We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely little escape”
Review of Tembi Rumah Budaya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tembi Rumah Budaya
Ranked #37 of 470 Yogyakarta B&B and Inns
Cooroy, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lovely little escape”
Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

I joined a group of self-confessed foodies here for a weekend escape from Jakarta. Eight of us stayed in the two story room next to the pool. We all fitted comfortably and cozily, though the upstairs shower was a bit strange and we lost sleep because a group having a late night romp on the pool sounded like they were in the same room as us. We were sent on an early morning adventure to the local market, where we bought most of the ingredients for the morning cooking school....lots of photo ops and friendly local faces there. The cooking was fun and educational. I was the only bule in the group so had to get everything translated for me, but that was part of the fun. Staff were friendly and obliging, buffet meals were simple but ample. Would stay here again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank pandora1japan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    32
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
15
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

My 11-year-old daughter and I stayed at TRB after spending time in both Yogya (including trips to Borobodur and Prambanan) and Jakarta with family and friends. It's a lovely place to relax by the pool (provided you feel comfortable doing so while other people slog it out in the rice fields next door). The bungalows are beautifully designed - ours had an outdoor bathroom and a little armchair door for viewing Mt Merapi, from which we were lucky enough to see the volcano early one morning, and outside there are ponds full of fish and caged birds. The staff are friendly and obliging, the shuttle services are good, and the restaurant comes highly recommended (although we ate mainly from the buffet menu of three meals a day included in the room price, which was a little more like camp food). The city is expanding into this area, so it's not completely quiet, but there is much less racket than in Yogya itself, particularly at night. I noticed that Imogiri and the pottery village are close by, although we kept ourselves entertained in TRB's museum and by watching visiting cultural performances from Japan. We would definitely stay here again. The bungalows do have small air conditioners, but this is probably more a place for visitors who either don't mind adapting to village hours (getting up early and sleeping through the hot part of the day), or who use it as a base for day trips.

Room Tip: Ngadirojo and another bungalow at the back by the pool are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Giselle48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

The hotel is made up of residences from different regions in Java, therefore, all the rooms are very traditional and different. We had a lovely big room with an outside bathroom and facing onto the pool. All the staff were very helpful. Our stay included 3 meals a day which were simple but very tasty and not geared at Western tourists - a rare treat in many places today.

Room Tip: All the rooms I saw were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2011

Located 20 mins from the city centre, Tembi Rumah Budaya is first wellknown as a place of local artist performing from traditional dance and music to contemporer jazz performances. It has also a museum for the owner's collection of keris, and musical instruments. Consist of some real Javanese Limasan house set in a beautiful garden and some are facing the paddy fields. The houses are made from old teak wood moved from other places to Tembi rumah Budaya.

I stayed at Morangan house with outdoor shower and toilet (with hot water). Very comfortable. We had a large kings size springbed, a 120 cm single bed and some extra beds for our group of 8. Well airconditioned. OUr house also have a set of old chairs and tables made from teak. Each houses differ each other in size, choose your most comfortable one. The rate is basically for 2 people include 3 times meal, for additional person they charged Rp100.000,- (USD11) for the extra bed and 3 times meal. Meal choice is quite limited though. We had the breakfast only since our big fam is a commuter one. We found large ants near the extrabed but some insecticide solve the problem.

They have a pool facing the paddy fields. There are 2 rooms a bit away from the cluster of the bigger houses facing the paddy fields directly. Nice and very quite.

They also provide free transfer in and out.

They can arrange some activity such as batik painting courses, ploughing the paddy fields the traditional way and making pottery. Tembi itself is a village of handicrafts from Jogjakarta. Across the street is another hotel D'omah.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benji_smile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
2.1 mi away
Bedhot Homestay
Bedhot Homestay
#1 of 1 in Bantul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
3.2 mi away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 200 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
15.5 mi away
Joglo Plawang Boutique Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
d'Omah Hotel Yogyakarta
0.7 mi away
Omah Tembi
Omah Tembi
#1 of 2 in Sewon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ada Waktu Villa
Ada Waktu Villa
#5 of 12 in Bantul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tembi Rumah Budaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tembi Rumah Budaya

Property: Tembi Rumah Budaya
Address: Jln. Parangtritis, Yogyakarta 55188, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 470 B&Bs / Inns in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tembi Rumah Budaya 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tembi Rumah Budaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tembi Rumah Budaya Hotel Yogyakarta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing