We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (680)
Filter reviews
680 results
Traveler rating
161
285
181
34
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
285
181
34
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbudget hotelmalioboro streetlong sofasimple breakfastsoap and shampoofree breakfaststrategic areatv cablemineral watertwo thumbscheap pricecomfort roomhelpful staffstugu monumentnice hotelwalking distanceroom rate
Filter
Updating list...
307 - 312 of 680 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I'd like to make a balance, objective rating for this newly opened hotel.
Unlike others who made comments before, I didn't have any issue on early booking process. In fact, the confirmation from the hotel management on my booking and payment was excellent. They also responded quite well on my few enquiries (e.g. extra pillow, bathmat, etc). Even they gave me few references for car rentals.
Hotel location is a bit off from the central of the city, but consider still ok (about 5-10 minutes to Malioboro street by becak - about IDR 10,000 - 15,000 per ride). Not so difficult to get meals nearby, particularly if we're 'easygoing' or backpackers.
As the Hotel is classified as 'budget hotel', it's valued for money (the previous commenters - please consider this). Minimalist with optimizing the space and functionality. For those who expect more services from the hotel (e.g. room services, etc), you should not look for this hotel (or any similar type of hotel); otherwise you'll be disappointed with yourown expectation.
Wi-Fi connection in the room and hotel area is fairly ok, particularly if you don't want to waste your vacation time by browsing and downloading videos.

Now my 'comments for improvement':
- hotel management shall be more deliberate and clear on the 'smoking policy' in the hotel. Expecting guests to read the small, tiny words of signs might not be wise; it will annoy other guests who expect the real 'eco-green' stay in this hotel;
- access card - staying 3 nights, we experienced unpleasant situation when our cards were not functioned (and had to be reprogrammed) - the fact that we have to put 'deposit money' for each card issued, this may not a fair game for guests;
- quick bite: the idea of providing simple breakfast tagged as 'quick bite' is a two thumbs; however the portion is not so fancy - also the selections mostly not 'kid-friendly' as it's spicy and size-wise not so impressive (suggestion to guests: bring your own 'meals' if you really want to have breakfast time in the hotel)

In summary, this hotel is reasonable and fairly ok for those who plan to explore the Jogjakarta city and surroundings optimumly thus will only need a simple-yet-fair beds for rest. Don't expect too much. Compare with other hotels with similar rate, this one is a good consideration.

Enjoy Jogja!

Room Tip: I consider to pick lower floors (1st or 2nd) as you dont need to fight for elevator. Also pick 'big' room numbers to reduce 'noisy' and disturbance created by guest movement.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JASeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

Dear Mr. Seno in Jakarta,

Many thanks for your review and input regarding POP! Hotel Tugu Yogyakarta.

It is great to know you enjoy staying in our Hotel.

We noted all your comments and will follow up to improve what we have in POP! Hotel now.
The hotel just opened for 1 month, so by having your constructive input, we believe we can be better in the future and keep focusing to our customer satisfaction.

Once again, thank you very much for your nice sharing and input to our Hotel.
Looking forward welcoming you soon in POP! Hotels, Yogyakarta, Bali, Bandung and soon in Jakarta.

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

First of all, I appreciates their effort on how to make their hotel unique. My first impression of their hotel is so-so. The building facade was unimpressive, although they succeed to steal peoples attention with their logo, Their lobby was small with one reception table in the corner and one rounded sofa in the center. Their sofa is only sufficient for 10 person, which in my opinion is not enough. Their check in process was a plus. It's fast and efficient. My room size was okay compared with other budget hotel. One thing who took my attention is their curve shaped bathroom design. Although it's a new, but it looks ages. The bed is too hard so I didn't get a nice sleep. And, I awake around 5am by the bell from church next door. The hotel also provides free simple breakfast, which contain meal box with coffee and tea.
Overall my stay at Pop Tugu was okay with some drawbacks. But, I concerned more about their property's fixtures quality, which I think was pretty low. For now, as a new hotel, it looks nice and well design. But, I'm not sure about the condition few years later.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DicQo_de_SmG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POPHOTELS, Director of Operations at POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment.
We noted all your comments and will discuss it internally with our management and owner in order to bring some improvement to our Hotel.

It is always good to hear some input from our guest, which we believe it will encourage us to be better in the future.
Once again, we really appreciate for your comments.

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I haven't really put my feet inside the hotel yet.. But this hotel already give me a bad impression. Mainly of the rude sales person.

I booked online through pop hotel website and entered my credit card payment as their requested. I did not expect that there was a separate cash payment to be sent to their other account. I travel regularly and have booked many hotels before nationally and internationally, non of them require a separate payment on top of my credit card payment that i gave them.

This early morning i receive a very rude call from pop hotel demanding the separate cash deposit. After explaining to the sales lady that i wasn't aware of the additional deposit nor was i given any info as to where i was suppose to transfer, the sales lady rudely told me that i only had 3 hours to make the payment.
I had to leave my work and office and rush to the bank to make the deposit.

This is an unnecessarily frustrating experience for a customer. This may be the last time i use pop hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dancingrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POPHOTELS, Director of Operations at POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments.

On behalf of POP! Hotel Tugu Yogyakarta, we apologize for this inconvenience.

The credit card number that you filled up in the booking page is only for verification. At the moment our booking system is still unable to do online payment again.

Once again, we apologize for this inconvenience, and we will follow up to our team the way they contact the guest, give a proper explanation, and to ensure that it will not happen again in the future.

Thank you very much

Sincerely yours,

Irene Janti
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harum-Hendra-Winata, Manager at POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harum-Hendra-Winata, Manager at POP! Hotel Sangaji Yogyakarta, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews