We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good night's sleep at Pop Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta
Ranked #31 of 193 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Malacca
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A good night's sleep at Pop Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed in Pop Hotel from 5th - 10th Nov 2012 with my family (3 young children). It is still a relatively new hotel (opened in June/July 2012 I think). Overall impressions were positive. As mentioned by the other travellers, room's were in good condition, clean and beds and linen of good quality to provide a good night's sleep. Overall good value for money

Staff was friendly and accomodating to my basic request like finding side by side rooms for my family, relocation to the back portion of hotel which was quieter, calling a taxi, extra blanket, international adaptor, etc. Breakfast is basic with a small packed rice and tea/coffee. Note, when you book in most hotels booking site, it is mentioned that breakfast is not included, so this simple "bite" is a bonus.

Location is about 1.5km from main Malioboro street. Short straight road walk if you are up to it but I decided to take the taxi due to my young children and congested traffic. There is a fairly large wet market opposite the hotel, and if you are like me where I like to see how the locals hang-out, nothing better than the wet market experience. There are many restaurants within walking distance (1km radius)so getting food is not an issue. If you are too tired after a day out, just get the reception to help you order pizza from the local pizza joint delivered to your room.

Finally some considerations. During my stay there were mainly local tourist staying, including a student tour group. If this is not your thing and you want an "expatriate" environment, pls. consider this. As this is a budget hotel, there are no cool hang-out areas within the hotel to sit, relax and dream your life away. Adequate TV channels (all the usual suspects available) to keep you occupied for the short hours before you knock off to sleep. Free Wifi and there a 3 PC's beside the reception for your quick emails and facebook updates.

Room Tip: If you need a quiter sleep, ask for a room NOT facing the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dchiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POPHOTELS, Director of Operations at POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your review.
It is a great pleasant to know that you enjoy staying in POP! Hotel Sangaji Tugu Yogyakarta.

POP! Hotel Sangaji Tugu Yogyakarta strategically located in the center of Yogyakarta, as one of the province that is famous with Local Javanese culture, with the Sultan Kingdom and Prambanan temple.

We are Budget Hotel, focus to good accommodation and eco friendly concept.

Once again, thank you very much for your comments. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to POP! Hotels

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    219
    147
    28
    16
See reviews for
133
111
57
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Price per night: RM88 (28usd

We stayed here for 2 nights. The room size was standard, not to small. Got the problem with bathroom glass door, not much privacy because the bathroom glass door is look a little transparent. You can see what person in the toilet doing.

The hotel is big and got many room. The laundry services, you need to go to the counter downstair (different company, they open their both at the ground floor). Nice smell everywhere especially in the lift. POP!, I always thought about lollypop.

To Malioboro, 15minutes walked, better using a trishaw (15k rupiah from the hotel). Hotel just next to the Tugu Jogja. In front of the hotel many food stall, and restaurant. Overall, this hotel is good for family with a low budget.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mytravellicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POPHOTELS, Director of Operations at POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Many thanks for your comments.
It is great to know that you have good stay in POP! Hotel Sangaji Tugu Yogyakarta.

We are working with the new design of bedroom and will try to accommodate your input at this point.

Hopefully you had a great trip in Yogyakarta as one of famous Javanese culture centre in Indonesia.
Thank you

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

My boyfriend and I booked a room for a night in Pop Hotel Tugu Jogja for our short holiday in Jogja. The hotel is okay, I ve got bad first impression about the hotel though. The reception staff was busy with her phone when I got there and when I asked nicely about my room and that my boyfriend had check in earlier, she didnt really bother to help.

Room: We stayed at the 2nd floor, the style is good, kind of contemporary room yet the over all design is just okay. The best thing about the room is the bed. It's really comfortable. After a long day working, catching a flight to Jogja, it was nice to have a rest and had a good sleeping quality.

Service: Even though the lady on the reception was giving me bad impression but the morning staff was really nice and helpful.

Value: This hotel has a good value for the price that we paid considering Pop Hotel is everywhere and it met the standart. The bed was good, the room was good and it was okay stay for us.

Room Tip: We had the room on the left side and it was with no view but we only stayed overnight before going t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ViajeraDeMemoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POPHOTELS, Director of Operations at POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.
We apologize for any inconvenience experience you had during your check in process. We will follow up and ensure that it won't happen again in the future.

Yogyakarta is one of the province that is very rich with the local javanese culture and local culinary. Hopefully that you had a great trip experience in Yogyakarta.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to POP! Hotels, in Bali, Yogyakarta, Bandung and soon Jakarta.

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stay here by the end of August for my short Holiday.
This hotel is near to the city center and Malioboro shopping areas.
Rooms are in very good condition, clean and provides good value for money.
The staffs are extremely friendly and prompt in delivering anything that we need.

Anyone, who needs a simple rooms, nice Wi-Fi, good location, yumm simple breakkie, and a good night sleep, this hotel is ready to POP you.

Thank you, POP Tugu!! :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riiiiiiich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POPHOTELS, Director of Operations at POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your comment.
It is great to know you enjoy your stay in POP! Hotel Sangaji Tugu Yogyakarta.

POP! Hotel Sangaji Tugu Yogyakarta is a Budget Hotel that provide a good accommodation for our smart and eco friendly traveler, with free morning bite and free wifi in all hotel area.

Located at center of Yogyakarta as one of famous tourism spot with a lot of interesting places, such as Keraton Yogya (King palace), Prambanan & Borobudur temples, Merapi volcano, Parang Tritis beach and famous batik area in Malioboro.

Once again, Thank you for your comment, we are looking forward welcoming you back to POP! Hotels Yogyakarta, Bali, Bandung, soon in Jakarta and Tangerang.

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

I was stay for 4 nights during Lebaran (Hari Raya) holiday, and I already booked via POPhotel website 1 month before. And I was very happy because this hotel is very clean, the bed comfortable, the room max for 3 persons, and of course "value for money", and the price included breakfast, free wifi and there are mobile phone chargers in dining room. Their Staff are also very friendly. This hotel location near a "Tugu", and not far to Malioboro street (by becak it's only 10 minutes). Near the hotel you can find some traditional Yogya food like Nasi Gudeg Bu Juminten at Kranggan street a cross the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alsqtecture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POPHOTELS, Director of Operations at POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your review. It is a great pleasant to know that you enjoy staying in POP! Hotel Sangaji Tugu Yogyakarta.

POP! Hotel Sangaji Tugu Yogyakarta is one of the POP! Hotel network available in Indonesia. We have also in Bali, Bandung, and soon in Jakarta and Tangerang.

Hopefully we will see you soon in POP! Hotel
Our friendly team will always be happy to welcoming you back.
Wish you always have a great day...

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I am a happy customer. Here's why:
1. The hotel is clean. It's basic but with that affordable price, it's a steal.
2. Great location. Close to the center of the business district, restaurants, and bus stops.
3. Friendly and helpful staffs
4. The breakfast was ok but hey, it is not a 5-star hotel!

If you are looking for a clean place to rest at night and need on a budget, this is the place!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweety S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POPHOTELS, Director of Operations at POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your review.
It is great to know that you enjoy your stay in POP! Hotel Sangaji Tugu Yogyakarta.

POP! Hotel is budget hotel and it is one of our priority to give a good accommodation with a good value of money.

POP! Hotel Sangaji Tugu Yogyakarta is one of member of POP! family in Indonesia, which located also in Bali, Bandung and soon in Jakarta.

We are looking forward welcoming you back to POP! Hotel.

Sincerely yours,


Irene Janti
Director of operations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
178 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We spend a few days in this hotel. The room was clean, the bed nice and breakfast was included in the price (even though the Booking said that it was not included).

The location is really good - near to various warungs and Tugu and not far away from Malioboro street. And most important of all is that it's quite.

The room costs 288, 000 rp and if you stay more than four days they will give you a small discount!

Free wi-fi, tv and aircon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank annapapa_thes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POPHOTELS, Director of Operations at POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Valued Guest in Greece,

Thank you very much for your nice review.

POP! Hotel is built to accommodate a smart and eco friendly traveller, with a good value of money and good standard quality of cleanliness.

POP! Hotel Tugu Yogyakarta is one of our POP! Hotel family in Indonesia, after the opening of POP! Hotel in Bali, Bandung and soon will be in Jakarta.

Thank you very much for your review.
We are looking forward welcoming you back again to our POP! Hotel.

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.7 mi away
POP! Hotel Malioboro
POP! Hotel Malioboro
#30 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Grove Express Timoho Hotel
The Grove Express Timoho Hotel
#38 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel 1001 Malam
Hotel 1001 Malam
#27 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
POP! Hotel Timoho
POP! Hotel Timoho
#118 of 193 in Yogyakarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
2.6 mi away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#55 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amaris Hotel Diponegoro
Amaris Hotel Diponegoro
#100 of 193 in Yogyakarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta

Property: POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta
Address: Jl. AM Sangaji, Kav. 16-18 Jetis, Yogyakarta 55000, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 193 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing