We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveler rating
8
16
15
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
16
15
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 41 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2011

The four of us piled into a deluxe room (queen + single) which costs IDR 375,000 per night (additional IDR 35,000 for extra person) and comes with TV, air-con, hot and cold shower.

Thankfully the room was fairly spacious so we had sufficient space to maneuver around. We learnt from one of the becak drivers that the hotel is pretty new, which probably explains its cleanliness and relatively new furnishings. Room service is provided every day, including change of fresh towels and complimentary mineral water refill - not bad service for a 'budget' hotel. The breakfast provided is delicious (tastes may vary) although the portion is a little small.

Location is great at 5-15 mins away from the train station depending on one's walking speed. The side street is well-lit with the market running late into the night - we had no difficulty getting late snacks on more than one occasion. One slight drawback of it being located next to the market is that light sleepers may get woken by the hustle and bustle as early as 530am. Getting a becak ride to the main Malioboro area was easy on the main street as well.

Overall a great place to stay for its clean rooms, friendly staff, great breakfast and location. =)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank awnhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

We are on our way back home after spending 6 nights at Hotel Poncowinatan. It was a very enjoyable stay. Our first night was in a fan room which is priced 150,000. It was a bit too warm for us so we switched to a superior room (250,000). As we were staying for 6 nights we got a very discount on it. The hotel is new and very very clean. The staff is very nice and always offering to help. It is a 5 min walk to Malioboro street, and we rented a scooter to go to further places in the city (scooter was 35,000 per day). The breakfast is Indonesian, which we weren't sure we would like at first, but turned out to be excellent, in fact, way better than the dry white toast that they serve in most of the other hotels. Every morning they change slightly the breakfast menu but all were delicious, with tea or coffee. There is a market that is very active on the street every morning, very local, which is nice if you want to buy some fruits at low cost. In the rooms you do not hear the cars and it is quiet. Connection of wifi is good. There is no pool though, but we realized we didn't need it as the AC was available and we had hot and cold showers. They offered to clean the room every day and gave us more water and tea (as we had a boiler in the room to make tea or coffee). There are a lot of restaurants in the area, but as Yogya is a big city, I would recommend renting a scooter or car to enjoy most of this city. All and all we loved our stay at Hotel Poncowinatan and would recommend it to anyone looking for a good value - clean rooms, nice staff, AC, Wifi, good breakfast, and location!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank genlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Lantai dua karena tidak ada lift
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tiket.com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews