We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do NOT stay on the 8th floor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Aston Yogyakarta
Ranked #11 of 211 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This is my third stay at the Grand Aston. The first two were excellent but this time I was put in a room on floor 8. That floor is directly under the Vanilla night club. The loud music started about 8 pm and went on until late --- I don't remember the exact time as I took an Ambien sleeping pill to put me out of my misery. The hotel should not book those floor 8 rooms unless necessary. The noise was incredibly loud. Aside from that the hotel has a great location, we'll appointed rooms, friendly staff and a reasonable buffet breakfast.

Room Tip: Not floor 8 which is the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mountainmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

674 - 680 of 1,109 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

Grand Aston located about 30 minutes from the Airport on normal traffic, and 15 minutes from Malioboro, making it a good homebase for a city tour. It also sits in the middle of a commercial district which makes it easy to find your daily needs, sampling some streetfood, and finding taxi is a breeze.

Breakfast at Safron is excellent which all western, eastern, and Indonesian food stations tasted exceptionally well, gudeg (when served) is good, krecek is super spicy, and the addition of Jamu station is a good plus. Here you won't run out of options to choose from.

There's a decent pool on the 2nd floor deck, quite narrow but it's good enough to catch some laps. Gym sits right beside the pool but didn't gave it a try.

Room and amenities were good, no problem with the service, and the only complain I had was about the floppy internet connection; which had already reported to the front desk, and an IT guy was promptly sent to investigate but the trouble still exists. Our colleagues on different floor were experiencing a similar issue and most of the time have to rely to our own mobile connection for internet.

Outside of that glitch, on overall it was a pleasant experience and I'm looking forward to my next stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Epicurean I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights and I love this hotel. Good services,very clean and comfortable. Bathroom was pretty small but it's fine. Foods were marvelous! Location are near airport. I had a very comfortable stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayasmita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The deluxe room is spacious despite adding an additional bed. House keeping is clean. Pleasant & friendly staff who try their best to understand & meet your needs. Breakfast selection is good. Nice ambiance at the Vanilla sky lounge. Good location and is near Plaza Ambarrukmo.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SereneLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Pros: beautiful, modern rooms; nice pool and rooftop bar, friendly bell and restaurant staff, good breakfast,
Cons: noisy: on major road and next to construction site, very poor front desk service
Overall: I would not recommend to stay right now. After construction is over and front desk improves, it would be worth a stay for the beautiful rooms and friendly service

First off, there is a large construction site next to the hotel (which was not disclosed on their web site), which adds to the noise from the road in front of the hotel. If you have a light sleep or want to relax by the pool, I'd not recommend this hotel.

Room: The rooms are very modern, with a NY boutique feel to it, quite large and well equipped. My room had neither a working safe nor hairdryer (more on that later under service). Nice TV, kettle. Bathroom is clean, plush towels.

Location: Hotel is on street from airport to downtown, so not a good location for tourists who want to walk into town. There are some stores and street food nearby.

Service: The bell desk and restaurant staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful, even by already high SE Asian standards. They are responsive to any requests. Housekeeping was thorough.
The Frontdesk was unbelievably bad - in twenty years of traveling 100+ nights a year, they rank in the bottom 10%. Why? On check-in, I requested a quiet room and was assigned a room next to the elevator facing the pool - with screaming kids in the hallway and around the pool, people able to look into the room from pool. Back to front desk, requested a change - and was assigned a room overlooking the construction site next door... next, it turned out that the safe in the room was not operating. I requested to fix it by phone, waited for 30min, nothing... back to front desk, requested to either fix the safe or change rooms again, as I did not want to leave valuables unsecured. Eventually staff comes to the room, not able to fix. Waiting for engineer, he decides to replace the safe - and leaves me with a new, working safe, which isn't screwed down, so you can walk out with the safe under the arm and all valuables conveniently inside.. Looks good, but doesn't necessarily offer peace of mind. At this point, I gave up and decided to enjoy the vacation. Taking about 3 hours from arrival to having an operational room is unacceptable in any class of hotel, especially when the hotel is not fully booked!
On check out, as in most hotels in SE Asia, front desk asked me to wait, so they can check the room (for mini bar consumption, not taken towels, etc). Usually, this takes 2-3 min. After 20min of waiting in the lobby, I check back with front desk - all is ok, they forgot to let me know, complete waste of time...
This appeared to not a lack of effort or good intentions - the various staff members were friendly - but a complete lack of training and management oversight!
Also potentially contributing to the issue was the fact that I booked through hotels.com (which they noted several times), which apparently results in the worst rooms being assigned.

Facilities: The pool and gym are small, but very nice. There also is a dry sauna. The Spa looks nice, but is overpriced. There is an independent spa nearby, DeWave (separate review), which offers nice rooms with private shower & jacuzzi at much lower price.
The travel agent in the hotel was friendly and helpful, but very expensive compared to local offers.

Restaurants: Breakfast at the main restaurant was great: very good selection of Eastern and Western items, good quality. Staff was friendly and responsive.
The rooftop bar and lounge is beautiful. It was very empty during my stay (I didn't eat there), but I'd recommend to check it out for a romantic evening, even if not staying at the hotel.

Value: At my rate of USD57, I would consider the room good value, if it wasn't for the construction and service issues - I don't consider those acceptable at any price point!

Room Tip: rooms x00 - x18 on all levels face the construction site; rooms 201-211 are facing the pool - avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FollowYourDreamSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We went to yogakarta to visit the temples the hotel is centrally located best if you plan to stay there one night to go visit the temples and borbodur
The hotel arranged for a driver for us to take us to temples cost around 100$ if you arrange prior with tours is probably a better idea

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Genuis_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Very nice hotel, great room, nice gym and the spa was great (got massage and facial, both were great). Room service food was absolutely terrible (although I'll admit that their breakfast was good). When we got into our room the washroom smelled. They looked at it, but did nothing about it and had no excuses. They wouldn't change our rooms. The water in the shower smelled of sulphur. They didn't do anything about this either. Ordering a drink at the pool bar, they had to go somewhere else to get it and took about 20 minutes. Then disappeared when we wanted to clear the bill. Checking in took 20 minutes with no line, just took a really long time for no apparent reason.
I'm not usually over critical of hotels, but they need to step it up if they want a 5 star rating

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MattSzilv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Yogyakarta
0.9 mi away
The Phoenix Hotel Yogyakarta - MGallery Collection
1.3 mi away
Melia Purosani
Melia Purosani
#14 of 211 in Yogyakarta
1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
Hotel Tentrem Yogyakarta
#5 of 211 in Yogyakarta
1,050 reviews
2.7 mi away
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
#12 of 211 in Yogyakarta
1,052 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Yogyakarta
Novotel Yogyakarta
#21 of 211 in Yogyakarta
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Aston Yogyakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Aston Yogyakarta

Address: Jl. Urip sumoharjo no. 37, Yogyakarta 55222, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Yogyakarta
#7 Romantic Hotel in Yogyakarta
#7 Luxury Hotel in Yogyakarta
#8 Spa Hotel in Yogyakarta
Price Range: $49 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Aston Yogyakarta 5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the center of the town and one close steps to the main street of Yogyakarta which is well known for the central of the crowd in Yogyakarta, the prestigious Urip Sumoharjo District, assures you an easy access to airport, business district area, major tourists and cultural attractions, shopping and dining during your visit to this city with historical Royal Heritage. Grand Aston Yogyakarta offers you the great pleasure and service while staying in Yogyakarta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Aston Yogyakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Aston Yogyakarta Hotel Yogyakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing