We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oasis Hotel Jogja
Nearby Hotels
Melia Purosani(Yogyakarta)
$55
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
$34
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
$48
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jambuluwuk Malioboro(Yogyakarta)
$40
$31
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$40
$31
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveler rating
1
18
8
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1
18
8
3
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 31 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I really wanted to love this hotel. It's budget priced and the staff are very friendly and it's located in a great area of Jogja, near lots of quality restaurants with abundant vegetarian options. My GF, who lives in Indonesia, is used to spartan accommodations and was far more generous in her appreciation of this place than I was. However, I have to be honest - this place has some big issues.

The biggest, in my mind, was the lack of hot water for showers. The water was room temperature at any hour of the day. That made for some miserable showers. (Indeed, the first thing I did when I get home was take a nice, long, hot shower!)

Secondly, the bathroom had abundant insects in it. Lines of tiny ants parading by, mosquitoes, little flies, and, most upsettingly, some little wormy things that seemed to come out of the water and squirmed about after showers. The mildew and old, rundown decor of the bathroom were disturbing too. I tried to spend as little time as possible in there.

The rest of the room was tiny and spartan as well. It was clean and comfortable, but barely fit the two of us (and we're very small people). The television only carried Indonesian channels. Luckily, we had brought some movies to watch on our laptop or we would have been stuck with some very boring and incomprehensible viewing options. They really need to shell out for cable so that there are options for non-Indonesian tenants.

Finally, although the courtyard of the building is lovely (with koi fish, adorable nightly gecko visitors, lots of plants, and attractive decor), they leave all sorts of stuff sitting out under the stairs, like towels on drying racks, children's toys, cleaning supplies, etc., that really detracts from the appearance of the place and makes it look like the sub-standard hotel that it really is.

We ate the breakfast there a few times and it was okay (fried egg sandwich with sambal, mayonnaise, cucumber, tomato and onion), but not the greatest. Although I loved staying in this part of town and would definitely stay in this neighborhood again, I can't say that I'd ever stay in this hotel again. There have to be better options for a similar price HAVE to be!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ComtesseDeSpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Staying for roughly a week in this place. Friendly staff but that's it. The place looks and feels old, not properly cleaned, and need renovation urgently. Our bathroom had spiderweb all over the ceilings and our veranda chair was broken. Wi-fi barely worked at all. Should've book a nicer hotel with the same price range which are a lot in the Prawirotaman area.

Room Tip: go to Via Via or nicer places around Prawirotaman. There are aplenty.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PLRKPRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

... awaits those that unexpectedly stumble across this hidden treasure. I'm not sure where all the rosy reviews for the 'Oasis' came from, but either these people stayed at another hotel … or quite likely in other rooms (?). I had to shift to the Oasis from my other (quite nice, friendly) hotel for organizational reasons, and expected at least a similar minimum of adequacy for a small budget hotel. The Oasis is down a tiny dark alley off Jogyakarta's main tourist hotel strip … which could be moderately enticing were it like any of the other small lanes in town, but oddly, this one is a slit between two high concrete walls, with a flickering light half way along.

My cell, … ehhhrr 'room' (number 11, in case anyone wants to make sure they avoid it) is perhaps the most minimally spartan of any hotel room I have experienced anywhere in the world. Not only does in NOT have even a simple, tiny wobbly desk and chair (i thought these would be pretty standard) but the tantalizing scuffed grey walls would exhilarate anyone after visiting the city known for its mythical splendour as Indonesia's storied cradle of independence. You don't need to search long to NOT find the equally mythical 'terraces' that apparently grace each room, as your initial glance back across the cell only reveals a couple of barred windows next to the door you just entered through.

I did, with great humble sincerity ask the reception if they perhaps had another room. "No!" Perhaps a little table … anything really … ? "No!" I'm not quite sure if they understood my request, and that it was actually both reasonable and serious, but the answer was terse … not quite the friendly, or even the polite Javanese 'monggo' you would expect anywhere on the street.

The place seems adequately clean enough, although it's a bit hard to tell for sure as the sheets, pillows etc somehow merge seamlessly with the room's cheery overall dingy patina. Breakfast? Haven't made it that far yet … and not entirely sure I will.

Oasis … ? Only if you have a great sense of sardonic humour.

Room Tip: As in the review ... avoid 11. Not sure if any of the others are any better, but you certainly can't get much worse than this. Not that this is terribly significant, but the clock that adorns the wall (out of normal reach) was 2 hrs 23 mins off the actual time ... which is perhaps a sign of how much the staff really care about their place.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intertwilight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. The little hotel was near many delicious restaurant. The room met with the expectation of sleeping. The breakfast was just so so. There was no lift in the hotel. If you had heavy luggage with you, it might be not convenient, although the warming staff will help you.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This little hotel was very nice. The receptionists were really friendly and nice.
Our room wasn't big nor small. But it was clean and quite neat. We didn't find any problem with the small bathroom also. The breakfast was quite good, they served fried rice with egg.

The location is hidden from the road, you have to enter the alley first. The parking area is just enough for 2-3 cars. But the location of this hotel (Jl. Prawirotaman I), is quite far from the downtown such as Malioboro, Keraton, etc.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kurunarang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews