We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad bad service ever!”

Sekar Kedhaton Restaurant
Ranked #63 of 1,198 Restaurants in Yogyakarta
Cuisines: Indonesian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Bad bad service ever!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner in saturday night, the place was almost empty, only 2 tables incl.us. We just finished order the main course and the waitress just ask me again if we want to order dessert straight away becoz their kitchen will closed at 8. Of course we didnt order dessert. I can not even imagine how they already want to make the customer uncomfortable.
The food came quite good, big portion, then soon as we finish and have some full stomach, the waitress took our plate and not long from that moment, they brought us the bill without we ask!
I was shocked by this. The bill also very weird, the drink prices incl taxes but the food not, and we have to pay 17.5% extra for tax and service charge...
I would not recommend this place to anyone, and it's true the price of the beer bintang large is the most expensive than in any other restaurant in yogyakarta, almost 50k.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanilla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    103
    28
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“Over-priced tourist trap! You can do better!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This place was our least desirable experience in Jogja. The food was more expensive than anywhere we went - they had absolutely no vegetarian options and the atmosphere was like a TGI Friday's. The staff seemed harried and uncomfortable and the whole place just had a crappy vibe. When we did ask them to just bring out some steamed rice and veggies - they brought us steamed rice and veggies that had bits of meat in it! AND they charged a BOATLOAD for everything. Stay away!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A great first meal in Jogja”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

This was a great treat after our visit to Prambanan Temple. We ordered ala carte of rendang iga, kangkong, mee jawa, ayam bakar and drinks. You definitely pay less for more and better in Indonesia. The staff were all very attentive. As each dish comes with rice, she asked if we would like it to be served in one rice container so that we could share the main dishes.

The food was perfectly cooked, especially the beef and chicken which was soft and tender. You don't even need the knife to tear it apart. I love chillies so the fiery, spicy chilli sambal suits my taste buds. Might be too 'flaming' for most. The avocado orange drink was a surprisingly thirst quenching concoction.

I love the ambience and its grandeur. We were lucky we came later than lunchtime so there was only 1 table occupied by tourists. Personally, we love everything about it. Will come back here again!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank sumarni05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Touristy, nice atmosphere, decent food”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This restaurant is located in what is claimed to be the previous location of the sultan's palace. It has a lovely interior, furnished in a Chinese style. The food is Javanese with Chinese influences, and it is definitely a tourist restaurant, though we were the only Western tourists there. While you can certainly eat better for less in Jogja, the food is well-prepared and service is good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firefly303
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“tour group trap”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

ate in this place last night. arrived at 7.30pm just as a Chinese tour group in bus were leaving. The premises have atmosphere but we were the only diners, a lonely experience, no atmosphere. Food was so-so, one good chicken dish w green chili one so-so roast duck. Big Bintang is expensive at 59,000Rp. Worst of all by 8.45 the staff wanted to leave, presented us with out bill, even though we were not ready and then told us the place was closing (at 8.50pm!!). So avoid.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank firefly303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sekar Kedhaton Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sekar Kedhaton Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing