We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
De Pendopo Homestay
Ranked #48 of 516 Yogyakarta B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 22, 2013

For the price point, you get a comfortable and quiet stay (except for the 5am pray call, but you can't really get away from that in Jogja). The family who run the place are really nice, and the included Indonesian breakfast was quite good. You can walk to the Kraton (about 20 mins), and it's easy enough to grab a bus elsewhere (there's a stop about 10 mins away). The only downsides of this place is that the rooms are quite hot despite the aircons, and the owner doesn't know too much about the lesser known activities in the are (the Pindul Caves, or Merapi), but he can point you in the right direction, so it's not a big deal.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrBunnsBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 47 of 165 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

This delightful home stay is well situated in the Prawirotaman/backpacker area; close to the street but tucked away in a back alley. Rooms are arranged around a main courtyard where you can have breakfast or relax during the day with water, tea and coffee always available.

Even though the home is located just off of the main backpacker street, it is surprisingly secluded and quiet, while still offering access to many tour group offices and delicious restaurants (ask for directions to Bu Agen).

Our only complaint was the ants. They had infested the bathroom and sometimes even got into our bed. However, this seemed to be a problem in general in Indonesia so I'm not sure there's much that can be done.

All told, we had a wonderful stay here and would definitely return if we ever made our way back to Yogyakarta.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I found this place when my boyfriend and I looking for place to stay in Prawirotaman, Yogyakarta. The location is little bit inside, not in the main road but that's good because make the place more quite. You just need to walk around 5minutes for go to the main road and you can find nice restaurant. The owner and their children (boy and girl) also the staff there were so friendly and helpful, feel like you stay in your family house. The room was so nice, also the bathroom with the clear roof. The price is very good because you pay hoStel price and get hotel room (we checked many other place before we found De Pendopo) and the price is included breakfast. The atmosphere make us feel like we stay in Bali instead of Yogyakarta ^_^. Really love the place and enjoy our time in Yogyakarta. I recommend this place to all my friend who looking for place in Yogyakarta.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nana_Yk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dependopo, Owner at De Pendopo Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you so much for your positive review. We are grateful to have you staying with our family. Wish you for a safe travel back to your country. Best, De pendopo homestay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Almost every year I travel to Asia for holiday. This year I preferred to go to Indonesia. Yogyakarta is my first city to visit as it is a hub to Bromo and Bali. I read the positive reviews in this website and made my choice to stay at this little homestay. The place is beautiful just like in the pictures. I was falling in love in the first sight. The bathroom is well designed and clean. It is beyond my expectation. I recommend this place for my friends who will travel to Yogyakarta

Room Tip: I came to the place for luck without booking in advance and i got the room. lucky me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank laurasmithxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dependopo, Owner at De Pendopo Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Laura, we are grateful for your staying at De pendopo homestay. thank you for taking time to write about us. we really appreciate it. I hope to see you again next year, Laura. Cheers, Ira, Budi, Amor and Selena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We just married in Bali and we decided to have honeymoon in Jogjakarta. We arrived at De pendopo homestay a bit late at night and the owner was very nice. He welcomed us warmly and offered us cup of tea. The room was clean, the design was beautiful and it was just located perfectly at the prawirotaman street. The owner told us the best spa near the place and arranged trip to bromo for a favor. He also made a phone reservation to Romantic open air ramayana ballet in prambanan. We love the place and we have great time in Jogjakarta!

Room Tip: all rooms have high ceiling and clean. i love the bathroom design
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kim y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dependopo, Owner at De Pendopo Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Kim, we are happy that you have memorable honeymoon time in Yogyakarta. Thank you so much for writing a positive review for us. We wish you all the best for your new journey of life. Our door is always open to welcome you, once again. Best, Ira and Budi, little selena and amor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

A friend of mine told me about this beautiful place. i am impressed with dependopo homestay because the location strategically located near nice restaurants in tourist area but the price is very good compared with other accommodations in the neighborhood ( we did a little survey before we booked the place). The location is behind a big hotel, but it is the advantage because it is more quiet. We spent 5 fabulous days in Jogja and the owner of dependopo homestay helped us to book for ramayana ballet ticket, flight ticket and trip to prambanan and borobudur ( free of charge). It is a great homestay. As a matter of fact, the trip in Jogja will never be the same if we choose another accommodation. Definitely we will come back again to stay to dependopo next year

Room Tip: we booked the room 1 month before and so we could make request to have room at the corner of the gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charlesstc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dependopo, Owner at De Pendopo Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Charles, thank you for your sincere review. We really happy that you have such a pleasant stay at de Pendopo homestay. yes, our price is the lowest among other accommodation in the area with the same ( on even more facilities) because most of the guests are our friends, family and friends of family with regular staying. I wish to see you again for your next trip to Jogjakarta. Best, Ira, Budi and little amor and selena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I was travelling for 3 weeks in Indonesia and from all the accommodations that we were staying in bali, jakarta and bandung, I must admit that de pendopo homestay is the best. The price is affordable but the services are all included. The breakfast time is based on our request and my favourite is the indonesian dish. My girl friend like gudeg, a javanese special cuisine. The owner is very nice and friendly and he always very helpful! De pendopo is highy recommended

Room Tip: book in advance as they only have 4 unit and one family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chamberlandxz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dependopo, Owner at De Pendopo Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Chamberland,

We are happy that you take your time to write such a positive review for De Pendopo Homestay. My appreciation for your generous review. I am happy that you enjoy our traditional dish- Gudeg as much as our culture. Thank you so much , and looking forwards to hear your next visit to Indonesia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.2 mi away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#64 of 211 in Yogyakarta
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Greenhost Boutique Hotel
Greenhost Boutique Hotel
#21 of 211 in Yogyakarta
452 reviews
1.9 mi away
favehotel Kusumanegara
favehotel Kusumanegara
#59 of 211 in Yogyakarta
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
Gallery Prawirotaman Hotel
#11 of 211 in Yogyakarta
1,015 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel 1001 Malam
Hotel 1001 Malam
#32 of 211 in Yogyakarta
673 reviews
1.7 mi away
EDU Hostel Jogja
EDU Hostel Jogja
#13 of 292 in Yogyakarta
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Pendopo Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Pendopo Homestay

Address: Jln. Prawiritaman no. 573, Yogyakarta 55224, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 516 B&Bs / Inns in Yogyakarta
Price Range: $20 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — De Pendopo Homestay 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Pendopo, a romantic boutique homestay in Yogyakarta, is an intimate hideout inside the pulsing cultural Yogyakarta. Facilities: 24 hours wi-fi, vast garden with tables and chairs and kids swing, private bathroom with bath tub and hot water, air conditioned room, 32 inch Panasonic Vierra LCD TV, veranda, shared chiller and pantry, a public desktop computer and printer, a public Samsung home theater with 42 inch LCD TV, a pendopo (Javanese hall). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your De Pendopo Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing