We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel at 3-star price ”
Review of Hotel Jentra Dagen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Jentra Dagen
Ranked #110 of 202 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Budget hotel at 3-star price ”
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

1. Walls and doors to thin, no insulation. Woke up at 6am due to next door talking and outside corridor many noises.
2. Room spacious but look like budget hotel.
3. Location not bad
4. Breakfast terrible
5. Charge money when check in
6. Ask to arrange taxi, and was told will use meter. Taxi comes and don't use meter.
7. Overall budget hotel with backpacking experience.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank kryptonite123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    62
    51
    6
    4
See reviews for
42
30
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sukawati, Indonesia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I stayed two nights at Jentra with my wife and son. Hotel Jentra is near Malioboro Street, about 500 meters. Very easy check-in and check-out, their employees are very friendly. Their service is very good. Nice breakfast.

Everything are OK me thought, unless two things.
First, their bed need to be fixed. It's not stable causing noisy. Then, I have no Internet connection inside the room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Putude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

This is the one of good hotel in way around dagen street. I booked family room type for which is the room suprisingly higher than my expectation. My room was spacious for three of us,very clean and comfortable. Ac,refrigerator and safety box works very well. The bathup was clean and having cold/hot water. I also get three bottles mineral water and coffee maker itself everyday. Breakfast is buffet style with not much choice,bread, porridge, friend rice and some of other side dishes. The staff is friendly and responsive. I would recommend this hotel for families looking for comfort at affordable prices.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank syasaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

prime location, reasonable price, excellent wifi...
so very djokdja...
most recommended...
enjoy malioboro night after visiting many places of interest in and around this heritage sultanate of Yogyakarta...

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanangSinDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
403 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Pros: The location is excellent. Within 5 minutes, you are in Malioboro road. You also take an alley to Sosrowijyan road for some great restaurants. Some of the staff are quite friendly and even lent us an umbrella when it was raining. The breakfast buffet is okay. They seem to have fixed the problem with the leaking bathrooms that some reviewers here have complained about.

Cons: The bathroom water takes a very long time to get warm. While they change bedsheets and maybe clean the floors, there's uncleaned dust on the sides and on some of the tables. We found it odd that there's no sofa in the bathroom and the only soap is liquid soap (most other hotels normally have cakes of soap instead). Also, there are ants in the bathroom. When we asked to rent a driver, the hotel was unable to help (very odd as most hotels should have this service). The rooms are not soundproof so it is probably better you get rooms that are not facing the street.

Overall, it's a decent place if you're looking for a good location at budget prices.

Room Tip: Choose rooms that are not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pianocello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

First of all, the hotel itself physically is as good and as clean as you'll find in most upper scale Bali locations...but this place severely needs some door replacement on ALL of the rooms. If not for the issues I'll outline below, it could be a solid 3 1/2 stars as far as Indonesian hotels go...

For someone who is a rather light sleeper, moderately loud sporadic noises can keep me up all night. This hotel's doors are practically non-existent when it comes to noise buffering, and I don't know who the design genius was who decided to put bright lights directly outside of every room that stay on 24/7, but it is a horrible choice.

I'll start with the doors. The doors are so thin that you might as well just put a dark blanket in the doorway, and it doesn't help that the hallways echo everything. You'll hear every footstep, cough and fart from all the way across the hotel; no joke. It's substantially worse on the 1st floor because you will hear everything in the lobby and eating areas as well. It was so bad for us, we had to upgrade to the 3rd floor deluxe room just to escape the incessant noise. The 3rd floor still carries the hallway noise, talking, and door shutting, etc. but avoids the lobby/dining area excess noise. At least we could sleep there, but anytime someone decided to have a conversation in the hallway or enter/exit a room, or whatever, it sounded like it was always right next door.

And the bright lights outside the windows isn't an exaggeration either. All 4 of the rooms we were in had a light outside of the window, shining brightly enough that the room was still illuminated even with both sets of curtains shut. With the noises, the light doesn't help at all either.

All in all, it's not horrible, and I really don't have any other Jogja hotels to compare it to since we've only been to here once only to visit Borobudur, but compared to other Indo hotels, it's a little below average because of the annoyances.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor are much quieter, and give you a little more room plus a fridge. Don't s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yogyakarta hotels

The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Very friendly staff who speak reasonably well English. Location is just 5 minutes walking from the Malioboro. The street of the hotel itself is very nice as well with plenty of becak drivers waiting there, laundry service and car/scooter rental. Rooms are very clean and modern and breakfast is good as well.

No wifi in the rooms but only in the lobby. Not a big deal for myself but if this is important for others be aware of it. Breakfast is good but European breakfast is simple.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveltheworld8187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel 1001 Malam
Hotel 1001 Malam
#30 of 202 in Yogyakarta
652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Whiz Hotel Malioboro
Whiz Hotel Malioboro
#44 of 202 in Yogyakarta
478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peti Mas Hotel
Peti Mas Hotel
#107 of 202 in Yogyakarta
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#58 of 202 in Yogyakarta
210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dafam Fortuna Malioboro
Hotel Dafam Fortuna Malioboro
#53 of 202 in Yogyakarta
288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mutiara Malioboro
Hotel Mutiara Malioboro
#98 of 202 in Yogyakarta
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jentra Dagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jentra Dagen

Property: Hotel Jentra Dagen
Address: Jln. Dagen No 85, Yogyakarta 55271, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 202 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jentra Dagen 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Jentra Dagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing