We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent start of our vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
De Pendopo Homestay
Ranked #41 of 487 Yogyakarta B&B and Inns
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent start of our vacation”
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

After an 18 hour flight and a 4 hour stay in Jakarta. We left to Yogjakarta. When we arrived at the home stay we were surprised by the accommodation. The green grade was very lovely, our host was quite shy but very helpful. The bedroom was decorated very smart, a large mirror is placed to make the room seem bigger. And when you see the bathroom, you are really going to be impressed! The area in Yogyakarta is very quiet compared to the malioboro. A lot of restaurants and tour agents around the corner. The food is very cheap! In short; a perfect start to our vacation.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shais M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    49
    20
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
90
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Where else can you find a guest house with bath up? :D. I actually didn't expect something like this when i booked De Pendopo, but this guest house was really impressive. You can really feel the javanese atmosphere in the room as lots of batik presence. High quality fruit soap and clean room. The only thing missing was a sink. High ceiling, lots of power sockets [very useful since i brought more than one gadgets], hanger, place to store your bags. The was PC that can be used, free printing for maximum 3 papers and free flow of coffee and tea. Will definitely stay here again. Oh, and i came here after the Kelud's eruption but the room was still very clean.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Centravanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here. The family is warm and friendly. I really felt welcome and relaxed here. Would most definately stay again. If you stay here, ask the bicycle guys outside to take you to "Classic Wayang", the puppet makers behind the palace on Jl.Magangan Kulon. A great place to check out and not far from De Pendopo.

Room Tip: If possible ask for the room at the far end, away from the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingAfrican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ira f, Owner at De Pendopo Homestay, responded to this review, December 6, 2015
Thank you so much for staying with our family, it was a pleasure to host you at dependopo homestay. I am glad that you enjoy the cultural experiences during your holiday in Yogyakarta. I wish to host your friends and colleagues for their visit to Yogyakarta. Terima kasih banyak!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Despite my arrival at 12pm, Budi went out to the streets and waited for me to arrive.
We were greeted by a room with a very nice environment!
Woke up to a breakfast served by Budi's wife, it was so tasty!

Rooms were clean, toilet was also very clean and nice! I'd stay here again the next time I visit jogja!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank victorypig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ira f, Owner at De Pendopo Homestay, responded to this review, December 6, 2015
Thank you so much for taking your time and write such a valuable reviews of De pendopo homestay. We are happy that you enjoy your holiday in Yogyakarta. I am more than happy to host you again, or your friends for their holiday trip to Yogyakarta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Definitely a must stay while exploring yogya, we had a lovely relaxing time here as the rooms are cozy clean and quiet, and there is a little library verandah out in the court yard full of trees and a hammock hook.

We loved the stay here as the family is very friendly and offer you whatever you may need. The breakfast is nice and you can help yourself to tea and water at any time, which is a great add on.

the Beds are comfortable and have a very nice duvet for a great sleep as the air con works great to cool down your room after a hot day walking around the temples.

we would love to stay again, and will if we have the chance!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palma111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ira f, Owner at De Pendopo Homestay, responded to this review, December 6, 2015
Dear Palma, thank you so much for taking your time to write such a generous reviews about dependopo homestay. we are happy that you enjoy your staying at our little homestay. I am looking forwards to host your friends and relatives for their next holiday trip to Indonesia. Terima kasih banyak- thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

It has been a real privilege and pleasure staying over at De Pendopo for the last 4 nights.
Exqusite boutique hotel style surroundings, loving, fun-loving and warm family. Highly recommended if you get a chance, there are only 4 rooms here. If you are looking to share a lovely spacious home, with the concept of a bubble, side streets just off from Jalan Prawirotaman, look no further. Plan ahead as there are 4 rooms, with many who prefer to stay on after being thoroughly impressed. The wonderful owners Budi and Ira have paid attention to little details and it comes shining through in the design of the home. A small tight knit family, from the helper, to the lovely granny and of course, two adorable and intelligent kids who are an absolute joy to play with. Breakfast is also lovely.

Word of Caution: If you are very fussy about little things like little delightful sounds from children playing in the middle of the house, with the lovely buddha, then perhaps this is not for you.
Otherwise, Javanese family hospitality to enjoy. Loved every minute of it. As well as hope you do too. Selamat Jalan jajaja :)

Room Tip: All 4 Rooms are similar so no worries! :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nivi_Nair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semarang, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I was stayed from 25 Dec-28 Dec, me and my family LOVE to stay in this place especially my son Aryo (3.5y) he love to play with Amor and Selena. It was nice to see how the owner really treats their customer as a part or their family and really welcome us in warmth atmosphere which I never found in any other hotels :).
The room was simple and clean, minimize but surrounded by mirrors so the space seems much bigger plus it has a beautiful bathroom so I have no complaint about it and their house keeper is very nice, she love to help us. It's feel like home :)
Since this hotel located at Prawirotaman you will never have a problem to find a good quality restaurants that served western and asian food or cafe where you can hang out. Plus side it's not far away from Keraton or Malioboro but far enough to keep away from the crowded mass especially during long holiday, love it!
Thanks to Mr Budi and Mrs Ira for your kindest and warm hospitality, you've made my family holiday very special and we sure love to come back again.

Cheers,
Itha, Dhito and Aryo

Room Tip: If you are a family with one children the room right in the front of Pendopo will be good since your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itha_Pramudhito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ira f, Owner at De Pendopo Homestay, responded to this review, December 6, 2015
Google Translation
Terima kasih banyak mbak Itha, mas Dhito dan dik aryo, kami sangat bergembira bahwa mas dan mbak memilih tinggal di homestay kami. Sejak kunjungan mbak ke dependopo homestay, kami makin banyak mendapatkan kunjungan dari keluarga kecil yang juga membawa anak anak sehingga Amor dan Selena juga mendapatkan teman baru untuk bermain. Matur nuwun sanget, kami tunggu kunjungan mbak yang berikutnya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.1 mi away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#56 of 204 in Yogyakarta
215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
#10 of 204 in Yogyakarta
928 reviews
1.6 mi away
favehotel Kusumanegara
favehotel Kusumanegara
#57 of 204 in Yogyakarta
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel 1001 Malam
Hotel 1001 Malam
#30 of 204 in Yogyakarta
660 reviews
1.7 mi away
EDU Hostel Jogja
EDU Hostel Jogja
#13 of 245 in Yogyakarta
261 reviews
2.0 mi away
Wakeup Homestay
Wakeup Homestay
#11 of 245 in Yogyakarta
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Pendopo Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Pendopo Homestay

Property: De Pendopo Homestay
Address: Jln. Prawiritaman no. 573, Yogyakarta 55224, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 487 B&Bs / Inns in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — De Pendopo Homestay 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Pendopo, a romantic boutique homestay in Yogyakarta, is an intimate hideout inside the pulsing cultural Yogyakarta. Facilities: 24 hours wi-fi, vast garden with tables and chairs and kids swing, private bathroom with bath tub and hot water, air conditioned room, 32 inch Panasonic Vierra LCD TV, veranda, shared chiller and pantry, a public desktop computer and printer, a public Samsung home theater with 42 inch LCD TV, a pendopo (Javanese hall). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your De Pendopo Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing