure that it will not be bring smell to the overall room space.

Free complimentary Quick bite is served every morning from 07.00 - 09.30, which bring the concept of local traditional breakfast of Javanese people, so at same time our guest can try the local breakfast culinary where the hotel located. We understand that is very simple quick bite but it will help our guest to have something in the morning before they start their busy day.

Once again, thank you for your review and input.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in POP! Hotels, in Yogyakarta, Bali, Bandung and Jakarta.

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Brand Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is my second time stay at this nice hotel. The breakfast was still as it is, as per budget hotel. BUT, the location that is quite close to anywhere makes me wanna get back again. The room was clean and the air con was great cool. The WI-fi was also great at no cost. The staff was friendly, and the service was also quick.

Room Tip: try the second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liw_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POPHOTELS, Brand Director at POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your review, great to know that come back for your second stay in POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta and had a good staying experience in our hotel.

We believe you have a good time during your trip to Yogyakarta, which is very famous with all Javanese traditional culture, craft, culinary and architecture.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to POP! Hotels, in Yogyakarta, Bandung, Bali and Jakarta.
Have a great day and see you soon....

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Brand Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malacca
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed in Pop Hotel from 5th - 10th Nov 2012 with my family (3 young children). It is still a relatively new hotel (opened in June/July 2012 I think). Overall impressions were positive. As mentioned by the other travellers, room's were in good condition, clean and beds and linen of good quality to provide a good night's sleep. Overall good value for money

Staff was friendly and accomodating to my basic request like finding side by side rooms for my family, relocation to the back portion of hotel which was quieter, calling a taxi, extra blanket, international adaptor, etc. Breakfast is basic with a small packed rice and tea/coffee. Note, when you book in most hotels booking site, it is mentioned that breakfast is not included, so this simple "bite" is a bonus.

Location is about 1.5km from main Malioboro street. Short straight road walk if you are up to it but I decided to take the taxi due to my young children and congested traffic. There is a fairly large wet market opposite the hotel, and if you are like me where I like to see how the locals hang-out, nothing better than the wet market experience. There are many restaurants within walking distance (1km radius)so getting food is not an issue. If you are too tired after a day out, just get the reception to help you order pizza from the local pizza joint delivered to your room.

Finally some considerations. During my stay there were mainly local tourist staying, including a student tour group. If this is not your thing and you want an "expatriate" environment, pls. consider this. As this is a budget hotel, there are no cool hang-out areas within the hotel to sit, relax and dream your life away. Adequate TV channels (all the usual suspects available) to keep you occupied for the short hours before you knock off to sleep. Free Wifi and there a 3 PC's beside the reception for your quick emails and facebook updates.

Room Tip: If you need a quiter sleep, ask for a room NOT facing the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dchiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POPHOTELS, Director of Operations at POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your review.
It is a great pleasant to know that you enjoy staying in POP! Hotel Sangaji Tugu Yogyakarta.

POP! Hotel Sangaji Tugu Yogyakarta strategically located in the center of Yogyakarta, as one of the province that is famous with Local Javanese culture, with the Sultan Kingdom and Prambanan temple.

We are Budget Hotel, focus to good accommodation and eco friendly concept.

Once again, thank you very much for your comments. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to POP! Hotels

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.7 mi away
POP! Hotel Malioboro
POP! Hotel Malioboro
#33 of 204 in Yogyakarta
349 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Grove Express Timoho Hotel
The Grove Express Timoho Hotel
#41 of 204 in Yogyakarta
111 reviews
2.1 mi away
POP! Hotel Timoho
POP! Hotel Timoho
#93 of 204 in Yogyakarta
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#56 of 204 in Yogyakarta
215 reviews
2.0 mi away
Midtown Xpress Demangan
Midtown Xpress Demangan
#43 of 204 in Yogyakarta
101 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Neo+ Awana Yogyakarta
Hotel Neo+ Awana Yogyakarta
#24 of 204 in Yogyakarta
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta

Property: POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta
Address: Jl. AM Sangaji, Kav. 16-18 Jetis, Yogyakarta 55000, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 204 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing