We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel for budget traveler”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta
Ranked #82 of 207 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Reviewed August 22, 2012

we stayed the first time at a POP hotel and we were pretty excited for the money u pay, u get a really nice room with your own bathroom and it was clean, so we would totally recommend to stay there, very friendly staff and even breakfast was included.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manuela z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POPHOTELS, Director of Operations at POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Dear Manuela,

Thank you very much for your review. It is great to know that you enjoy your stay in POP! Hotel Sangaji Tugu Yogyakarta.

Our guest satisfaction and good value of money always become our first priority in POP! Hotels.
Any comment from you will encourage us to be stronger in keeping the consistency of product and quality in POP! Hotels.

With your nice staying experience, I believe it gave you a great time to enjoy Yogyakarta as one of the tourism destination in our country Indonesia.

Thank you very much, we are looking forward welcoming you back to POP! Hotels.

See you soon...

Sincerely yours,


Irene Janti
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (567)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

259 - 265 of 567 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

Clean spacious room. Very happy place. The building is colorful and very airy. The place is quite savy. They have ipads for check ins. Very speedy check ins and check outs too. One bad point is that the shower is clogged.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabahlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POPHOTELS, Director of Operations at POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Dear Valued Guest in Malaysia,

Many thanks for your review.
Your input is highly appreciated and we will follow up for the shower pod issue and ensure it won't happen again in the future.

Looking forward welcoming you back in POP! Hotels family, in Yogyakarta, Bali, Bandung and soon Jakarta.

See you...

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This is the first Pop! i ever stayed in, it was recently open so some shops on the first floor has not open yet.

To those who expect 5-star service with room boy carrying your luggage and full breakfast, here's the keyword "budget hotel" if you're not sure what it means then you should go out more. Its cheap (i pay IDR 288K), what more do you expect???

anyway, the room is nice & clean, small but functional, have windows, no need to hassle getting toiletries cause they prepare decent ones, service was good, all rooms have windows (yes, you'd be surprised that some budget hotels in Indonesia don't have windows), free internet, service was as good as i expected.

location wise, its not along the malioboro street, but not far from there & the surroundings are quiet at night.

this is definitely one of the budget hotels i wouldn't mind coming back to.
the only problem is for booking, Pop! require 50% down payment in advance (in cash or transfer) which is quite troublesome + i have to re-confirm after i made the payment. they will call (chase) you to make the payment or else it will be cancelled, but then again the call center has good service attitude, so i wouldn't mind.

didnt try the breakfast so cant comment.

Room Tip: Rooms at the first floor are less convenience, cause you can hear people passing by + less privacy c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank therandomadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POPHOTELS, Director of Operations at POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your nice review sharing your experience staying in POP! Hotel Sangaji Tugu Yogyakarta
We are working now to make some improvement in our online booking system. We know that is challenging, but our guest satisfaction is always as first priority, so we have to find solution to get easy and simple tool for our guest in a way to book the hotel.

Once again, Thank you for your review.
We are looking forward welcoming you back in POP! Hotels.

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I'd like to make a balance, objective rating for this newly opened hotel.
Unlike others who made comments before, I didn't have any issue on early booking process. In fact, the confirmation from the hotel management on my booking and payment was excellent. They also responded quite well on my few enquiries (e.g. extra pillow, bathmat, etc). Even they gave me few references for car rentals.
Hotel location is a bit off from the central of the city, but consider still ok (about 5-10 minutes to Malioboro street by becak - about IDR 10,000 - 15,000 per ride). Not so difficult to get meals nearby, particularly if we're 'easygoing' or backpackers.
As the Hotel is classified as 'budget hotel', it's valued for money (the previous commenters - please consider this). Minimalist with optimizing the space and functionality. For those who expect more services from the hotel (e.g. room services, etc), you should not look for this hotel (or any similar type of hotel); otherwise you'll be disappointed with yourown expectation.
Wi-Fi connection in the room and hotel area is fairly ok, particularly if you don't want to waste your vacation time by browsing and downloading videos.

Now my 'comments for improvement':
- hotel management shall be more deliberate and clear on the 'smoking policy' in the hotel. Expecting guests to read the small, tiny words of signs might not be wise; it will annoy other guests who expect the real 'eco-green' stay in this hotel;
- access card - staying 3 nights, we experienced unpleasant situation when our cards were not functioned (and had to be reprogrammed) - the fact that we have to put 'deposit money' for each card issued, this may not a fair game for guests;
- quick bite: the idea of providing simple breakfast tagged as 'quick bite' is a two thumbs; however the portion is not so fancy - also the selections mostly not 'kid-friendly' as it's spicy and size-wise not so impressive (suggestion to guests: bring your own 'meals' if you really want to have breakfast time in the hotel)

In summary, this hotel is reasonable and fairly ok for those who plan to explore the Jogjakarta city and surroundings optimumly thus will only need a simple-yet-fair beds for rest. Don't expect too much. Compare with other hotels with similar rate, this one is a good consideration.

Enjoy Jogja!

Room Tip: I consider to pick lower floors (1st or 2nd) as you dont need to fight for elevator. Also pick '...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JASeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

Dear Mr. Seno in Jakarta,

Many thanks for your review and input regarding POP! Hotel Tugu Yogyakarta.

It is great to know you enjoy staying in our Hotel.

We noted all your comments and will follow up to improve what we have in POP! Hotel now.
The hotel just opened for 1 month, so by having your constructive input, we believe we can be better in the future and keep focusing to our customer satisfaction.

Once again, thank you very much for your nice sharing and input to our Hotel.
Looking forward welcoming you soon in POP! Hotels, Yogyakarta, Bali, Bandung and soon in Jakarta.

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

First of all, I appreciates their effort on how to make their hotel unique. My first impression of their hotel is so-so. The building facade was unimpressive, although they succeed to steal peoples attention with their logo, Their lobby was small with one reception table in the corner and one rounded sofa in the center. Their sofa is only sufficient for 10 person, which in my opinion is not enough. Their check in process was a plus. It's fast and efficient. My room size was okay compared with other budget hotel. One thing who took my attention is their curve shaped bathroom design. Although it's a new, but it looks ages. The bed is too hard so I didn't get a nice sleep. And, I awake around 5am by the bell from church next door. The hotel also provides free simple breakfast, which contain meal box with coffee and tea.
Overall my stay at Pop Tugu was okay with some drawbacks. But, I concerned more about their property's fixtures quality, which I think was pretty low. For now, as a new hotel, it looks nice and well design. But, I'm not sure about the condition few years later.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DicQo_de_SmG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POPHOTELS, Director of Operations at POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment.
We noted all your comments and will discuss it internally with our management and owner in order to bring some improvement to our Hotel.

It is always good to hear some input from our guest, which we believe it will encourage us to be better in the future.
Once again, we really appreciate for your comments.

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I haven't really put my feet inside the hotel yet.. But this hotel already give me a bad impression. Mainly of the rude sales person.

I booked online through pop hotel website and entered my credit card payment as their requested. I did not expect that there was a separate cash payment to be sent to their other account. I travel regularly and have booked many hotels before nationally and internationally, non of them require a separate payment on top of my credit card payment that i gave them.

This early morning i receive a very rude call from pop hotel demanding the separate cash deposit. After explaining to the sales lady that i wasn't aware of the additional deposit nor was i given any info as to where i was suppose to transfer, the sales lady rudely told me that i only had 3 hours to make the payment.
I had to leave my work and office and rush to the bank to make the deposit.

This is an unnecessarily frustrating experience for a customer. This may be the last time i use pop hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dancingrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POPHOTELS, Director of Operations at POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments.

On behalf of POP! Hotel Tugu Yogyakarta, we apologize for this inconvenience.

The credit card number that you filled up in the booking page is only for verification. At the moment our booking system is still unable to do online payment again.

Once again, we apologize for this inconvenience, and we will follow up to our team the way they contact the guest, give a proper explanation, and to ensure that it will not happen again in the future.

Thank you very much

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
Thank Arman J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.7 mi away
POP! Hotel Malioboro
POP! Hotel Malioboro
#40 of 207 in Yogyakarta
377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Citradream Yogyakarta
Hotel Citradream Yogyakarta
#61 of 207 in Yogyakarta
107 reviews
2.0 mi away
Asana Grove Hotel Yogyakarta
Asana Grove Hotel Yogyakarta
#49 of 207 in Yogyakarta
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
POP! Hotel Timoho
POP! Hotel Timoho
#84 of 207 in Yogyakarta
34 reviews
2.6 mi away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#62 of 207 in Yogyakarta
231 reviews
2.0 mi away
Midtown Xpress Demangan
Midtown Xpress Demangan
#37 of 207 in Yogyakarta
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta

Address: Jl. AM Sangaji, Kav. 16-18 Jetis, Yogyakarta 55000, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 207 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range: $18 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing