We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than KFC” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ayam Goreng Suharti

Ayam Goreng Suharti
Ranked #29 of 1,079 Restaurants in Yogyakarta
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Better than KFC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Seriuosly, Ayam goreng mean fried chicken, and they make this fried chicken with traditional javanese herb. Try it with a warm white rice, wow, better than KFC.
Beside chicken they also have another menu, I suggest to try this fried chicken with sayur asem ( a clear soup with vegetables) and Gado-gado (salad with peanut sauce). and end with dawet (red sugar ice).....

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ekoyudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    93
    35
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“nice fried chicken”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

I've eaten this ayam goreng suharti for so many times, but this is my 1st at Jogjakarta.
Overall, the taste of the chicken is always yummy, value of money.
but unfortunately they have less waiter, and the place also not really clean, maybe because it's very crowded,

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sansansulis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“one of the best fried chickens i've had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Went here to try the fried chicken--I was curious since I've read about this place as having really good fried chicken and then my friend told me she had it once in Jakarta and remembers it being good also.

We have excellent fried chickens back home in the Philippines (Jollibee and Max's) so I was curious whether this would be up to par. It didn't disappoint. The chicken was so tasty. I can't really describe it but it's deep fried spring chicken sprinkled with very tasty (buttery?) fried stuff on top. the meat was tender. I'm very partial to dark meat as opposed to white meat but I didn't mind this one, it was tender enough. We ordered a whole spring chicken to share.

Tried to ask the staff of other good options to eat but none of them could speak English so we had a hard time conversing.

Towards the end of our trip and we were in Bali, I was having bad cravings for the chicken. Definitely a must-try for fried chicken lovers out there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A different style of fying a chicken”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch here with the family. Many choices of local food but the fried chicken is the star dish here. First time here. The chicken is similar with penyet style but fried differently. For me it similar to the style of buttered prawn back home. Overall nice food and value for money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aimantakkisah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medan
Level Contributor
132 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Kremesnya Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

- Fried chicken is very delicious
- Side dish is also delicious too
- Variety of drink is also available
- Beside friend chicken, they also provide barbeque chicken
- The atmosphere at restaurant is very good
- Parking area is very big too

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Irwanwijaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ayam Goreng Suharti also viewed

 

Been to Ayam Goreng Suharti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing