We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homestay Heru”
Review of Homestay Heru

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yogyakarta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Homestay Heru
Ranked #36 of 503 Yogyakarta B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed here recently, Fabulous place to be when in Jogjakarta, The home is clean , affordable and bed is very comfortable. Food was simple & tasty, Will surely stayed there again or recommend to friends who are going to visit Jogja.. Ibu & Pak Heru are friendly and approachable. Atmosphere was good during dinner where you get to mixed and talk to guest of other countries.

Room Tip: Higher floors will hve less disturbance
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Teo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Puji Lestar... e, Owner at Homestay Heru, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Teo C,

We very much appreciate for your comments regarding your stay at Homestay Heru. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope your next visit will be as much pleasant as the previous one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Homestay Heru
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 49 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

I stayed at Homestay Heru for 4 months between April and August 2012 and I must admit that my stay in Indonesia would not have been the same if I had stayed at another place! Homestay Heru is simply a great place to live and to meet new people from completely different cultural backgrounds.

Rooms are clean and have their own en suite bathroom. Desk, chair, wardrobe are provided. You might even get a double bed if you're lucky. Rooms are cleaned on a weekly basis upon demand. Laundry is done daily and is scheduled like a Swiss clock. The basket is picked up around 8am, clothes will be ready at around 3pm. A BIG advantage was that the domestic helpers iron your clothes.

Food at Homestay Heru is delicious. The satay, gado-gado and ayam goreng were particularly delicious. Food was always provided in quantity and Ibu Heru, the real chief of the house, is always more than happy to share dinner and breakfast with her guests. A slightly negative point that I must admit was the lack of diversity for breakfast. Maybe adding one or two jams would be a good idea for those who don't like peanut butter or do not want to eat Nutella every morning. Also, a variety of fruits other than pineapple, watermelon and papaya would not hurt. But this is a very minor point.

Ibu Heru and her family are fantastic people. They speak good English, the mum even speaks French. They are always happy to help out. I must admit that life at Homestay Heru is different when Ibu Heru is not around. The domestic helpers are also very nice, friendly and lovely people. For those who can speak Bahasa Indonesia, they are great conversation partners since they cannot speak English. A noteworthy anecdote is that pretty much all students i spoke to at UGM or Sanata Dharma know about the Homestay Heru.

During my stay, I had the chance to meet very diverse people from all over the world, with a paricular focus for those who come to Yogya for Bahasa Indonesia. In Homestay Heru, you will always meet students, diplomats, NGO officers and also sometimes tourists. Dinner at 7pm is a really great time for everyone to mingle and exchange some life experience.

Location-wise, the homestay is very well located in the heart of Yogya's student environment, walking distance from Sanata Dharma and two private language institutes. It's near UNY and UGM. An international hotel, its swimming pool and gym are a 5 minute walk away. A motorcycle rental is also in the neighborhood.

Food in the area is also great, i would recommend anyone to try eating at the local warungs and to get off the beaten track of Western-style restaurants. Particularly try the Chinese Indonesian Warung Manalagi in Jalan Moses, and the hot plate one opposite Yogya Plaza Hotel. Although the Italian restaurant Nanamia is fancy, walk 10 more minutes further down to Jalan Cendrawasih and visit Il Mondo Pizzeria which is in my view far better (taste-wise).

In a nutshell, I would recommend anyone to stay at Homestay Heru in Yogya. More than a simple place to sleep and have dinner, it will give you an authentic taste of life in Indonesia with an Indonesian family. I hope to visit them again soon!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rpbar4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Puji Lestar... e, Owner at Homestay Heru, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear rpbar4,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Homestay Heru. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our crew and this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strife to continuously improve the quality of our service.

Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope your next visit will be as much pleasant as the previous one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The homestay was wonderful! I was travelling by myself and needed to stay for a month, so it was reassuring to have such a friendly place to stay. The food was great and it was a great way to meet other travelers. Would definitely recommend. :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraJW25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

If you look for a place to stay where you can feel home, go to Homestay Heru. The big, lovingly furnished house with its open, friendly atmosphere offers you very nice rooms with enough space to store your things, several places to relax or study as on one of the green balconies or in the common living room, great varied javanese food, and, the best, a very nice, cheerful family willing to help you whatever your matter is. In a nutshell, Homestay Heru is the best possible basis for all kind of indonesian adventures you might want to go for during your stay in Yogya! I already planned my next trip to Yogya - destination: Homestay Heru!!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank LieseJakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Best Place to stay in Yogyakarta.
Wonderful lovely Family and awesome javanese food.

We stayed for our language course for 2 weeks and we enjoyed it very much to talk to the whole Heru-Clan in bahasa Indonesia.



Best regards

Claudio, Gero & Valentin

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valentin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Nice people,nice food,nice location.I have stayed there twice and thirty days each stay and i will go there again.Ibu is like a mother to all,she does look after her guest very well.Laundry service is like a swiss watch.There is a travel agent next door and indomaret opposite.If you want to work out there is a European standard Gym in yogyakarta plaza hotel.Nice family.I am already planning to send my teenager sons for a summer stay there.Terima kasih banyak ibu.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank efesmurat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Puji Lestar... e, Owner at Homestay Heru, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear efesmurat,

We very much appreciate for your comments regarding your stay at Homestay Heru. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope your next visit will be as much pleasant as the previous one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

My Husband, daughter and myself stayed at Heru's for a whole week. It is a homestay, a large house with many rooms, and shared common areas. The price of our stay included breakfast and dinner where you dine family-style, with other people staying at the homestay, on one of 2 dining tables.
I couldn't stress enough how appropriate Heru's place is for the purpose of traveling through Jogja on a budget. The dining-style gives you the opportunity to meet with other travelers, mostly students (Studying bahasa at the nearby language school). It is just the right distance from the center of town- far enough to make you feel like you are getting away yet close enough to catch a cab for a tour in the silver district, the main market district, a night movie... For the ladies who would like a break there is also a salon and spa recommended to me by Heru where you can get top treatment for very little. (I got an hour long massage, a pedicure, a hair cut and blow dry for $10 US).
It is VERY clean for those concerned about that. They also offer laundry service (one set of clothing per day), the rooms have AC, hot water. Their meals are delicious and generous. The owners (Heru and her husband) are super friendly. They also have a very nice and friendly cat. My husband is allergic but was unaffected since the cat doesn't go into rooms. The common areas where people can sit with a book or to watch TV (they have a satellite dish) offer privacy if needed, or a more shared environment. The only thing is that you have to rent a room by the week, not the night.

All in all, yes, I would highly recommend Heru's Homestay. After traveling through harder parts of Indonesia, it was like an oasis.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on the second floor. Any room is fine.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Puji Lestar... e, Owner at Homestay Heru, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear R B,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Homestay Heru. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our crew and this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strife to continuously improve the quality of our service.

Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope your next visit will be as much pleasant as the previous one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Yogyakarta Adi Sucipto
Ibis Yogyakarta Adi Sucipto
#60 of 205 in Yogyakarta
37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel New Saphir Yogyakarta
Hotel New Saphir Yogyakarta
#95 of 205 in Yogyakarta
192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Puri Artha Hotel
Puri Artha Hotel
#52 of 205 in Yogyakarta
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Andelis Homestay
Andelis Homestay
#4 of 503 in Yogyakarta
194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sabana Homestay
Sabana Homestay
#42 of 503 in Yogyakarta
51 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bamboo bamboo home stay
Bamboo bamboo home stay
#12 of 503 in Yogyakarta
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestay Heru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestay Heru

Address: Jln. Pronggodani 15, Yogyakarta 55281, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 503 B&Bs / Inns in Yogyakarta
Price Range: $12 - $13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homestay area is a 700 m square the building with 2 stories. The total size of the building 600 m square. We have 11 guests rooms and 6 double rooms and 6 single rooms, 4 other rooms for family, 16 bathrooms for each rooms. The 1st floor has 3 verandas, the 2nd floor has 4 verandas. The house is surrounded by plants, flower plants, and fruit plants. The area of the house is also surrounded by 6 universities such as Gajahmada University, University of Yogyakarta, Sanata Dharma University, University of Islam Indonesia, Atmajaya University, Islam State University, 2 language school such as Alam Bahasa and Wisma Bahasa. Mostly the guest that stay with us are students or researchers. My house is in front of Sejahtera Apartment and that is the only Apartment in Yogyakarta. Surrounding my house there are many small restaurant that sells a variety of Indonesian Food. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing