We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a hidden gem”

Sekar Kedhaton Restaurant
Ranked #53 of 1,154 Restaurants in Yogyakarta
Cuisines: Indonesian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
the Coast
Level Contributor
126 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Such a hidden gem”
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

We stopped by here to have lunch before we headed to Borobudur temple. At first I thought it is going to be one of those tourist traps but thank goodness I was incorrect.
From the facade it looks like a regular silver shop, until you walk through the left side and entering the serene garden. The moment we stepped into the gate, we were in heaven. Such unexpected surprise to see the juxtaposition of dining area and garden. Decor is beautiful and looks absolutely like a Keraton's open space dining area. Food is pretty good portion even though it is a bit pricey for Yogya's standard of living. Their rawon is too sweet (by original standard) but their ginger tea is very natural and good. Bbq ribs and fried duck are recommended. Service is great, we have no problem. We would like to come back again next time.

Helpful?
2 Thank DUDETTE33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    101
    26
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Classy ambience & delicious food”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Our driver brought us to this restaurant for lunch. The restaurant was classy and boasting traditional Javanese architectural decor. Food was delicious & beautifully presented. Staff are friendly and polite & even pre-empt us that the portions are large for ladies. They even followed up to check whether we had a problem with the food because we could not finish up the large portion! This is an impressive restaurant!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mayliyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“classy serving”
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

the food served was so delicious. we tried the kota gede bebek, iga with gravy and seafood kangkung. excellent. friendly crew and great ambience. will defenitely come again but not recommended for those on budget.

Helpful?
1 Thank zulbido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourme
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Traditional Java food in beautiful building”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

It's like going back in time to old Java. The beautiful building and surrounds are like being in a movie. The service was attentive and friendly and the food, fantastic. I took the suggestion of the waitress and ordered a specialty. Apparently the recipes have a long history. It was a delicious beef lemongrass dish with tofu, chilli and a side of rice. The flavours were subtle and delicious and the meat just fell from the bone. The traditional decor was tasteful and well thought out. A really memorable experience.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Travis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
103 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great place for a great value”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Our rented car driver brought us to this place. My first impression was: wow this place is so big and beautiful with all javanese ornaments. The service was very good and the food was delicious. The price looks like a little bit expensive, but once you see the portion it's totally worth it. The coffee was good especially since i cannot fine capuccino since my first day at yogyakarta. This place truly fulfill my needs.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank v_lee_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sekar Kedhaton Restaurant also viewed

 
Sleman, Yogyakarta
 

Been to Sekar Kedhaton Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing