We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in downtown of Yogyakarta”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Ranked #7 of 207 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We were staying for 2 nights and we really enjoyed almost all aspects of this hotel. The staffs were friendly and helpful. Room was not so spacious but it was nicely decorated. The food at the restaurant was good and we also tried Mexican food at the Sky dining restaurant. The food was also good. When we entered the hotel, the nice scent of floral fragrance welcoming us. It was very refreshing. And the welcoming drink - one of the receptionist told us that it was from Rosella flower - it was also taste good and refreshing. One thing lack from observation from the cleaning was the glass partition on the bathroom. It looked hazy and not so clean and seemed it need cleaning But overall, we enjoyed our stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yuli W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,091)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

612 - 618 of 1,091 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Amazing bed and sheets. Rooms not that big, but sufficient. Decor feels a little cheap, but I liked their color combinations. Nice clean bathroom. They have an outdoor lounge that seems very "happening". Internet speed was good. Service was so-so. I had a bellboy barge in with a few guests checking in right behind him. Instead of offering an apology on the spot, he slammed the door shut instead. I then received a few phone calls from reception,apologising. But no offers of a discount voucher or anything else to make up for the intrusion. Also, restaurant promos aren't valid via room service, even though they're advertised in your room. Overall, I liked the hotel. It's clean,new and modern. Great for a business traveller. If their service was better, I would have rated it higher.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fahmiab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in April 2014 with my partner.
This hotel was a real find. A great, new hotel that is reasonably priced and well located.
We stayed in a deluxe room with breakfast. We were allocated a room at the back of the hotel that had fantastic view of mt. merapi accompanied by the charming sounds of Islamic prayer echoing around the neighbourhood.
Pros:
The lobby is fantastic, room service fast and quality, the rooms are large and beautiful with comfortable beds and lots of natural light, the pool excellent and the reception staff welcoming and have good english. Breakfasts were amazing (loved the fresh, hot waffles). We ate at Holy Cow, which is within the hotel grounds 3x. Great food, atmosphere and value. For a western tourist, this hotel is perfect and well priced.
Cons:
The gym is small (perhaps a little too small for more than 1 or 2 people) but beautifully formed.
The day spa service is inconsistent. We had two great massages one day, but two days later (different staff) I had a terrible massage where the masseuse mistakenly focussed solely on my bones and tendons (ouch!!). For a new hotel, our room was showing some signs of wear.
Housekeeping don't speak english. We rang for a pair of scissors and were brought (albeit in record short time) extra toilet paper.
Overall: Would we stay here again? Yes. Absolutely.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor at the back of the hotel for views of Mt Merapi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank damo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel. Check-in was smooth and efficient, whilst the rooms were very well appointed and comfortable. I believe this hotel must be fairly new as everything in the room looked like they haven't been used very much. Beds were comfortable and air-cond worked well. My only dissatisfaction was the breakfast. Pastries were good but that was all. Variety was limited and taste was quite poor. Staff service levels were also a bit disappointing. We called for someone to help us with our luggage when we were checking out and they took more than 15 minutes, so we just decided to carry it down by ourselves. It's a very good hotel just for the rooms and location was pretty close to a mall.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davina986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Highly recommended. Breakfast is great and beds really comfy.
We love the Holycow restaurant, with awesome food and very reasonable.
Gym is a bit tiny and so is the pool but enough to stretch or refresh after a long day visiting.
Taxis are cheap but make sure to take one of the tricycle-taxis, is a fun ride.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Carlespaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The check in was easy enough, the wait for the luggage was quite long. No air con in the room and breakfast was dismal, poor choice for westerners. The gym is very small and again, the air con isn't turned on and the treadmills are set at a high incline so you won't be in there for long. The pool is small, hardly worth a visit. There are better hotels to stay in the area.n Avoid the 7th floor unless you like to be kept awake by loud revellers in the bar.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cleversod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Spending for 3 nights stay in Grand Aston hotel, overall staff was very helpful and friendly, rooms was clean and comfort, only little comment is I don't know why my room mini bar was lock, breakfast was a bit disappointed where they don't serve many variety choice and some food really not taste good.
Opposite road was a convenient store but only open till 9pm, not easy to get food outside at night.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank GOHTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.9 mi away
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
1.1 mi away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#4 of 207 in Yogyakarta
1,004 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
#10 of 207 in Yogyakarta
993 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
Jambuluwuk Malioboro
#28 of 207 in Yogyakarta
976 reviews
1.3 mi away
Melia Purosani
Melia Purosani
#16 of 207 in Yogyakarta
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Aston Yogyakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Aston Yogyakarta

Address: Jl. Urip sumoharjo no. 37, Yogyakarta 55222, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
#5 Luxury Hotel in Yogyakarta
#6 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
#6 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range: $49 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Aston Yogyakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the center of the town and one close steps to the main street of Yogyakarta which is well known for the central of the crowd in Yogyakarta, the prestigious Urip Sumoharjo District, assures you an easy access to airport, business district area, major tourists and cultural attractions, shopping and dining during your visit to this city with historical Royal Heritage. Grand Aston Yogyakarta offers you the great pleasure and service while staying in Yogyakarta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Aston Yogyakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Aston Yogyakarta Hotel Yogyakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing