We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, clean room, comfy bed, long wait!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Aston Yogyakarta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Ranked #8 of 193 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location, clean room, comfy bed, long wait!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Perfect hotel for non smokers! The room was (deluxe, level 8) not so big but clean, modern decor, standard bathroom and a very comfortable bed! Breakfast was nice, the pastries station was amazing, delicious local food too. We love the idea of serving the traditional Indonesian herbal (jamu) during breakfast and the way they serve it.unfortunately we didn't have the gut to try but we did captured some pictures of the lady with her tools in that section.Sadly, we have to request and (long)wait to get basic things done on our table like spoons or milk for our coffee.The Internet was really fast.good location.
Upon checked in (3dec,2pm)the front office staff escorted us to our floor, she's very kind and polite but during lining up for check out (5dec, arnd 4.45am), the staff(different person) was so slow and after been waiting for almost 15 minutes for our turn, somebody who came down later after us cut the line and the staff didn't say anything but attended that guest first.its disappointing because we were there before and we were rushing for our early flight to Bali that morning.we've been in Jogjakarta several times and that was our first stay in grand aston.overall its a nice strategic hotel to stay but if you looking for a good quality of hospitality in term of good service and manners you might have to re-think again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank koko_luzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    416
    79
    19
    16
See reviews for
244
224
56
285
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Swimming pool so cute (small..., its like i'm in a whirl pool)

Economic bathroom...

Breakfast..., just OK

But me & my older son like the cafe..., he sing with the band...
& like the concept of it..., open air...
(Finally i can smoke...)

DON'T TRY TO SMOKE IN THE ROOM..., OR YOU BE BUSTED..., & pay $200...!!!!!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta Raya
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Staying at this hotel for couple of days for work. The room and the bathroom was nice. It has ironing machine along with its table (deluxe type). The breakfast was good. The downside since I am a smoker is that they do not have rooms that allowed for smoking. They will imposed an IDR.2 mio if they caught you smoking in the hitel room. They only allowed to smoke in their open public area.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rizky8488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed for 1 night at Grand Aston but I feel ver happy about this hotel. The room is clean and I love their breakfast especially their Bubur Ayam and Mini Martabak. Will consider this hotel if I go to Jogjakarta.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mooilaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, USA
Level Contributor
195 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

This is my third stay at the Grand Aston. The first two were excellent but this time I was put in a room on floor 8. That floor is directly under the Vanilla night club. The loud music started about 8 pm and went on until late --- I don't remember the exact time as I took an Ambien sleeping pill to put me out of my misery. The hotel should not book those floor 8 rooms unless necessary. The noise was incredibly loud. Aside from that the hotel has a great location, we'll appointed rooms, friendly staff and a reasonable buffet breakfast.

Room Tip: Not floor 8 which is the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mountainmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Grand Aston located about 30 minutes from the Airport on normal traffic, and 15 minutes from Malioboro, making it a good homebase for a city tour. It also sits in the middle of a commercial district which makes it easy to find your daily needs, sampling some streetfood, and finding taxi is a breeze.

Breakfast at Safron is excellent which all western, eastern, and Indonesian food stations tasted exceptionally well, gudeg (when served) is good, krecek is super spicy, and the addition of Jamu station is a good plus. Here you won't run out of options to choose from.

There's a decent pool on the 2nd floor deck, quite narrow but it's good enough to catch some laps. Gym sits right beside the pool but didn't gave it a try.

Room and amenities were good, no problem with the service, and the only complain I had was about the floppy internet connection; which had already reported to the front desk, and an IT guy was promptly sent to investigate but the trouble still exists. Our colleagues on different floor were experiencing a similar issue and most of the time have to rely to our own mobile connection for internet.

Outside of that glitch, on overall it was a pleasant experience and I'm looking forward to my next stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Epicurean-INA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights and I love this hotel. Good services,very clean and comfortable. Bathroom was pretty small but it's fine. Foods were marvelous! Location are near airport. I had a very comfortable stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayasmita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.9 mi away
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
1.4 mi away
Royal Ambarrukmo Yogyakarta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Eastparc Hotel
Eastparc Hotel
#1 of 20 in Depok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
3.0 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#4 of 193 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Aston Yogyakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Aston Yogyakarta

Property: Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Address: Jl. Urip sumoharjo no. 37, Yogyakarta 55222, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
#6 Family Hotel in Yogyakarta
#6 Luxury Hotel in Yogyakarta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
#7 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Aston Yogyakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the center of the town and one close steps to the main street of Yogyakarta which is well known for the central of the crowd in Yogyakarta, the prestigious Urip Sumoharjo District, assures you an easy access to airport, business district area, major tourists and cultural attractions, shopping and dining during your visit to this city with historical Royal Heritage. Grand Aston Yogyakarta offers you the great pleasure and service while staying in Yogyakarta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Grand Aston Yogyakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Aston Yogyakarta Hotel Yogyakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing