We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Indian Restaurant in Jogja City”
Review of Sangam House - CLOSED

Sangam House
Price range: $4 - $8
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: First traditional Indian cuisine restaurant in Jogjakarta. A great variety of dishes from South and North Indian and also the chef's own creations.A selection of local and fresh products everyday, no MSG. Relax in a unique decoration with traditional Indian ambiance, comfortable sitting with cushions or more classic tables and a cozy bar corner. Sangam House is also a Boutique, with a large choice of Indian products and local fair trade items. Sangam House is a Yoga Studio too with classes everyday (Hatha, Yin Yoga)and meditation class. Sangam House propose also regular activities : Screenings, Exhibitions, workshop, discussions, etc...
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Indian Restaurant in Jogja City”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Well it was to much for me to have Indian food here in JOGJA city . I have been there couple of times & love the way they make curry & Sweet lasssi . Even some time i just buy curd from there & make butter milk out of it . Well in future i love to see if they add more indian curry in there menu .

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suryan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    3
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and good food”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Sangam house has good food but if you're a traveler most likely you will not be anywhere near it. Its a not near any tourist areas but if you do find yourself near it has a wonderful atmosphere and good food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makassar, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful atmosphere & great food”
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Hidden in a small street this Indian restaurant is probably the best Indian restaurant in town, if not the only...It is not easy to find it but it's worth trying (on Jln. Kaliurang turn left right after Pizza Hut, continue for some 300 meters and you'll find it on your left hand side).
It's fairly large place with a small shop and a room for Yoga...It offers good variety of Indian food with Lassi and Indian breads. The taste of food is very good.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Slo1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
“indian atmosphere in jogja”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

u can have a nice time in sangam house in Jogjakarta ... traditional place with good serves and suitable price ... also u can collect a lot of information about Jogjakarta from sangam house .... thy have some est activity and small bazaar ... u should try it

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank waleed73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semarang, Jawa Tengah, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“The Best Indian Cuisine in Yogyakarta”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

thank God i have google maps in my gadget, so i can easy to find this restaurant.
at first i enter this place seems that i was lost in india, the smell of indian fragrant and the interior really impress me.
the owner is very helpful for me to choose the best dish that night, he offered me madras mutton curry and Indian coffee plus gulab jamun as dessert. the taste was amazing, i often travel to litle india in Malaysia or Singapore but the taste of my dish was different, its so delicious. i really enjoy the tender meat ball of madras mutton curry, its perfect with naan. the best thing was gulab jamun, the bread who soaked with syrup its just perfect. the price was reasonable, i love how they create the atmosphere of restaurant, cozy indian song, the candle and roses spread in every corner.
i have great experience in here, the waiters really nice and helpful and the owner was very nice.
this is are the perfect place to escape from java in jogjakarta,

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lashuardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sangam House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing